Happy #BookBday (11/1/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (11/1/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! INVISIBLE PLANETS: Contemporary Chinese Science Fiction in Translation by Ken Liu Two starred reviews! “This stellar anthology of 13 stories selected and translated by Liu brings the best of Chinese science fiction to anglophones. Although greatly varied in theme and approach, all of these stories impress with […]

Read More…

Fall 2016 & Winter 2017 Sci-Fi Preview

Fall 2016 & Winter 2017 Sci-Fi Preview

We loved seeing Booklist‘s Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror picks and are excited for Tor.com’s Fall 2016 season. Here’s even MORE sci-fi and fantasy we’re looking forward to this fall and in Winter 2017, plus a special video for all you lovely librarians from Leanna Renee Hieber, author of ETERNA & OMEGA (available now). SPELLBREAKER by Blake Charlton – […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (3/4/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (3/4/14 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we're celebrating:

SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler
Butler's debut novel about the relationship between four friends in a small Midwest town is the #1 March Indie Next pick, and is receiving rave reviews from Kirkus, Booklist, Shelf Awareness, and more. Don't miss the chance to meet him at PLA next week!

NOTES FROM THE INTERNET APOCALYPSE by Wayne Gladstone
Perfect for fans of David Wong, Chad Kultgen, and Chuck Palahniuk, Cracked.com columnist Wayne Gladstone’s novel about what happens when the world suddenly loses all Internet access is a hilarious look at life unplugged. “...the punchlines are pitch-perfect. Anyone who spends time sharing jokes in web communities will find this satire irresistible.” — Booklist

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR by Jeffrey Archer
The fourth volume in Jeffrey Archer's New York Times bestselling Clifton Chronicles series opens with Harry Clifton and his wife Emma rushing to learn the fate of their son Sebastian, who has been in a fatal car accident. But who died, Sebastian or his best friend? “Archer’s...tight plotting make for a page-turning rich man’s soap opera. Lightweight, entertaining beach reading.” — Kirkus Reviews

WORDS OF RADIANCE by Brandon Sanderson
“Sanderson’s skill at world building is unmatched, and in the 'Stormlight Archive' series he has developed an innovative magical system and combined it with rich, complex characters to create a compelling story. His eagerly awaited sequel to THE WAY OF KINGS exceeds expectations. This developing epic series is a must-read for all fantasy fans.” – Library Journal, starred review

[...]

Read More...

Happy New Year 2014!

Happy New Year 2014!

new years kittensHappy New Year! We hope your holidays were wonderful. We're rested, rejuvenated and ready for all that 2014 will bring!

Want to know what our New Year's Resolution is? It's for all the librarians we know to participate in LibraryReads!

Do you love to read? Do people often ask you what book they should read next? Are you a public librarian? If you answered yes to all of these, then my friend, you are ready for LibraryReads.

LibraryReads logoWhat is this magical LibraryReads thing we speak of? It's a monthly list of the Top Ten newly released must-read books, voted on by librarians like you! By harnessing the value of "library staff picks" into a single nation-wide discovery tool, you can help connect books to as many readers as possible.

If you're ready to start, nominations are now being accepted for books publishing in March 2013 (due February 1). Here are some titles we recommend:

SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler
TEMPTING FATE by Jane Green
PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
THE HAVEN by Carol Lynch Williams
THE CAIRO AFFAIR by Olen Steinhauer
DECODED by Mai Jia 
NOTORIOUS by Allison Brennan 
THE REVENANT OF THRAXTON HALL by Vaughn Entwistle
THE MIDNIGHT WITCH by Paula Brackston
THE OTHER HALF by Sarah Rayner 
ALWAYS UNIQUE by Nikki Turner 
QUEEN ELIZABETH'S DAUGHTER by Anne Clinard Barnhill 
CODE ZERO by Jonathan Maberry
I REMEMBER YOU by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
NOTES FROM THE INTERNET APOCALPYSE by Wayne Gladstone
PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva

To vote, you must be an Edelweiss user and registered as a public librarian. If so, then you’re all set! To recommend a title, find the book page while logged into Edelweiss and click on “Your Review.” You will see the check the “Submit to LibraryReads” box on the bottom right of that box; click on it when saving your review to nominate that title.

If you are already an Edelweiss user, and logged in, but don’t see the option to “Submit to LibraryReads” when you click on “Your Review,” you may be in an Edelweiss organization that is not classified as a public library. In this case, please email support@abovethetreeline.com for help.
If you are not an Edelweiss user, please register for Edelweiss using the Organization Type “Library – Public” to join the LibraryReads community. 

Read in any format you like–paper or digital–but please submit all your reviews electronically, via Edelweiss.

Speaking of Edelweiss, did you know you can get whitelisted* for access to Macmillan e-galleys? It's true! Here's how to get pre-approved:

1. Register for Edelweiss with your library-issued e-mail address.
2. Send Anne an email that includes the e-mail address you registered with, your full name, and your current library (subject: Edelweiss).
3. Wait for Anne to send you a confirmation message, then download to your heart's delight and nominate titles you love for LibraryReads

*Whitelisting is only available to librarians currently employed in the U.S. 

For more on Edelweiss, including reading recommendations, click here. Want to know even more about LibraryReads? Check out our FAQ for nomination deadlines, guidelines for writing reviews, details on how each list gets decided, and FREE marketing materials for your library. Happy reading and happy nominating!

[...]

Read More...

css.php