Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Three new adventures in continuing mystery series are our #ThrillerThursday picks: THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson Perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie, this next book in the Dandy Gilver series is set in a seaside fishing town. “This is a grand mystery, full of fishy motives, […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday & Bouchercon 2015 Winners

Thriller Thursday & Bouchercon 2015 Winners

Happy #ThrillerThursday! We’ve got several starred mysteries out this week, but first a #humblebrag on behalf of our Minotaur Books pals. Last weekend during Bouchercon, INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl was the breakout hit, nabbing a Barry AND Macavity Award! The Barry Award Best First Novel: INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl The Macavity Awards Best First Mystery […]

Read More…

#ThrillerThursday (11/20/14 edition)

#ThrillerThursday (11/20/14 edition)

It’s #thrillerthursday and we’re reading: Betrayed by Lisa Scottoline “Scottoline writes terrific legal fiction with warm, smart characters and lots of humor and heart. Her legion of fans will be happy with this one, and it should find her new readers as well.”–Booklist A Deadly Measure of Brimstone by Catriona McPherson “Fans of the period […]

Read More…

Thriller Tuesday (whaa?!) & Mystery Award nominations

Thriller Tuesday (whaa?!) & Mystery Award nominations

We know it’s not Thursday, but we didn’t want you to miss out on all this great mystery news while we’re away in Las Vegas setting up for ALA Annual. But first, awards news! The 2014 Shamus Award finalists and Macavity Award nominations have been announced and we have several outstanding Minotaur books in the […]

Read More…

Critters & Crime…

Critters & Crime…

To continue our celebration of Booklist's Mystery Month, meet the many cats and dogs dutifully serving alongside our favorite detectives! 

Booklist crime & critters ad 

Team #Meow

THE CAT SITTER'S NINE LIVES by Blaize & John Clement
Pet-sitter and amateur sleuth Dixie Hemingway is back in this ninth installment of Blaize Clement's beloved cozy mystery series, now written by her son John. Dixie rescues a man from a car accident, and a day later strange things start to happen—the man she rescued claims to be Dixie's husband, a bookstore owner and his cat vanish, and a mysterious phone call from a new client lures her to a crumbling, abandoned mansion on the outskirts of town.

BLOOD RUBIES by Jane Cleland
In the ninth book in Cleland's mystery series featuring amateur sleuth/antiques appraiser Josie Prescott, celebrity chef Ana Yartsin—known for her Fabergé egg-shaped cakes, as well as the Fabergé Spring Egg snow globe—is planning the desserts for her friend Heather and Jason's upcoming wedding. When Josie arrives to appraise the snow globe, she finds it smashed and Jason dead.
Meet Jane Cleland at ALA Annual!

DOING IT AT THE DIXIE DEW by Ruth Moose
Winner of the Malice Domestic Competition for Best First Traditional Mystery Novel, Moose's Southern cozy features Beth McKenzie, a proprietor of a bed and breakfast called The Dixie Dew, where guests are being murdered.

THE BEST CAT BOOK EVER! by Kate Funk
OK, OK, it's not a mystery…. But it’s hilarious. 

[...]

Read More...

Thriller Thursday (3/27/14 Edition) plus Left Coast Crime Award winners!

Thriller Thursday (3/27/14 Edition) plus Left Coast Crime Award winners!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! We've got a creepy new crop of mysteries, plus Left Coast Crime Award Winners! Read on for more:

THE COAL BLACK ASPHALT TOMB by David Handler
Romantic crime-fighting duo Mitch Berger and Desiree Mitry must go up against the town's aristocracy to solve the forty-year-old murder of a missing Navy flyer, found during overdue construction on a quaint New England road. "The affable Burger mines town gossip, and Mitry digs into some sordid town history en route to the satisfying resolution of the murder case." — Publishers Weekly

I REMEMBER YOU by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
"Sigurdardottir has written an excellent and seriously scary mystery with tangible and supernatural elements that will appeal to fans of John Ajvide Lindqvist (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN)." Library Journal, starred review.
We loved this one (and some of you did, too!).

THE REVENANT OF THRAXTON HALL by Vaughn Entwistle
In Entwistle's debut, Arthur Conan Doyle and Oscar Wilde team up to investigate the future death of a medium at a manor in the English countryside. "Entwistle assembles an intriguing cast, including a levitator whose acts go awry, an enigmatic foreign count, and a Russian mystic who warns of dangerous revenants (returning spirits), for his whimsical plot." — Publishers Weekly

NOTORIOUS by Allison Brennan
In this start of a new series, bestselling author Brennan introduces tough-as-nails TV reporter Max Revere, who's got a knack for solving cold cases–except for the one from her own past. "[A] terrific new series. Sandra Brown and Hank Phillippi Ryan fans will feel right at home." – Booklist, starred review

WITHOUT WARNING by David Rosenfelt
When a small town in Maine is devastated by a hurricane, it unearths a time capsule that includes predictions about past murders...and future ones to come. "Descriptions of Rosenfelt’s latest stand-alone: Spooky. Creepy. Edgy. Chilling. Shuddery. What more could anyone want? The novel steps into Michael Connelly ground... highly recommended for readers craving that elusive 'something different.'” — Booklist  

 

The Left Coast Crime Awards were recently announced and we're thrilled to have three winners from Minotaur Books:

The Lefty: Best humorous mystery novel
THE GOOD COP by Brad Parks 

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award: Best historical mystery novel covering events before 1960
DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSES by Catriona McPherson

The Calamari: Best mystery set anywhere else in the world
HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN by Louise Penny


Click here
to see the full list of nominees and winners. Congratulations to all winners! 

