Thriller Thursday (11/3/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (11/3/16 Edition)

Fall weather is here! Curl up on the couch with a hot drink and one of these excellent mysteries & thrillers: INHERIT THE BONES by Emily Littlejohn A Library Journal Fall/Winter Debut Novel Pick! In librarian Emily Littlejohn’s accomplished and poignant debut, police officer Gemma Monroe identifies a murdered clown in a visiting circus as […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (7/7/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (7/7/16 Edition)

Two cops, the ghost of Typhoid Mary and a tragically murdered Amish woman are in today’s #ThrillerThursday lineup: LET THE DEVIL OUT by Bill Loehfelm A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick! “Not only has Loehfelm created the most compelling, complex patrol cop in the genre—part take-no-prisoners badass, part too-sensitive-for-the street rookie—he has also reenergized […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Stuck at home on a snow day (or wishing you were)? Macmillan’s got the mysteries to give you more chills than that foot of powder outside! THE EDGE OF DREAMS by Rhys Bowen A near-fatal train accident leaves Molly Murphy sleuthing from the sidelines while her police captain husband has been receiving cryptic notes after […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (Stars Edition)

Thriller Thursday (Stars Edition)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday picks are superSTARS! THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny Penny’s highly anticipated tenth Chief Inspector Gamache novel is here! Booklist and Library Journal loved it with the latter warning, “The heartbreaking conclusion will leave series readers blinking back tears.” Keep an eye out for upcoming major media for THE LONG WAY HOME, […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

[...]

Read More...

Library Journal is Enamored With Our Mystery Debuts

Library Journal is Enamored With Our Mystery Debuts

For four months running, Library Journal has been having a bit of a love affair with our mystery debuts. Every Mystery Debut of the Month from July through October has been a superb Minotaur title:

July's Debut of the Month:
WHERE THE SHADOWS LIE
Michael Ridpath

"This highly atmospheric and addictive thriller brings in elements that will entice both crime fiction and fantasy readers." -Library Journal (starred review)

August's Debut of the Month:
WICKED AUTUMN
G. M. Malliet

"Yes, this is a true homage to Agatha Christie, but Malliet, like Louise Penny, brings a contemporary freshness to the traditional mystery." -Library Journal (starred review)

September's Debut of the Month:
OR THE BULL KILLS YOU
Jason Webster

"With its rapid pace and wonderfully flawed detective, this vibrant novel has tremendous appeal." -Library Journal (starred review)

October's Debut of the Month:
THE TERRITORY
Tricia Fields

"Buckle your seatbelts for an off-road trip full of adrenaline." -Library Journal (starred review)

Excellent picks, Library Journal.

[...]

Read More...

Southern Debuts with Spirit and Stars

Southern Debuts with Spirit and Stars

 

Reviewers and librarians have been giving a lot of pre-pub love to RANCHERO, a gem of a debut that'll have you bombing around the Missippi Delta. Now we're starting to see some love for another action-packed, southern-style debut, THE TERRITORY by Tricia Fields.

When a remote corner of Western Texas becomes a hot spot for Mexican drug runners, many of the locals would rather take the law into their own hands than get help from police chief Josie Gray. 

After arresting one of the cartel's hit men and killing another, Josie finds her life at risk for a job that many people would rather see her quit. And when the town's self-appointed protector of the Second Amendment is murdered, it's clear that she doesn't have to pick sides in this war. She's battling them both. 

Set in a desert landscape as beautiful as it is dangerous, THE TERRITORY captures the current border issues from the eyes of a tough, compelling heroine and richly evokes the American Southwest. 

"Fields’s rich plotting, nonstop action, and deft characterizations show the personal side of the larger issue of drug cartels on both sides of the border." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

[...]

Read More...

css.php