Articles tagged "Emily St. John Mandel"

For Your Consideration: April 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the April 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due February 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

AFTER ANNA by Lisa Scottoline
Anna is a drop-dead gorgeous sixteen-year-old with a secret dark side and when she turns up dead, all fingers point to her stepfather. “[A] nail-biting domestic thriller…. Filled with plenty of twists and complex characters, this entertaining story builds to a satisfying conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “After Anna.”*

LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE by Sloane Crosley
THREE starred reviews! The New York Times–bestselling author’s brand-new collection of essays is filled with her characteristic heart and punch-packing observations, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. “Crosley is exceedingly clever and has a witticism for all occasions, but it is her willingness to confront some of life’s darker corners with honesty and vulnerability that elevates this collection.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE COMEDOWN by Rebekah Frumkin
One of Nylon’s “50 Books We Can’t Wait To Read In 2018!” A dazzling epic that follows two very different families in Cleveland, where a drug deal gone wrong forces them to become irrevocably intertwined. “[F]rom page to page, character to character, this is a powerful debut. Frumkin has talent to burn…” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

WONDERBLOOD by Julia Whicker
A post-apocalyptic fantasy about religious war, a perverse faith, and waiting for the space shuttles to return. “This is an original and well-formed entry into the crowded field of dystopian fiction. For fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s STATION ELEVEN, N.K. Jemisin’s ‘Broken Earth’ series, and George R.R. Martin’s ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ books.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

VOICES FROM THE RUST BELT by Anne Trubek
A timely anthology of distinct voices exploring life in the Rust Belt today, from the Flint water crisis to white flight in Detroit to growing up female in a heavily male, steel mill town. “A good companion piece to J. D. Vance’s HILLBILLY ELEGY.” — Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the September 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
The new standalone novel from the LibraryReads author of LITTLE BLACK LIES!
A criminal defense attorney with a reputation for getting the wrongly convicted exonerated is drawn into the machinations of a serial killer who claims innocence. “Bolton has created a page-turner of a story with a surprise ending.” — Elizabeth Kanouse, Denville Public Library, Denville, NJ on LITTLE BLACK LIES

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Daisy in Chains” and include your library’s mailing address.*

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
This debut collection of speculative short fiction for our tech-savvy era is an ABA Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce selection. “[Weinstein’s] stories look like SF but read like literary fiction. Calling all fans of Margaret Atwood and Emily St. John Mandel.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.” Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Secrets of Wishtide.”*

KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson
A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II. “Readers who crave more books like Balsam’s ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS and Kristin Hannah’s best-selling THE NIGHTINGALE will be enthralled by KAROLINA’S TWINS.”
Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart
“Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Hart, in a twist on the classic British county manor mystery, adds her characteristic elegantly crafted atmosphere and keen eye for character and writes with an ease and an assurance that makes it feel like this is her twenty-second book, not just her second.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “White Mirror” and include your library’s mailing address.*

MAD ENCHANTMENT: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies by Ross King
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick with THREE starred reviews! “Best-selling King consummately meshes biography with art history as he turns the creation of one resounding masterpiece into a portal onto the artist’s life. Never before has the full drama and significance of Monet’s magnificent Water Lilies been conveyed with such knowledge and perception, empathy and wonder.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Mad Enchantment.”*
readmoreremove

Summer 2016 Indie Love

Terrific news: the ABA just announced their Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce picks, the June 2016 Indie Next list, and the Summer 2016 Kids’ Indie Next List, including these seven Macmillan titles:
Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce

A WHOLE LIFE by Robert Seethaler
Shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize! Set in the mid-twentieth century and told with beauty and tenderness, this is a story of man’s relationship with an ancient landscape, of the value of solitude, of the arrival of the modern world, and above all, of the moments that make us who we are.

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
“Director of The Martha’s Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing, Weinstein explains that ‘these stories arose from my growing concern over the effects that the internet age is having on our social, emotional, and psychological interactions.’ As a result, his stories look like SF—consider the childless couple living in a virtual-reality community whose child there is wiped out by a computer virus—but read like literary fiction. Calling all fans of Margaret Atwood and Emily St. John Mandel.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

June 2016 Indie Next list

GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS by Max Porter
Part novella, part polyphonic fable, part essay on grief, Porter’s extraordinary debut combines compassion and bravura style to dazzling effect. “Elegant, imaginative, and perfectly paced. A contribution to the literature of grief and to literature in general.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

css.php