Articles tagged "DaMaris Hill"

Booklist Recommends: On Diversity and Immigration

Keep your patrons in the know with these two Booklist best of lists on diversity and immigration:

Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill

“With a lyricism that sings, swings, and stings, poet and writer Hill reflects on black women who resisted violent racism and misogyny, ranging from the notable and notorious (Fannie Lou Hamer, Eartha Kitt, Ida B. Wells, Joanne Little) to lesser-known, no-less-heroic women.”–Booklist, starred review

FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS by Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, and Minyon Moore with Veronica Chambers

2019 NAACP Image Award Winner

“This trailblazing crew of black women, self-described ‘Colored Girls,’ have been in the room with power brokers since the 1960s and have wielded significant influence on Democratic presidential campaigns and administrations… Told with obvious deep respect and affection, this is a spirited look at the politics and personal lives of four iconic women.”–Booklist, starred review

Click here for the full Top 10 list.

Read-alikes: Tales from the Border

Have you read THE DEATH AND LIFE OF AIDA HERNANDEZ: A Border Story by Aaron Bobrow-Strain?

“In this caring and unforgettable borderland saga, Bobrow-Strain reveals the profound personal toll of the immigration crisis.”–Booklist, starred review

“This potent, important work, which ‘occupies a space between journalism and ethnography, with a dash of oral history and biography,’ adds much to the continuing immigration debate.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

If you loved THE DEATH AND LIFE OF AIDA HERNANDEZ, Booklist recommends these read-alikes.

For more similarly-themed title recommendations, click here.

Women’s History Month 2019

March is Women’s History Month, and today we celebrate their powerful voices with these fierce reads:

PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
DIVIDED WE STAND: The Battle Over Women’s Rights and Family Values That Polarized American Politics by Marjorie Spruill
A WARRIOR OF THE PEOPLE: How Susan La Flesche Overcame Racial and Gender Inequality to Become America’s First Indian Doctor by Joe Starita
RENAISSANCE WOMAN: The Life of Vittoria Colonna by Romie Targoff
THE QUEEN’S EMBROIDERER: A True Story of Paris, Lovers, Swindlers, and the First Stock Market Crisis by Joan DeJean
BECAUSE OF SEX: One Law, Ten Cases, and Fifty Years That Changed American Women’s Lives at Work by Gillian Thomas
MRS. SHERLOCK HOLMES: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case That Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca
BRINGING DOWN THE COLONEL: A Sex Scandal of the Gilded Age, and the “Powerless” Woman Who Took On Washington by Patricia Miller
NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga
THIS IS OUR FIGHT: The Battle to Save America’s Middle Class by Elizabeth Warren
MINORITY LEADER: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change by Stacey Abrams
QUEEN VICTORIA: Twenty-Four Days That Changed Her Life by Lucy Worsley
WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age
by Mary Pipher
A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
OUTRAGEOUS ACTS AND EVERYDAY REBELLIONS: Third Edition by Gloria Steinem
A DANGEROUS WOMAN: American Beauty, Noted Philanthropist, Nazi Collaborator–The Life of Florence Gould by Susan Ronald
THIS WOMAN’S WORK by Julie Delporte
ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by Brittney Cooper
QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
MOTHER IS A VERB: An Unconventional History by Sarah Knott

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

September 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction
PAPER GODS: A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics by Goldie Taylor
CHRISTMAS AT THE CHALET by Anita Hughes

Mystery/Thriller
UNEASY LIES THE CROWN by Tasha Alexander
HEARTS OF THE MISSING by Carol Potenza
DEADLY CAMARGUE by Cay Rademacher
HARVEST OF SECRETS by Ellen Crosby
THE GIRL FROM BERLIN by Ronald H. Balson readmoreremove

css.php