Articles tagged "DaMaris Hill"

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

September 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction
PAPER GODS: A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics by Goldie Taylor
CHRISTMAS AT THE CHALET by Anita Hughes

Mystery/Thriller
UNEASY LIES THE CROWN by Tasha Alexander
HEARTS OF THE MISSING by Carol Potenza
DEADLY CAMARGUE by Cay Rademacher
HARVEST OF SECRETS by Ellen Crosby
THE GIRL FROM BERLIN by Ronald H. Balson readmoreremove

css.php