Articles tagged "BLACK KLANSMAN: Race Hate and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime"

Thriller Thursday (6/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got two riveting tales for you this #ThrillerThursday:

THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE by Paddy Hirsch
Also available in audio
Fans of Caleb Carr, Erik Larsen, and Gangs of New York will love this historical thriller debut set in 1799 New York City. “Journalist Hirsch makes his fiction debut with a superb historical whodunit. Fans of Lyndsay Faye’s Gods of Gotham books will welcome this engrossing look at New York a half-century before that series.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime by Ron Stallworth
Also available in audio
The extraordinary true story of the African American police officer who goes undercover to investigate the KKK, the basis for the forthcoming major motion picture (BlacKkKlansman) written and directed by Spike Lee, and produced by Oscar winner Jordan Peele. Fun fact: Lee won the Grand Prix award at the Cannes Film Festival for BlacKkKlansman
readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: June 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the June 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due April 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris
Also available in audio
The new thriller from the LibraryReads author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. “Paris once again proves her suspense chops with this can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW HARD CAN IT BE? by Allison Pearson
Also available in audio
THREE starred reviews! Hilarious and poignant, the new adventures of Kate Reddy, the beleaguered heroine of Allison Pearson’s groundbreaking New York Times bestseller I DON’T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT. “Tackling sexism, growing older, and understanding one’s needs when catering to those of so many others, Pearson writes realism with all the fun of escapism.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk
Two starred reviews! A “stellar” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) fantasy debut that combines intrigue, magic, betrayal, and romance in an original world with a historical WWI tone. “Many disparate elements are expertly woven together to make this debut a crackler, with layers like a nesting doll and just as delightful to discover.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

JAR OF HEARTS by Jennifer Hillier
Also available in audio
What if you went to jail for something terrible your boyfriend did to your best friend? Then 5 years later, you’re free but your life is in ruins, and your boyfriend is back at it (killing, that is), and maybe he’s coming for you? “…this psychological thriller is unlike any other. Enthralled readers will be rooting for Geo in the end.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with three starred reviews! The critically acclaimed author of OUTLINE and TRANSIT, completes her “stunning” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) trilogy with a finale that examines the relationship between pain and honor, and investigates the moral nature of success as a precept of both art and living. “Brilliantly accomplished and uncompromisingly dark.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime by Ron Stallworth
Also available in audio
The extraordinary true story of the African American police officer who goes undercover to investigate the KKK, the basis for the forthcoming major motion picture written and directed by Spike Lee, and produced by Oscar winner Jordan Peele.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

css.php