Articles tagged "Spice Shop mystery series"

Thriller Thursday (12/14/17 Edition)

Cozy up with some cozies (and a psychological thriller) this December:

BLOODSTAINS WITH BRONTE by Katherine Bolger Hyde
The second book in a delightful new cozy mystery series in which an English teacher becomes involved in murder cases that reflect elements of her favorite books. “The writers’-retreat theme opens the story to plenty of literary references, and there are also details about home remodeling and decorating woven throughout this cozy, set in small-town coastal Oregon and featuring a middle-aged main character trying to decide whether she should totally change her life.” — Booklist

GINGER SNAPPED by Gail Oust
When the body of Realtor of the Year Shirley Randolph is found floating in Brandywine Creek’s local fishing hole, townsfolk think Police Chief Wyatt McBride may be responsible, given his romantic interest in Shirley. “Oust deliciously upends a cozy trope—amateur sleuth vs. professional cop—in her fifth Spice Shop mystery (after 2016’s CURRIED AWAY). Ginger lore and simple recipes provide lagniappe.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Three new adventures in continuing mystery series are our #ThrillerThursday picks:

THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson
Perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie, this next book in the Dandy Gilver series is set in a seaside fishing town. “This is a grand mystery, full of fishy motives, events that don’t pass the smell test, and, of course, plenty of metaphorical red herrings, all leading to a well-thought-out and clever ending.” — Booklist

BURIED IN THE COUNTRY by Carola Dunn
Intrigue and murder invade a quiet Cornish village when it becomes the unexpected site of a secret Commonwealth conference. “The rewards of this entertaining cozy include characters with depth, an interesting bit of history, and an exciting chase through the moors.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/10/15 Edition)

We hope you’ve been following all the great mystery & thriller recommendations on Twitter from your fellow librarians (hashtag #libfaves15). Today we celebrate five new spine-tingling books out this week and next:

DESPERATE MEASURES by Jo Bannister
Bannister’s third series outing finds police officer Hazel Best helping her friend Gabriel Ash rescue his family from Somali pirates. “Bannister stays true to her reputation for excellent police procedurals. Readers will be unable to put down this latest tale of suspense.” — Library Journal

DARK TIDES by Chris Ewan
When another Halloween brings another death, a young police officer on the Isle of Man suspects they are connected to dark secrets in her own past. “There are dark and stormy nights, children playing in a dark wood, and more of the usual horror tropes here, all helping to create a sinister atmosphere. In a chilling page-turner that spans 20 years, Ewan explores the darker side of Manx folklore.” — Booklist

WEB OF DECEIT by Katherine Howell
Australian author Howell makes her U.S. debut with her “excellent”* sixth mystery starring Sydney police detectives Ella Marconi and her partner, Murray Shakespeare, in which they must investigate a suspicious suicide turned gruesome murder. “How the main characters balance the pressures and stresses of their professional and private lives further elevates the brisk plot.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php