A Scottoline For Every Season

A Scottoline For Every Season

Friends, it’s no secret we’ve got a huge lady-crush on Lisa Scottoline. She’s HILARIOUS, generous, incredibly down-to-earth, and a phenomenally talented, prolific writer. Fortunately for us readers and rabid fans, there’s a Scottoline for every season! (And free galleys of her newest Rosato & DiNunzio book, CORRUPTED!) Every Winter, Lisa explores the complex themes of […]

Read More…

We heart Lisa Scottoline!

We heart Lisa Scottoline!

If you’ve been lucky enough to meet her, you know why we love Lisa Scottoline. She’s HILARIOUS, yet incredibly down-to-earth, a super talented writer, and very outspoken about how her books belong to several different genres. Lisa is the cover story of the October 2014 issue of Writer’s Digest (on stands now)! She talks about […]

Read More…

Macmillan Library @ ALA Midwinter 2014 (booth 622)

Macmillan Library @ ALA Midwinter 2014 (booth 622)

ALA Midwinter headerCan you believe it's just two short months until we descend on the City of Brotherly Love for ALA Midwinter 2014?! Please visit us in the booth (#622) and join us for all of our exciting events (all are free unless otherwise noted):

Why I Read jacketIn-booth signing by Wendy Lesser, author of WHY I READ: The Serious Pleasure of Books

Friday, January 24th
5:30-7:00pm
Philadelphia Convention Center | Booth #622

Edelweiss button

E-galley available on Edelweiss

LibraryReads logoLibraryReads: Collaborative Discovery for Librarians & Patrons panel

Saturday, January 25th
11:30am-12:30pm
Philadelphia Convention Center | 114 Lecture Hall

Find out how to share the books you love with readers across the country and enhance your professional profile by participating in LibraryReads, the monthly, nationwide library staff picks list. Free Advance Readers Copies will be provided courtesy of publishers.

  

Adult Literature Spotlight: ARC & Finished Book Giveaway

 

Saturday, January 25th
2:00-4:00pm
Philadelphia Convention Center | Booth #622

Drift jacket
In-booth signing by Jon McGoran, author of DRIFT

Saturday, January 25th
2:00-4:00pm
Philadelphia Convention Center | Booth #622

 

 

 

Radiance of Tomorrow jacket

Arthur Curley Memorial Lecture
by Ishmael Beah

Saturday, January 25th
4:00-5:00pm
Philadelphia Convention Center | Grand Ballroom

Don't miss the opportunity to be inspired and moved by human rights advocate and bestselling author Ishmael Beah whose first book A LONG WAY GONE: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier has been published in over thirty languages and has helped shine an international spotlight on critical issues related to children and war. His new book is RADIANCE OF TOMORROW.

Edelweiss button

E-galley available on Edelweiss

 

 

 

Duck the Halls jacket 
 

Donna Andrews at the Pop Top Mystery Stage

Sunday, January 26th
10:00-11:00am
Philadelphia Convention Center | Pop Top Mystery Stage on the Exhibit Floor off the 400 aisle, Row #30

Donna Andrews is the New York Times bestselling author of the award-winning Meg Langslow mystery series. She will be speaking and signing copies of DUCK THE HALLS.

 

FangirlEleanor & ParkIn-booth signing by Rainbow Rowell, author of  FANGIRL and ELEANOR & PARK

Sunday, January 26th
3:00-5:00pm
Philadelphia Convention Center | Booth #622
While supplies last; limit one book per person 

RUSA Book & Media Awards Ceremony and Reception

Sunday, January 26th
5:00pm to 6:30pm
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel | Liberty Ballroom A

Attend RUSA's Book & Media Awards Ceremony and Reception to find out selections for the Reading List, Notable Books (which help form the long list for the Andrew Carnegie Medals of Excellence for Fiction and Nonfiction) and Listen List, as well as the winners of the Dartmouth Medal for reference, the Sophie Brody Medal for Jewish literature, the Zora Neale Hurston Award for achievement in promoting African-American literature, the Louis Shores Award for book reviewing and many more. If you can't attend, follow @ala_rusa on Twitter for announcements (hashtag #literarytastes).

