Day’s YA: ONCE UPON A BROKEN HEART

ONCE UPON A BROKEN HEART by Stephanie Garber
9781250268396
Available September 28, 2021 from Flatiron Books
Ages 13-18 

Evangeline Fox is a believer of true love, happy endings, fairy tales, and curses. So when she learns that the love of her life is marrying somebody else, she does the one thing that the stories have always told her not to do . . . she makes a deal with the devil. The wicked and charming Prince of Hearts (AKA Jacks) asks Evangeline for three kisses in exchange for his help, but there’s a twist: the time, place, and receiver of the kisses are to be determined by Jacks. 

Evangeline sets forth on an unexpected journey to the Magnificent North—a place immersed in fairy tales and curses—and finds herself face to face with a prophecy and the first kiss. What follows after that kiss is far more than Evangeline bargained for. 

This is a story about love (but not a love story) that questions the bad decisions that people make for love. With some favorite characters that CARAVAL fans know and adore, ONCE UPON A BROKEN HEART is an enchanting and delightful start to a new series. Stephanie Garber is the queen of fairy tales and her masterful storytelling combines mystery, romance, and magic with a protagonist filled with optimism and hope, and a dazzling devil. This  imaginative and romantic story filled with true love and deadly kisses is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas, and Marissa Meyer.


“Garber, best known for her lush and poetic Caraval series, will no doubt have readers flocking to this new series. The potential for the coming series installments is huge, as the glimmers of a larger world introduced in this volume are sure to stoke reader curiosity.”
Booklist

“A lushly written story with an intriguing heart.” —Kirkus

“Garber enchants readers with exquisitely imagined worldbuilding and her trademark heady romance.” —Publishers Weekly

HAPPY READING!
<3 SAMANTHA

YA Resources:
2021 Books for Teens
Day’s YA archives
2021 Adult Books for Teens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.