ALA Annual 2020 Alterna-Booth

Welcome, one and all, to our ALA Annual 2020 Alterna-Booth! In lieu of our usual confetti, music, and various shenanigans, we’re bringing you the best that virtual conferences have to offer, including SO MANY title presentations and special author guests! Scroll on, friends; magic and goodies await! ALA Virtual Book Buzz #MacLibFromHome Single-Title Buzzes Book […]

Read More…

Day’s YA: Black YA Authors

This edition of Day’s YA highlights YA and YA-OK books by Black authors Note: This list is not exhaustive, but is meant to be a jumping off point. Please support these (and all) Black authors in any way you can, now and always. YA: ALL BOYS AREN’T BLUE by George M Johnson BLACK GIRL UNLIMITED […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

Booklist and School Library Journal have deemed these adult books to be perfect for teens . . . and we agree! HOTBOX: Inside Catering, the Food World’s Riskiest Business by Matt Lee and Ted LeeThe beloved Lee Brothers take on the competitive and wild world of high-end catering, exposing the secrets of the food business […]

Read More…

Booklist Recommends: On Diversity and Immigration

Keep your patrons in the know with these two Booklist best of lists on diversity and immigration: Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill “With a lyricism that sings, swings, and stings, poet and writer Hill […]

Read More…

2019 NAACP Image Award Winners

2019 NAACP Image Award Winners

The 2019 NAACP Image Award winners have been announced, and we’d like to wish a huge congratulations to FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS by Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, and Minyon Moore with Veronica Chambers on winning the Outstanding Literary Work–Nonfiction category. FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS is filled with […]

Read More…

Shelfie with Veronica Chambers

Shelfie with Veronica Chambers

We recently challenged author Veronica Chambers (QUEEN BEY and THE MEANING OF MICHELLE among many others) to a shelfie. Would she dare to show us (and thousands of our librarian pals) her favorite shelf in her personal library? What truths might it reveal about her as a reader and as a person? Well, we’re pleased […]

Read More…

Women’s History Month 2019

Women’s History Month 2019

March is Women’s History Month, and today we celebrate their powerful voices with these fierce reads: PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser DIVIDED WE STAND: The Battle Over Women’s Rights and Family Values That Polarized American Politics by Marjorie Spruill A WARRIOR OF THE PEOPLE: How Susan La Flesche […]

Read More…

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books: A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color […]

Read More…

Happy #pubday + #ewgc Recs (10/2/18)

Happy #pubday + #ewgc Recs (10/2/18)

It’s Tuesday on Planet Publishing which means we’re celebrating new releases. Happy #pubday to a two-time LibraryReads author, a music legend, political freedom fighters, and a certain someone who shares her name with Kylie Jenner’s daughter! FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS by Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, Minyon Moore with Veronica Chambers […]

Read More…

css.php