Day’s YA: AMELIA UNABRIDGED

“There’s nothing in the world a good book can’t cure.”

AMELIA UNABRIDGED by Ashley Schumacher
9781250253026
Available from Wednesday Books on February 16, 2021
Ages 12-18
E-galley on Edelweiss & NetGalley


Download coloring sheet here

After Amelia’s family fell apart, Jenna was there to save her, and the two girls became inseparable. The kind of inseparable where it’s expected that Amelia will have a spot at every family dinner and vacation with Jenna. On the night they met, Jenna gave Amelia the one thing that truly changed her life . . . N.E. Endsley’s magical Orman Chronicle books. Then suddenly, after years of doing everything together, Jenna is killed in a car accident.

A grieving Amelia doesn’t know how to move forward until a special edition of N.E. Endsley’s book shows up, and she knows that somehow it’s a gift from Jenna. In a search for answers and any final links to her best friend, Amelia departs on the trip of a lifetime. Landing at the bookstore of her dreams, she is introduced to the author that changed her life once when she most needed it and might just do so again.

Ashley Schumacher’s lyrical debut is a beautiful and heartbreaking coming-of-age story filled with love, grief, the fear of growing up, and characters that are experiencing emotions bigger than themselves. Speaking of the characters . . . they’re so genuine and lovable that you can’t help but root for them (plus there’s a coffee-drinking dog).

AMELIA UNABRIDGED will break your heart over and over, but ultimately it is a love story about books. This vivid and picturesque novel is perfect for readers of YOU’D BE MINE and TWEET CUTE.


“The novel is also an ode to the love of reading and how books can provide the magic and comfort needed during difficult times. VERDICT: Recommended for all YA collections. Readers will root for these resilient protagonists who face heartbreak and must make tough choices.” —School Library Journal

HAPPY READING!
<3 SAMANTHA

P.S. You can find all of our 2021 Books for Teens here and the Day’s YA archives here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.