2017 Holiday Giveaway

2017 Holiday Giveaway

The holidays are here! Books make great gifts and while we know you’re all professional recommenders, the book suggestions in our Holiday Gift Guide may be helpful to you. In the spirit of the season, we’re giving away big bundles of these holiday books to THREE lucky librarians! To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (11/16/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (11/16/17 Edition)

These lady detectives always close the case! THE GHOST OF CHRISTMAS PAST by Rhys Bowen When semi-retired private detective Molly Murphy Sullivan and her husband, Daniel, are invited for Christmas at a mansion on the Hudson, the last thing they expect is to get involved in a decade-old missing persons case. “For series and historical […]

Read More…

RT Book Reviews 2015 Reviewer’s Choice Award Winners

RT Book Reviews 2015 Reviewer’s Choice Award Winners

Romantic Times Book Reviews honored two Macmillan authors with career achievement awards and three titles won 2015 RT Reviewer’s Choice Awards! Career Achievement – Historical Mystery Rhys Bowen (Molly Murphy series) Career Achievement – Young Adult R.L. Stine (Fear Street series) Best Historical Mystery JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN by Elsa Hart Best First Mystery THE UNQUIET […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/3/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/3/16 Edition)

An incredible true crime story, a psychological thriller and two new entries in bestselling series are on the docket this #ThrillerThursday: MURDER OVER A GIRL: Justice, Gender, Junior High by Ken Corbett A psychologist’s gripping, troubling, and moving exploration of the brutal murder of a possibly transgender middle school student by an eighth grade classmate. […]

Read More…

Booklist’s Best Crime 2015

Booklist’s Best Crime 2015

  May is Mystery Month over at Booklist and to celebrate they’ve put together “Best of” reading lists with loads of Macmillan titles! Plus, Booklist Reader has a special feature on one of our favorite mystery authors… The Year’s Best Crime Novels: 2015 THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny With her beloved series hero, […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/5/15 Edition)

Stuck at home on a snow day (or wishing you were)? Macmillan’s got the mysteries to give you more chills than that foot of powder outside! THE EDGE OF DREAMS by Rhys Bowen A near-fatal train accident leaves Molly Murphy sleuthing from the sidelines while her police captain husband has been receiving cryptic notes after […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

[...]

Read More...

css.php