Articles tagged "mystery"

#ThrillerThursday (1/31/19)

Your favorite orphan assassin + a cozy series opener = this week’s Thriller Thursday!

OUT OF THE DARK: An Orphan X Novel by Gregg Hurwitz
Two starred reviews!
“Chases, hand-to-hand combat, and gunfights make the short chapters speed by like automatic gunfire. Hurwitz is at the top of this game in this gritty thriller.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEAD AS A DOOR KNOCKER: A House-Flipper Mystery by Diane Kelly
The first in a brand-new cozy series from Diane Kelly set in Nashville–where the real estate market is to die for. “Whitney and her allies are engaging characters, forging bonds that should grow as this new series continues.”–Booklist

#ThrillerThursday (1/24/19)

Buckle up! This week’s Thriller Thursday celebration will take you on an international thrill ride:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
Two starred reviews!
A gripping internationally bestselling mystery about a young woman whose life is turned upside down when she finds out she may have been abducted years before by her recently deceased mother. “The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

RUPTURE: An Ari Thór Thriller by Ragnar Jonasson
Young policeman Ari Thór tries to solve a 50-year-old murder when new evidence surfaces in this fourth book in the Dark Iceland thriller series–already a huge bestseller in England, France, and Australia. “[A]s strong as ever at combining fair-play with psychological depth.”–Publishers Weekly

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

#ThrillerThursday 1/17/19

Marriages to die for, a Karin Slaughter read-alike, and the grim reaper… Welcome to this week’s #thrillerthurday!

AS LONG AS WE BOTH SHALL LIVE by JoAnn Chaney
Two starred reviews!
You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to kill them… “Chaney alternates past and present, creating an unbearably urgent narrative, and she has a shockingly firm grasp on the barbs and ennui of long-term marriage…. A perfectly paced, shock-studded chiller from an author to watch.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Chaney grabs readers with her opening line: ‘If you try to kill your wife without a plan, you will fail.’… Marriage laid bare, with a riveting account of evasion and pursuit—and a zinger of a coda.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Killing It! February 2019 LibraryReads List Edition

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has FIVE February 2019 LibraryReads picks, including the highly coveted #1 spot, and a Hall of Famer!

In the #1 spot:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 Indie Next List Pick!
After shooting her husband in the face, Alicia Berenson takes a vow of silence. Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him…. “This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL Signed Copy Giveaway

Three starred reviews, an Indie Next Pick, and a LibraryReads Pick–Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen’s latest smash hit AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is on sale today!

A psychology study volunteer finds more than she signed up for in this follow-up to THE WIFE BETWEEN US–an electrifying new novel about doubt, passion, and just how much you can trust someone.

We’re giving away a signed copy of AN ANONYMOUS GIRL to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply fill out this Google form by Thursday, January 31, and make sure to include your professional/library-issued e-mail address and library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is available 1/8/19 from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio.

This sweepstakes is open to librarians in the United States. Entrants must be age 18 or older. No purchase necessary. Entries must be received by Thursday, January 31, 2019 to be eligible. The winner grants Macmillan Library the right to announce their name on Twitter, MacmillanLibrary.com, and any other platform we want to congratulate them on. We will select the potential prize winner at random from among all eligible entries received. If a potential prize winner cannot be reached after three (3) business days, we will select an alternate winner, so check your email.

See You @ ALA Midwinter 2019 (Macmillan Library booth #810)

Only a couple weeks left until ALA Midwinter! Make sure to come by our booth #810 and some of our many events to meet our great authors!

Daily doings:

Friday, January 25:

Opening Session with Melinda Gates (THE MOMENT OF LIFT)
Fri 1/25 | 4:00-5:15 PM
Washington State Convention Center Ballroom 6A-B
Add to your schedule.

