2021 National Book Award Longlists

The 2021 National Book Award longlists have been announced, and we have 5 titles in the running! Fiction ZORRIE by Laird HuntABUNDANCE by Jakob Guanzon Nonfiction THE FREE WORLD: Art and Thought in the Cold War by Louis Menand Poetry THE WILD FOX OF YEMEN by Threa Almontaser Translated Literature THE TWILIGHT ZONE by Nona […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (9/16/21)

A serial killer hiding aboard a stranded cruise ship + a missing girl in NYC + a modern-day courtroom drama about wartime heroics = this thriller Thursday! THE STOWAWAY by James S. Murray and Darren Wearmouth “This is a really good thriller, claustrophobic and creepy and fast-paced. The authors are clearly having some fun with […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: OLGA DIES DREAMING (9/15/21)

Today’s Shelf Awareness Maximum Shelf pick is Xochitl Gonzalez’s OLGA DIES DREAMING, a blazing debut about a status-driven wedding planner grappling with her social ambitions, absent mother, and Puerto Rican roots­, all in the wake of Hurricane Maria. It’s 2017, and Olga and her brother, Pedro “Prieto” Acevedo, are boldfaced names in their hometown of […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Alice Feeney (9/15/21)

Writer, journalist, New York Times bestseller, and queen of the twist Alice Feeney brings another page-turning psychological suspense that asks, do you really know the person you married? ROCK PAPER SCISSORS takes readers into ten years of marriage and ten years of secrets with Adam and Amelia Wright as they celebrate an anniversary that they […]

Read More…

Starred Review Round-Up (9/14/21)

We’re seeing stars! These titles all received multiple starred reviews: FIGHT NIGHT by Miriam ToewsISBN 9781635578171 | on sale 10/5/21 “Fierce and funny, this gives undeniable testimony to the life force of family. It’s a knockout.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review “Funny and sad and exquisitely tender.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review APPLES NEVER FALL by Liane MoriartyISBN 9781250220257 […]

Read More…

Mystery Series Spotlight (9/14/21)

Today we’re diving into mystery series with the extraordinary second book in the Two Rivers series and the 53rd adventure of a beloved homicide detective. THE HERON’S CRY: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel by Ann Cleeves 2 starred reviews! “Fans of Cleeves’s Vera Stanhope and Shetland mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Liane Moriarty (9/13/21)

Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author, always shocks readers with her mystery, twists, and domestic dysfunction. Moriarty’s latest, APPLES NEVER FALL, brings all that and more as she dives into marriage, sibling rivalry, tennis, and the lies we tell ourselves in this irresistible and gripping tale of the Delaney family. APPLES NEVER FALL […]

Read More…

Genre Friday: Horror (9/10/21)

Get your screams ready for this horror-filled Friday, we are spotlighting a twisty boarded-up house on a dead-end street, a pulse-pounding oasis of vampires and criminals, and a tale of dark magic and devilish mystery. THE LAST HOUSE ON NEEDLESS STREET by Catriona Ward 2 starred reviews, a LibraryReads pick, and an Indie Next pick! […]

Read More…

NYT Profiles S.A. Cosby

S.A. Cosby has officially taken the literary world by storm with his novels BLACKTOP WASTELAND and RAZORBLADE TEARS. And now, he’s been profiled by the New York Times! Check out what they have to say here. More praise for S.A. Cosby: “Few novels marry tough and tender, head-banging and coming-of-age, as seamlessly as this one […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (9/8/21)

The start of the #MeToo movement + an essential book of thought and culture + essays on race and power = this nonfiction round-up. UNBOUND: My Story of Liberation and the Birth of the Me Too Movement by Tarana Burke 3 starred reviews! “An unforgettable page-turner of a life story rendered with endless grace and […]

Read More…

css.php