Nonfiction Round-Up (6/10/20)

For today’s nonfiction round-up we have an eclectic examination of migration in the face of climate change, an untold economic story of Russia’s current power system, and a groundbreaking take on medicine and wellness to increase healthspan and lifespan. THE NEXT GREAT MIGRATION: The Beauty and Terror of Life on the Move by Sonia Shah […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (3/18/20)

A thoroughly researched case for abolishing the Electoral College and an intimate story collection of America’s immigrants–both in this nonfiction round-up. LET THE PEOPLE PICK THE PRESIDENT: The Case for Abolishing the Electoral College by Jesse Wegman “Wegman (member, New York Times editorial board) explores arguments for abolishing the Electoral College, therefore enabling the election […]

Read More…

Booklist’s Core Collection: Immigrant and Refugee Writers

Booklist highlights immigrant and refugee writers who have come to the U.S. in their recent Core Collection roundup, including these two Macmillan titles: SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore SHE WOULD BE KING is a spectacular blend of history and magical realism that follows three extraordinary characters: in the West African village of Lai, […]

Read More…

AMERICAN DIRT is an Oprah Book Club Pick!

Amazing news! AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins is Oprah’s Book Club’s next pick! This emotional and powerful story of a mother and son fleeing cartel violence towards America is already a LibraryReads pick, the #1 Indie Next pick for February, and received 4 starred reviews. Said Winfrey “…I have been a news reporter, watched the […]

Read More…

Happy #PubDay and Women 2020 (1/21/20)

It’s #PubDay, and we have some strong women to spotlight: the raw journey of a woman and her son fleeing from Mexico to America + four women across generations living through slavery and racism. AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins A January LibraryReads pick, a February Indie Next List pick, and four starred reviews! “This extraordinary […]

Read More…

Forthcoming #FridayReads: AMERICAN DIRT

Forthcoming #FridayReads: AMERICAN DIRT

Jeanine Cummins’ AMERICAN DIRT has been making major waves in the publishing world for months now, and y’all, seriously, this is THE book of Winter 2020. In the opening scene, a mother and her 8-year-old son are hiding in the bathroom as their entire family is gunned down by the local cartel during a BBQ […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: March 2018 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: March 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the March 2018 LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due January 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines. THE FAMILY NEXT DOOR by Sally Hepworth From the author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP comes a new suburban drama about desperate mothers, secrets among neighbors, […]

Read More…

New Nonfiction – May 2017

New Nonfiction – May 2017

Essays, books about books, and a librarian’s memoir are just some of the new nonfiction books available this week: THE END OF EDDY by Édouard Louis Two starred reviews! The most talked-about European novel since MY STRUGGLE—a sexually frank, brutally honest coming-of-age story that captures the violence and desperation of life in a French factory […]

Read More…

#FridayReads From Our Fave Indian Authors

#FridayReads From Our Fave Indian Authors

TGIF! Today’s #FridayReads are by two of our favorite Indian authors: ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: May 2017 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: May 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2017* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines. BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017 with THREE starred reviews! “VanderMeer, author of the acclaimed Southern Reach trilogy, has made a […]

Read More…

css.php