In-booth signing with Harvey-award winning cartoonist Peter Bagge
Fri 1/25 | 5:30-6:30 PM
Macmillan Library booth #810

Saturday, January 26:

In-booth signing with debut YA author + fellow librarian (!!) Emily A. Duncan (WICKED SAINTS)
Sat 1/26 | 10:00-11:00 AM
Macmillan Library booth #810

United For Libraries “Spotlight on Book Clubs”
Sat 1/26 | 2:00-4:00 PM
Macmillan Library (booth #810) will be giving away copies of our favorite Book Club picks!

LibraryReads Debut Author panel with Angie Kim (MIRACLE CREEK)
Sat 1/26 | 3:00-4:00 PM
Washington State Convention Center, Room 3A
Add to your schedule.

Cocktails + Book Buzz*
We’ll be talking books, you’ll be buzzing with excitement…
Sat 1/26 | 5:00-6:00 PM
Sheraton Seattle, Cirrus Ballroom
RSVPs closed.
Add to your schedule.

Sunday, January 27:

In-booth signing with Catriona McPherson (GO TO MY GRAVE)
Sun 1/27 | 10:30-11:30 AM
Macmillan Library booth #810

UFL Gala Author Tea* with Wayétu Moore (SHE WOULD BE KING)
Sun 1/27 | 2:00-4:00 PM
Grand Hyatt Seattle, Leonesa Ballroom
*TICKETS REQUIRED.
Advance tickets $60 ($55 United for Libraries division members); onsite tickets $65 (if available) Event code: UNI1
Add to your schedule.

Monday, January 28:

LibraryReads Booktalk Author Breakfast* with Rachel Howzell Hall (THEY ALL FALL DOWN) and Yangsze Choo (THE NIGHT TIGER)
Mon 1/28 | 8:00-9:30 AM
Sheraton Seattle, Cirrus Ballroom
*RSVP REQUIRED by 1/7/19.
Add to your schedule.

**Events as of 1/3/19. Check back regularly for updates. #meow

For Your Consideration: March 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite March 2019 titles for the March 2019 LibraryReads list!  

*Votes due February 1!

REDEMPTION POINT by Candice Fox

“Wrongly accused of abducting Claire Bingley, former police detective Ted Conkaffey is protecting himself from Claire’s murderous father by hiding out in a remote town in the Australian rain forest and trying to find the real culprit. Meanwhile, the detective inspector investigating the killing of two bartenders at the local Barking Frog Inn is a homicide first timer. Enter tattooed-to-the-hilt Amanda Pharrell, a private detective who’s done time for murder and who joins with Ted to discover who’s responsible for all the blood. Just the way Ned Kelly Award–winning Fox joins forces with James Patterson now and again.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

MAKE ME A CITY by Jonathan Carr

“The rise of Chicago in the 19th century provides the frame for a trove of colorful stories and characters in this entertaining debut novel…Carr has a sure touch, and in many extended anecdotes, his narrative skills show exceptional detail, pacing, and tension. A solid storyteller enlivens a rich patch of American history.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

#ThrillerThursday Excerpt from THE VANISHING MAN

Charles Finch has long captivated readers with his gentleman sleuth Charles Lenox series

Now in THE VANISHING MAN–the second in a prequel trilogy following THE WOMAN IN THE WATER–a young Charles Lenox is caught up in the case of a missing painting–a mystery with deeper secrets and wider consequences than he realized.

Read an exclusive excerpt from THE VANISHING MAN here!

Advance praise for THE VANISHING MAN:
“Fans of the series, which set the earlier Lenox novels in the 1860s, will know what’s coming in the detective’s personal and professional life, but that in no way decreases the pleasure of this account of his earlier life. Finch’s nimble prose, edged with humor, makes this twelfth in the Charles Lenox series a pure delight.”Booklist, starred review

#LibFaves18 = Your Favorite Books of 2018

This week, librarians everywhere were tweeting their favorite 2018 reads via the hashtag #libfaves18. Here are the Macmillan titles that received the most library love!

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 

readmoreremove

css.php