Day’s YA: TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND

“To all the readers whose first language was fairy tales.”

TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND by Melissa Albert
9781250302724
Available now from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 – 18

Also by Melissa Albert:
THE HAZEL WOOD
THE NIGHT COUNTRY

Melissa Albert’s debut, THE HAZEL WOOD, and its sequel, THE NIGHT COUNTRY, transported readers to the magical world of the Hinterland found within a mysterious book of fairy tales. Now, Albert treats readers to a behind-the-scenes look at the fairy tales that started it all in TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND.

Every story within these gorgeously illustrated pages is spell-binding and terrifying, but my favorites include:

“The Door That Wasn’t There”, in which two sisters wander through a mysterious door that leads to death.

“Hansa the Traveler”, about a girl who speaks with the moon, and traverses the sea in order to rescue a star from the tide holding her captive.

“Alice-Three-Times”, about a princess with eyes the color of coal and breath so icy it can kill.

“Twice-Killed Katherine”, which, as you may have guessed, is about a girl who meets her maker multiple times, and lives to tell the tale.

The stories in this collection are dark and sinister, each one winding further into the woods than the last, and will be enjoyed by existing fans of the series, as well as those who have yet to venture into the Hinterland. These goosebump-inducing tales are perfect for readers of Emily Carroll’s THROUGH THE WOODS and Kelly Link’s PRETTY MONSTERS, as well as anyone looking for a good fright.

“Albert’s rich and tightly focused collection forms the core of the mythology created in her novels, and her fans will be thrilled at this further glimpse into that world.”
Booklist, starred review

“Stories fueled by feminist rage, the frustration of being underestimated, and the insatiable longing to experience more mark this collection as timely and universal.”
School Library Journal

Happy reading!
<3 Emily


You can find all of our 2021 Books for Teens here and the Day’s YA archives here.

Are you a librarian who loves YA? Would you like to submit a guest post to be featured on our Day’s YA column? Fill out this form with your information, and we’ll be in touch about a collaboration!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.