Day’s YA: IF THIS GETS OUT

IF THIS GETS OUT by Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich
9781250805805
12/7/21
Wednesday Books
Ages 13-18

E-galley available on Edelweiss and NetGalley

What do you do when you’re in the most popular boy band in America . . . and all you want is the boy singing next to you?

Ruben and Zach are not only best friends, but also members of America’s biggest boy-band, Saturday. With their other two bandmates, Angel and Jon, the four are inseparable backstage and the perfect heartthrobs wherever the cameras follow them. 

What the world doesn’t know is that Ruben is gay, is being forced to stay in the closet by the Saturday producers, and that he has the biggest crush on the most unavailable person, Zach, his supposedly straight bandmate and best friend. 

Saturday is making their way through Europe on a whirlwind tour filled with crazy show schedules, never-ending practices, and beautiful hotel rooms with minimal supervision. Zach and Ruben begin to rely on one another more and more, and soon enough their friendship takes a turn into a romance, as Zach begins to learn more about his own sexual identity. But when they decide they’re ready to tell their bandmates, their families, and their fans, Zach and Ruben discover that they were never going to have the support that they want or need. 

IF THIS GETS OUT is the swoon-worthy, queer, boy band romance that will have fans of One Direction squealing for Zach and Ruben. The European backdrop combined with the beauty and complexity of forbidden first love makes this a pitch-perfect showstopper. Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich dive into the joy of queer love, while also examining the devastation that can occur when that love is forced to stay hidden. 

This edgy, adorable, and joyful best friends to lovers romance is perfect for fans of RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston, PERMANENT RECORD by Mary H.K. Choi, and WHAT IF IT’S US by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera.

HAPPY READING!
<3 SAMANTHA

YA Resources:
2021 Books for Teens
2022 Books for Teens
Day’s YA archives
2021 Adult Books for Teens

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.