Happy #PubDay and Women 2020 (1/21/20)

It’s #PubDay, and we have some strong women to spotlight: the raw journey of a woman and her son fleeing from Mexico to America + four women across generations living through slavery and racism.

AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins

A January LibraryReads pick, a February Indie Next List pick, and four starred reviews!

“This extraordinary novel about unbreakable determination will move the reader to the core.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Intensely suspenseful and deeply humane, this novel makes migrants seeking to cross the southern U.S. border indelibly individual.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“AMERICAN DIRT may be the don’t-miss book of 2020.”–Booklist, starred review

“Here, it’s the journey rather than the arrival on American dirt that counts, and readers will wonder whether they could ever have survived such a trek even as they realize that this could happen to them. An important book.”–Library Journal, starred review

REMEMBRANCE by Rita Woods

“This book deserves to be a breakout hit. Woods’s magical realist take on the black female experience will have huge appeal to readers of Marlon James and Tara Conklin.”–Library Journal, starred review

Interested in more books with refugee stories and strong main characters? Check out these forthcoming readalikes!

SOMEWHERE IN THE UNKNOWN WORLD: A Collective Refugee Memoir by Kao Kalia Yang

A collection of refugee stories from around the world, showing the voices of unique experiences.

LIKE FLIES FROM AFAR by K. Ferrari

“This amazing mix of crime novel and detective story—think Jim Thompson—is even more of a nightmare—think Kafka—stunning in its power and originality. It should entice foremost crime noir aficionados, with potential to break out to a wider audience.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Those looking for a finely honed, pitch-black crime novel will be rewarded. With any luck, the author will soon be able to give up his day job.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.