Debuts

SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN is a Booklist Top 10 Crime Debut!

Our favorite (retired-but-not-quite) Booklis-ter, Bill Ott, put together the Year’s Best Crime Novels for 2019, and S.A. Lelchuk’s SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN made the Top 10 Debuts list!

Nikki Griffin isn’t your typical private investigator. In her office above her bookstore’s shelves and stacks, where she luxuriates in books and the comfort they provide, she also tracks certain men. Dangerous men. Men who have hurt the women they claim to love. And Nikki likes to teach those men a lesson, to teach them what it feels like to be hurt and helpless, so she can be sure that their victims are safe from them forever.

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (5/1/19)

I’m seeing stars! Starred reviews, that is. Keep an eye out for these titles that all received multiple starred reviews!

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

“Gailey’s debut is an energetic modern fantasy that plays rough with relationships and personal beliefs, from youth to adulthood. Ivy’s emotional investigation will strike a chord in anyone who has ever felt like they don’t belong. Highly recommended for all collections.“–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2019 (Booth #1511)

Come stroll the National Mall with us at ALA Annual 2019 in Washington, DC! We’ll have tons of events, authors, and ARC giveaways in our booth (#1511), so check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP!

Friday, June 21

In-booth signing with Mariah Fredericks (DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN)
5:30 PM | Booth 1511

Saturday, June 22

“Don’t Be Afraid of Horror” panel with Rachel Eve Moulton (TINFOIL BUTTERFLY)
1:00-1:50 PM | Pop Top Stage
Add this event to your schedule!

United for Libraries “It’s a Mystery to Me” panel with Donna Andrews (TERNS OF ENDEARMENT)
2:30-3:30 PM | WCC Room 207B
Add this event to your schedule!

Macmillan Happy Hour Book Buzz with SURPRISE guest
Join the Macmillan Library Marketing team (and a surprise guest!) as we highlight our favorite forthcoming titles from Macmillan’s adult publishers and YA pals Wednesday Books and Flatiron! Beer and wine will be served. #MLHAPPYHOUR
4:00-5:00 PM | WCC Room 207A
Add this event to your schedule!

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay! (4/30/19)

Graphic novel + May Indie Next Pick + musical nonfiction + Highland romance = one awesome #pubday!

CLYDE FANS by Seth

“This isn’t just a story, or even, as it terms itself, a ‘picture novel’–it is a brilliant journey into the heart of midcentury darkness.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek

Library Journal Winter/Spring 2019 Best Debut
May Indie Next Pick
Two starred reviews

“This young couple’s September honeymoon in Cape May got so boring they almost went home early. If only… The 1950s setting, the pellucid prose, and the propulsive plot make this very steamy debut novel about morality and desire feel like a classic.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Yes, betrayals are at the core of what happens at CAPE MAY, but beyond that, this remarkable debut novel offers a sobering reminder of how the possibilities of life, when first encountered, often carry their own riptide.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Booklist Mystery Month 2019!

May is Mystery Month at Booklist, and we’re celebrating along with them with our favorite chills, thrills, and kills (bum-bum-BUM) from newcomers and fan favorites alike:

ALMOST MIDNIGHT by Paul Doiron

In this thrilling entry in Edgar Award finalist Paul Doiron’s bestselling series, a deadly attack on one of Maine’s last wild wolves leads Game Warden Mike Bowditch to an even bigger criminal conspiracy. “Fans of outdoors procedurals, like those by William Kent Krueger or C. J. Box, will be delighted to get to know the consistently strong Mike Bowditch series, now in its tenth installment.”–Booklist

HEART OF BARKNESS by Spencer Quinn

The latest in the New York Times bestselling series that the Los Angeles Times called “nothing short of masterful” sees Chet the dog and P.I. Bernie encounter heartache and much worse in the world of country music.

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

Two starred reviews! In London, 1946, the two women who recently started The Right Sort Marriage Bureau find their new livelihood endangered when a client is arrested for the murder of another. “The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019

The trees are green, the sun is warm, and I know I’m getting ready for some good beach reading! Enter, Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019!

Staff Picks
THE REDEMPTION OF TIME: A Three-Body Problem Novel by Baoshu
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers

Fiction
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow
THE ORGANS OF SENSE by Adam Ehrlich Sachs

Mystery/Thriller
THE BURNING CHAMBERS by Kate Mosse
THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh
THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

SF/Fantasy/Horror
MIDDLEGAME by Seanan McGuire

Comics
KING OF KING COURT by Travis Dandro

Nonfiction
DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder by John Waters
THE VINYL FRONTIER: The Story of the Voyager Golden Record by Jonathan Scott

For Your Consideration: July 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July 2019 titles for the July 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due June 1!

BETHLEHEM by Karen Kelly

With the writing chops of Ian McEwan and the storytelling of Lisa Wingate, “a haunting debut” about two intertwined families and the secrets they’ve kept buried during the steel boom in Bethlehem, PA.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“Mixing ambivalence, nostalgia, and the power of innocence in an idyllic setting, this journey of self-discovery is an ideal summer read for those who might shun more typical ‘beach-read’ offerings.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (4/26/19)

Calling all collection development librarians! These books all received multiple starred reviews!

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga

“A sympathetic portrait of Mexican-American feminism (both in mother and daughter) delivered in a poignant, beautifully written way.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Moraga’s captivating and perceptive memoir successfully conveys her belief that ‘we are as much of a place as we are of a people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

May YA E-Book Sale for Libraries

Expand your Young Adult collection with our YA e-Book sale!

Running May 1 through May 15, six YA e-Books will be discounted 25% off (with our regular lending terms):

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin
IN SIGHT OF STARS by Gae Polisner
SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young
SADIE by Courtney Summers
WHITE STAG by Kara Barbieri

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” Webinar

We hope you were able to tune in to Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” webinar today, but if not, you can download the full title list and slides, and here are all the titles presented:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A DANGEROUS ENGAGEMENT by Ashley Weaver
THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan
A STRANGER ON THE BEACH by Michele Campbell
THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves
A HERO BORN by Jin Yong
TINFOIL BUTTERFLY by Rachel Eve Moulton
SALT SLOW by Julia Armfield
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo
THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center
ON DIVISION by Goldie Goldbloom
KEEPING LUCY by T. Greenwood
THE FURIES by Katie Lowe
THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner
DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
HERE WE ARE by Aarti Namdev Shahani
YOU’VE BEEN VOLUNTEERED by Laurie Gelman
THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer
THE WIDOW OF ROSE HOUSE by Diana Biller

Listen to the full archived webinar here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

Make sure to vote early and often for LibraryReads!

css.php