Thriller Thursday (10/24/19)

Thriller Thursday (10/24/19)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday asks if we can ever really know the people around us with a page-turning tale of suspense set in a haunted town. STRANGERS AT THE GATE by Catriona McPherson “Narrator Finn is a pragmatic but quirky delight who will turn most folks’ ideas of what a church deacon should be upside down, and […]

Read More…

See You @ ALA Midwinter 2019 (Macmillan Library booth #810)

See You @ ALA Midwinter 2019 (Macmillan Library booth #810)

Only a couple weeks left until ALA Midwinter! Make sure to come by our booth #810 and some of our many events to meet our great authors! Daily doings: Friday, January 25: Opening Session with Melinda Gates (THE MOMENT OF LIFT)Fri 1/25 | 4:00-5:15 PMWashington State Convention Center Ballroom 6A-BAdd to your schedule. In-booth signing […]

Read More…

ALA Midwinter 2019 (Macmillan Library booth #810)

Coffee, rain, glass-blowing, and grunge… Can Seattle really be summed up that easily? Well… We can’t wait to find out in January during ALA Midwinter! Daily doings: Friday, January 25: Opening Session with Melinda Gates (THE MOMENT OF LIFT) Fri 1/25 | 4:00-5:15 PM Washington State Convention Center Ballroom 6A-B Add to your schedule. In-booth […]

Read More…

#thrillerthursday (10/25/18)

#thrillerthursday (10/25/18)

A royal death in Victorian London, a weird B&B on a Galloway beach, and an attack on a medical clinic in Guyana… Grab your passport (and time machine) and let’s fly into #thrillerthursday! GO TO MY GRAVE by Catriona McPherson 2 starred reviews! “Agatha Award-winning McPherson’s deliciously gothic country house mystery with a contemporary twist […]

Read More…

August 2018 All-Stars

August 2018 All-Stars

We’re seeing stars for these forthcoming mysteries & nonfiction science titles! THE DARKNESS by Ragnar Jónasson “A complex, fascinating mix of Icelandic community and alienation, atmospheric tension, and timely issues (immigrant exploitation and vigilante justice), Jónasson’s latest series is another must-read for crime fans who follow the work of Arnaldur Indridason and Yrsa Sigurdardóttir.” — […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (4/19/18 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (4/19/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! First, some nice news: the Albany Public Library Foundation has named Frankie Y. Bailey (THE RED QUEEN DIES; WHAT THE FLY SAW) a 2018 Literary Legends honoree. A gala honoring Bailey and others will take place on Saturday, October 20, 2018 at the Albany Public Library’s historic Howe Branch. Don’t forget to […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: April 2018 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: April 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the April 2018 LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due February 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines. AFTER ANNA by Lisa Scottoline Anna is a drop-dead gorgeous sixteen-year-old with a secret dark side and when she turns up dead, all fingers point to her stepfather. […]

Read More…

2016 Agatha & Lefty Award Winners

2016 Agatha & Lefty Award Winners

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! First, congrats to our MWA Grand Masters Ellen Hart (FEVER IN THE DARK/The Jane Lawless Mysteries, Minotaur Books) and Max Allan Collins (BETTER DEAD, Forge Books), who were officially announced as part of the 2017 Edgar Award winners! Congratulations to our 2016 Agatha Award winners Best Contemporary Novel: A GREAT RECKONING by Louise […]

Read More…

Mystery Awards News & a Cozy Sampler!

Mystery Awards News & a Cozy Sampler!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians. We have SO MUCH great mystery awards news for you, with our nominees for the 2017 Edgar Awards, the 2016 Agatha Awards, and the 2017 Left Coast Crime “Lefty” Awards, plus a special CWA Diamond Dagger honoree! 2017 Edgar Award nominees (full list) — honoring the best in mystery Best Fact […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Three new adventures in continuing mystery series are our #ThrillerThursday picks: THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson Perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie, this next book in the Dandy Gilver series is set in a seaside fishing town. “This is a grand mystery, full of fishy motives, […]

Read More…

css.php