[...]

Read More...

Monday Fun Day! (5/6/2013 Edition)

Monday Fun Day! (5/6/2013 Edition)

Hellooooo Monday! It's yet another brand new week and we're inching ever closer to summer skies. To kick off your week right we rounded up a few exciting viewables; take a look.

- Watch Louise Penny accept the 2013 Agatha Award for Best Novel (yet again!) this time for THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY and Catriona McPherson accept the 2013 Agatha Award for Best Historical for DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR MURDER:

LP accepting

CM accepting

Louise kindly thanked her editor Hope Dellon, her publicist Sarah Melnyk, and publisher Andrew Martin. In describing her books she said, 

"At the heart of the nugget they're about belonging, they're about my own personal quest for belonging, that for all of my life I've felt—for much of my life I've felt like I was on an island near the mainland [...] for me to find my community is deeply meaningful and what great company to be in."

Catriona also thanked all of the excellent people at Minotaur Books, her editor Marcia Markland, her fellow Macmillan author and winner of the Mary Higgins Clark Award Hank Fabulous Ryan, er, Hank Phillippi Ryan and everyone in the Flatiron building (that's us!). 

We loved getting the chance to talk about these two incredible books and if you didn't heed our praises when they came out, now's the time!

See all of the Agatha winners at MaliceDomestic.org

- Speaking of Mysteries, if you missed the "Thrilling Mysteries" Booklist webinar you can now access the archived webinar (the link is available on our titles list post). 

- And finally, the greatest mystery of all: what exactly is this cat trying to pull? (Thanks, Ivy!)

 

 

[...]

Read More...

Monday Fun Day! (3/25/2013 Edition)

Monday Fun Day! (3/25/2013 Edition)

Happy new week, librarians!

- Congratulations to Brad Parks, author of THE GIRL NEXT DOOR which won the 2013 Lefty Award for the best humorous mystery! AND congratulations to Catrona McPherson, author of DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR MURDER which won the 2013 Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award! Both of these honors were awarded at the Left Coast Crime convention in Colorado Springs. See all of the 2013 Crime Fiction Award-winners

- Graywolf Press, one of our excellent distribution clients, has a gorgeous new website: GraywolfPress.org. I'll admit that I miss the trio of wolves that used to walk on screen in the upper right hand corner, but I'm sure they've been released into the digital wilds to roam free.

Uncharted Pages is now updated with another season's worth of fantastic books featuring totally rad preternatural stuff. Find out more about the books and the giveaways here

- We posted our schedule for the Texas Library Association Annual Conference! Please join us in the booth (#1137) and at all of our fine events.

- If you missed Library Journal's "Editors' Picks" webinar, find out which four summer titles our editors were raving about here. UPDATE: You can now watch the full archived webinar! (Macmillan titles begin at the 18 minute mark.) 

- And finally, this puppy:

 

 

[...]

Read More...

Monday Fun Day! (2/11/2013 Edition)

Monday Fun Day! (2/11/2013 Edition)

Happy Monday, librarians!

Apologies for the unexpected radio silence after Wednesday of last week; I fell victim to the seasonal cold monster. I've triumphantly defeated the beast and returned only slightly sniffly to kick off the week with some great news.

- Continuing the exciting award nomination news from last week, we got the list of Macmillan books nominated for the 2012 Agatha Awards:

Nominated for the Agatha Award for Best Novel of 2012:

THE BEAUTIFUL MYSTERY
by Louise Penny

A FATAL WINTER
by G.M. Malliet

THE OTHER WOMAN
by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Nominated for the Agatha Award for Best Historical Novel of 2012:

DANDY GILVER AND AN UNSUITABLE DAY FOR A MURDER
by Catriona McPherson

Winners will be announced at the 2012 Agatha Awards banquet on May 4th, 2013, during Malice Domestic 25. See the full list of Agatha nominees here.

- A delightful review of THE MARLOW PAPERS is currently traveling all across the U.S. in American Airline's American Way magazine!

"With the screw-tightening verve of a great thriller and the romantic pull of Renaissance poetry, the novel—which purports that Marlowe is the true author of William Shakespeare’s legendary oeuvre—is a gripping, lyrical, most unlikely page-turner."

Read the super quick review here.

- Flavorwire suckered us in with another one of their bookish listicles, "The Best Fictional Libraries in Pop Culture." 

- And finally, a couple of snuggly red pandas romping around in the snow!!

red pandas video

[...]

Read More...

Catriona McPherson Wins a Macavity Award!

Catriona McPherson Wins a Macavity Award!

DANDY GILVER AND THE PROPER TREATMENT OF BLOODSTAINS—a book with an awesome title, a delightful cover, and a great upstairs-meets-downstairs plot that's just to die for—took home the Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery Macavity Award from Bouchercon last weekend! 

This is the first novel in a historical series (obviously!) that takes place in Edinburgh in the 1920s. Dandy Gilver is a wealthy and witty aristocrat and sometimes amateur sleuth who goes undercover as a lady maid to investigate the threatening reappearance of her friend's ex-husband.

Congratulations, Catriona! See all of the Macavity Award winners here.

[...]

Read More...

css.php