Thriller Thursday (6/8/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (6/8/17 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! First, big congrats to our nominees on the 2017 CWA Dagger longlists: The CWA Gold Dagger THE DRY by Jane Harper The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger MOSKVA by Jack Grimwood THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart The John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger WHAT YOU DON’T KNOW by JoAnn […]

Read More…

BEEKEEPER’S APPRENTICE Common Core Guide

BEEKEEPER’S APPRENTICE Common Core Guide

Great news! Laurie R. King has created a free Common Core Guide for THE BEEKEEPER’S APPRENTICE to share with you (and your students and patrons)! The guide includes guided comprehension & discussion questions, vocabulary lists & worksheets, supplemental research materials, even chapter quizzes & tests, all in a ready-to-print format. (Yes, with a separate teachers’ […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (5/27/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (5/27/14 Edition)

Salutations and fine Book Day o'Birth to three historical novels: 

DARK AEMILIA by Sally O'Reilly
Perfect for readers of Deborah Harkness, Paula Brackston, and Sarah Dunant, O'Reilly's 17th century tale of William Shakespeare's dark lady and one true love is full of sorcery and passion. “O’Reilly casts her story with witches, doomed royals, evil courtiers, and star-crossed lovers, as if it were a Jacobean play. But her finest accomplishment is not the tribute she pays to these historical figures, but the bold imagination she displays in bringing them together.” — Publishers Weekly

THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE: or, On the Segregation of the Queen by Laurie King
Full of brilliant deduction, disguises, and danger, this 20th anniversary edition of the first book of the Mary Russell–Sherlock Holmes mysteries is “wonderfully original and entertaining...absorbing from beginning to end” (Booklist).

HANNIBAL: Enemy of Rome by Ben Kane
Rome’s greatest enemy is Carthage, and Carthage’s greatest general is Hannibal—this is Hannibal’s story, as his personal quest for revenge after his confidant’s son is sold into slavery, leads to the greatest conflict of the ancient world. 

Now let the festivities commence! (Or in modern parlance, let's have cake!) [...]

Read More...

Laurie R. King giveaway

Laurie R. King giveaway

Laurie R. King loves libraries and is showing it by giving away copies of her Mary Russell books!

“The theme of this year’s American Library Association celebration is Lives change @ your library. So that’s what Team LRK is celebrating as well.  As you must know by now, I love libraries. I use libraries by the cubic meter, by the hundredweight, by the hour.  Using any measure, libraries shaped me and continue to shape my writing.

So this spring, where I am also celebrating my own great good fortune in twenty years of Mary Russell, I’m giving away some of her books.

If you know a library that sponsors book clubs, and can make use of fifteen copies of the same Russell title, send us the library’s name.  We’ll do a drawing every week between now and the publication date for the 20th Anniversary Edition of THE BEEKEEPER'S APPRENTICE, May 27. Show your library you love them, and let me send them some books.

Send your library nomination, to info@laurierking.com with the subject line Libraries.”

For more, check out Laurie's blog. Good luck! [...]

Read More...

css.php