YALSA's Morris & Nonfiction Award Program & Presentation 

Charm & StrangeMonday, January 27th
10:30am to 12:00 noon
Philadelphia Convention Center | Lecture Hall 103B

Morris Award nominee Stephanie Kuehn (CHARM & STRANGE) will speak at the 2014 Morris Award and YA Nonfiction presentation. Join all award honorees and winners at this ticketed event, where you can also enjoy coffee, tea and danish. After the winners and finalists speak about their honored titles, mingle with the authors and pick up free copies of their books.

Tickets are $19. Details and purchasing information here

 

 

LandlineLibraryReads / AAP Annual BookTalk Breakfast

Monday, January 27th
8:30am to 10:00am
RSVP required, space is limited

Co-hosted by the Association of American Publishers Trade Libraries Committee and Library Journal each year, this annual breakfast will feature several authors including Rainbow Rowell (LANDLINE, FANGIRL, ELEANOR & PARK).

Details and RSVP information here.

Keep Quiet jacketAccused jacketGala Author Tea

Monday, January 27th
2:00-4:00pm
Philadelphia Convention Center | Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, Liberty A-C

Join United for Libraries for this traditional and popular event. Enjoy a light repast of finger sandwiches and tea as several best-selling authors, including Lisa Scottoline, discuss their writing. Author signings follow and most books will be given away for free!

Advance purchase tickets are $55 each ($49 for United for Libraries members). On-site tickets are $55 each while seats are available.

Details and ticket information here

First time at ALA Midwinter? Take a look at these super helpful tips so you can be a pro in no time. See you there! [...]

Read More...

Thriller Thursday (10/24/13 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (10/24/13 Edition)

Our #ThrillerThursday picks are a bit cozier this week (it's getting cold out!), but enjoyable all the same:

ACCUSED by Lisa Scottoline
The ladies from the Rosato & Associates law firm are back! Mary DiNunzio is now a partner(!) and engaged(!!) and has an unexpected new client: thirteen-year-old Allegra Gardner, who believes the man accused of her sister's murder is innocent. "This is a long-awaited, solid entry into a terrific series that should appeal to fans of Sheldon Siegel, Rose Connors, and Steve Martini." — Booklist

Darth Cat

OUTLAW by Mark Sullivan
This high-stakes thriller continues the adventures of former CIA operative and master thief Robin Monarch (after ROGUE), who must rescue the U.S. Secretary of State and foreign ministers from China and India, who have been kidnapped. "Sullivan has created a fine adventure-thriller hero in Monarch, who fits perfectly into the Ludlum or Vince Flynn mode. The action and the surprises are nonstop. Readers will demand the next one in the series, pronto." — Booklist 

NEVER LAUGH AS A HEARSE GOES BY by Elizabeth Duncan
Who can resist a mystery involving libraries?!! Duncan's fifth book in the Penny Brannigan series "is a pleasing update of the 'body in the library' standard. In the time-honored tradition of village cozies, Duncan provides structure, subtle clues, rampant gossip, and a satisfying conclusion." — Library Journal, starred review

DUCK THE HALLS by Donna Andrews
In Meg Langslow's 16th mystery, she's tasked with finding an alternate venue for her church's holiday events while simultaneously finding a killer after a series of escalating pranks leaves another church member dead. "Andrews leavens the action with her trademark humor, including dueling Christmas dinners and an extravagant—and extravagantly funny—live nativity scene." —Publishers Weekly

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib. [...]

Read More...

Friday Reads (Super Spooky Friday the 13th Edition!)

Friday Reads (Super Spooky Friday the 13th Edition!)

It's Friday the 13th! Aaah! Keep calm, and remember the commandments from horror movies:
1) Don't party too hard
2) Don't split up to investigate strange noises, and
3) For Pete's sake, don't just stand there if a killer comes at you. RUN! 

It's only right that today our #FridayReads involve murder and mystery (interestingly enough, both victims in our books die from being stabbed to death): 

[...]

Read More...

css.php