Books for Teens 2021

Come one, come all to the Books for Teens 2021 catalog!

Read on to see all 2021 has in store, including romances that will make you swoon, fantasies that will take you to faraway lands, thrillers that will keep you on the edge of your seat, and so much more!

Follow us on Twitter (@MacmillanLib) for all book-related news, on Instagram (@Macmillan_Lib) for pretty pictures of books, and read Emily’s candid “Day’s YA” reviews of upcoming and backlist YA titles.

Winter 2021:

THE EVER AFTER: The Omte Origins by Amanda Hocking
9781250204301
Available January 5, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking concludes the magical world of the Trylle with THE EVER AFTER, the final book in her last Trylle arc. Nestled along the bluffs of the forested coast lies the secret kingdom of the Omte—a realm filled with wonder…and as many secrets.

YOU HAVE A MATCH by Emma Lord
9781250237309
Available January 5, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

E-galley available to download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

From the beloved author of TWEET CUTE comes Emma Lord’s next novel of family, friendship, romance and sisterhood. When Abby discovers she has a sister after signing up for a DNA service, she conspires to meet up with her secret sister at summer camp and figure out the real reasons why their parents put Savannah up for adoption.

TWEET CUTE by Emma Lord will be available in trade paperback on January 5, 2021.

TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND by Melissa Albert
9781250302724
Available January 12, 2021 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

E-galley available to download on Edelweiss

Before THE HAZEL WOOD, there was Althea Proserpine’s TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND, a gorgeously illustrated collection of the twelve original stories that frame Melissa Albert’s New York Times bestselling fairy tales, THE HAZEL WOOD and THE NIGHT COUNTRY

THE NIGHT COUNTRY by Melissa Albert will be available in trade paperback on January 12, 2021.

CAN’T STOP WON’T STOP: A History of the Hip-Hop Generation (YA Edition) by Jeff Chang and Dave Cook
9781250790514
Available January 12, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Jeff Chang and Dave “Davey D” Cook tell the story of hip-hop from its beginnings through the present day in this new special edition for young adults. They bring the story through Black Lives Matter and the most important icons of the moment, while chronicling the epic events, ideas, and the music that have defined American and global culture.

SHADOW CITY by Francesca Flores
9781250220486
Available January 26, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

SHADOW CITY, the action-packed sequel to DIAMOND CITY, is an epic fantasy about a girl who perseveres through poverty, violence, and loss to achieve a future for herself.

THE PROJECT by Courtney Summers
9781250105738
Available February 2, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

E-galley available to download on Edelweiss

The next pulls-no-punches thriller from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Courtney Summers, about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister from a cult.

EVERYTHING THAT BURNS by Gita Trelease
9781250295552
Available February 2, 2021 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

EVERYTHING THAT BURNS (FKA: LIBERTÉ) is the transporting sequel to ALL THAT GLITTERS (FKA: ENCHANTÉE), hailed by NPR as a “soaring success”!
In this new Paris where allegiances shift and violence erupts, the answers Camille seeks set her on a perilous path, one that may cost her the boy she loves—even her life. If she can discover who she truly is before vengeful forces unmask her, she may still win this deadly game of revolution.

ALL THAT GLITTERS (FKA: ENCHANTÉE) by Gita Trelease will be available in trade paperback on February 2, 2021.

AMELIA UNABRIDGED by Ashley Schumacher
9781250253026
Available February 16, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

E-galley available to download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

Ashley Schumacher’s devastating and beautiful debut, AMELIA UNABRIDGED, is about finding hope and strength within yourself, and maybe, just maybe, falling in love while you do it. This beautiful novel is sure to entice fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer E. Smith.

DOWN COMES THE NIGHT by Allison Saft
9781250623638
Available March 2, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

E-galley available to download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

A gorgeously gothic, deeply romantic YA debut fantasy about two enemies trapped inside a crumbling mansion, with no escape from the monsters within. Allison Saft’s DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is a snow-drenched fantasy that keeps you racing through the pages long into the night.

ANNA K AWAY by Jenny Lee
9781250236463
Available March 9, 2021 from Flatiron Books
Ages 14 to 18

The sequel to the national indie bestseller ANNA K, set over the course of the next summer, as the characters deal with the fallout from the previous year’s tragic events. ANNA K AWAY is full of the risk, joy, heartbreak, and adventure that marks the three months of a single, life-changing summer.

ANNA K: A Love Story by Jenny Lee will be available in trade paperback on February 2, 2021.

