Articles tagged "Alexander McCall Smith"

Thriller Thursday (10/26/17 Edition)

Here are entertaining new mysteries in three excellent continuing series:

DYING TO LIVE by Michael Stanley
In the sixth and “best” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) entry in the Detective Kubu mystery series, a Bushman is discovered dead near the Central Kalahari Game Reserve and the police suspect foul play, especially when the body goes missing from the morgue. “Stanley, the pseudonym of Michael Sears and Stanley Trollip, once again mixes strongly developed characters, puzzling plot twists, and a textured African setting in an international police procedural with heart and soul that will appeal to fans of Kwei Quartey and Alexander McCall Smith.” — Library Journal, starred review

HOW THE FINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS by Donna Andrews
Meg Langslow’s husband is turning his one-man show of Dickens’s A Christmas Carol into a big, splashy production, with a famed if fading actor brought in to play Scrooge. Alas, the man has enemies. “The always-busy, efficient Meg solves the murders while keeping order among family and friends; all the usual, wonderfully drawn, quirky characters are present in this satisfying, humorous entry in the long-running series.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (6/27/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two new family-based novels with starred reviews!

THE SUPREMES SING THE HAPPY HEARTACHE BLUES by Edward Kelsey Moore
From the author of the bestselling THE SUPREMES AT EARL’S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT, an exuberant and poignant new novel of passions, family, and forgiveness. “Moore’s bluesy, breezy novel takes readers through life’s highs and lows and in-between times when no one knows what is coming next; its air of folksy optimism should appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Fredrik Backman.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Delightful… His characters, both living and dead, come together to make a wonderful whole.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE OUTER CAPE by Patrick Dacey
A piercing and compassionate debut novel about how the new generations atone for the sins of the old in small-town America. “Beautifully written, with strong, deeply memorable characters, this is a powerful story of possibility and promise.” — Booklist, starred review

css.php