PERFECT ON PAPER by Sophie Gonzales
9781250769787
Available March 9, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

LEAH ON THE OFFBEAT meets TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE: a bisexual girl who gives anonymous love advice to her classmates is hired (…blackmailed?) by the “hot guy” to help him get his ex back.

ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED by Sophie Gonzales will be available in trade paperback on March 9, 2021.

THAT WAY MADNESS LIES: Fifteen of Shakespeare’s Most Notable Works Reimagined by Dahlia Adler
9781250753861
Available March 16, 2021 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

Fifteen acclaimed YA writers put their modern spin on William Shakespeare’s celebrated classics. From Macbeth to Romeo and Juliet and everything in between, Shakespeare’s most revered works are about to get a twist from YA authors such as Melissa Bashardoust, Patrice Caldwell, Anna-Marie McLemore, Tochi Onyebuchi, Mark Oshiro, & many more!

NAMESAKE by Adrienne Young
9781250254399
Available March 16, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

E-galley available to download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

Filled with action, emotion, and lyrical writing, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with the final book in the captivating Fable duology. Welcome to a world made dangerous by the sea and by those who wish to profit from it. Where a young girl must find her place and her family while trying to survive in a world built for men.

THE LAST SECRET YOU’LL EVER KEEP by Laurie Faria Stolarz
9781250303738
Available March 16, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Bestselling author Laurie Faria Stolarz returns with a thrilling novel where an eighteen-year-old girl’s search for answers lands her in one of the most terrifying situations imaginable.

BLESSED MONSTERS by Emily A. Duncan
9781250195722
Available April 6, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

The startling conclusion to the instant New York Times bestselling Something Dark and Holy trilogy
The girl, the monster, the prince, the queen.
They broke the world. And some things can never be undone.
In Emily A. Duncan’s BLESSED MONSTERS, they must unite once more to fight the dark chaos they’ve unleashed–but is it already too late?

RUTHLESS GODS by Emily A. Duncan will be available in trade paperback on April 6, 2021.

AGAIN, BUT BETTER by Christine Riccio will be available in trade paperback on April 6, 2021.

IT SOUNDED BETTER IN MY HEAD by Nina Kenwood will be available in trade paperback on April 13, 2021.

SLINGSHOT by Mercedes Helnwein
9781250253002
Available April 27, 2021 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

E-galley available to download on Edelweiss

This exciting contemporary young adult debut is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Mary H. K. Choi. Acidly funny and compulsively readable, Mercedes Helnwein’s debut novel SLINGSHOT is a story about two people finding each other and then screwing it all up. See also: soulmate, friendship, stupidity, sex, bad poetry, and all the indignities of being in love for the first time.

And don’t miss these titles from Entangled: Teen, Page Street Kids, and Wattpad Books!

GIVEN by Nandi Taylor
9781989365632
Available January 5, 2021 from Wattpad Books
Ages 12+

CROWN OF BONES by A.K. Wilder
9781640634145
Available January 5, 2021 from Entangled: Teen
Ages 14+

IN THE PENALTY BOX by Lynn Rush and Kelly Anne Blount
9781682815762
Available January 5, 2021 from Entangled: Teen
Ages 14+

INTO THE HEARTLESS WOOD by Joanna Ruth Meyer
9781645671701
Available January 12, 2021 from Page Street Kids
Ages 14+

THE FAMOUX by Kassandra Tate
9781989365533
Available January 19, 2021 from Wattpad Books
Ages 14+

WRITTEN IN STARLIGHT by Isabel Ibañez
9781645671329
Available January 26, 2021 from Page Street Kids
Ages 14+

THE ABDUCTION by Vanessa Barneveld
9781682815731
Available February 2, 2021 from Entangled: Teen
Ages 14 to 18

REVENGE OF THE SLUTS by Natalie Walton
9781989365519
Available February 2, 2021 from Wattpad Books
Ages 14+

CROWN by Tracy Wolff
9781682815816
Available March 2, 2021 from Entangled: Teen
Ages 14 to 18

FIGHT FOR HER by Liz Plum
9781989365236
Available March 9, 2021 from Wattpad Books
Ages 14+

DOWN WORLD by Rebecca Phelps
9781989365595
Available March 30, 2021 from Wattpad Books
Ages 14+

JUST BETWEEN US by Kassy Taylor
9781682815755
Available April 6, 2021 from Entangled: Teen
Ages 14 to 18

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.