Articles tagged "women’s fiction"

Three Cheers for the February 2020 LibraryReads List!

You voted, they counted, and GOLDEN IN DEATH, OONA OUT OF ORDER, and SAINT X are officially LibraryReads picks for February 2020!

GOLDEN IN DEATH by J. D. Robb

Homicide detective Eve Dallas investigates a murder with a mysterious motive—and a terrifying weapon in this 50th series installment. “Robb shows no sign of losing steam.”–Publishers Weekly

OONA OUT OF ORDER by Margarita Montimore

On her 19th birthday, Oona Lockhart begins jumping to a random year of her life every New Year’s Eve, but just because life may be out of order, doesn’t mean it’s broken. “[A] delightfully freewheeling romp.”–Booklist, starred review

SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin

A haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters never truly given the chance to know one another. “This killer debut is both a thriller with a vivid setting and an insightful study of race, class, and obsession.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Happy #PubDay + Women 2020 (1/7/20)

For today’s #PubDay party, we continue our spotlight on all things female with two women writing very different fiction–dive into a celebration of sisterhood and the strength that women shared on a grueling journey + a new series about loss and taking charge in this modern day.

WESTERING WOMEN by Sandra Dallas

“Dallas (THE BRIDE’S HOUSE) has written an engaging historical fiction about the strength of women in times of adversity. Though the women were all intended to be brides, we see each as much more than her connection to a man—a unique perspective in the 1850s. Purchase where women’s and historical fiction is popular.”–Library Journal

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE SECOND HOME (1/6/20)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Christina Clancy’s debut novel of family, nostalgia, and second chances, THE SECOND HOME.

After a disastrous summer spent at her family summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen-year-old Ann Gordon was left with a secret that changed her life forever, and created a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted brother, Michael.

Now, fifteen years later, her parents have died, leaving Ann and Poppy to decide the fate of the Wellfleet home that’s been in the Gordon family for generations. For Ann, the once-beloved house is tainted with bad memories. Poppy loves the old saltbox, but after years spent chasing waves around the world, she isn’t sure she knows how to stay in one place.

readmoreremove

Christmas Giveaway 2019

Let it snow! Let it snow! Let it snow…books! Cue the lights, hang the mistletoe, and get your tastiest egg nog ready. Here’s your chance to rock around the Christmas tree and win 8 Santa-approved holiday-themed books.

Enter here by Wednesday, December 18 for a chance to win! Winners will be announced on our website and Twitter @MacmillanLib.

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: OONA OUT OF ORDER

A young woman explores family, love, and life as she bounces through time in Margarita Montimore’s OONA OUT OF ORDER.

Our story starts on New Years Eve 1982, which also happens to be the day before Oona Lockhart’s 19th birthday. She has big decisions to make about her future, with a boyfriend who loves her, and her whole life ahead of her. On the stroke of midnight, Oona passes out and wakes up in 2015 in her 51 year old body. Thus begins Oona’s life of jumping forwards and backwards through time to a random different year in her life every New Years Eve, experiencing life out of order. The novel is moving and surprisingly funny as it explores the power of love, the bonds of family, and wonders of life, making it perfect for readers of Chloe Benjamin’s THE IMMORTALISTS, THE TIME TRAVELLER’S WIFE, and THE CLOCKMAKER’S DAUGHTER, and definitely great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for OONA OUT OF ORDER

Download the e-galley from NetGalley, or email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com with the subject line “OONA OUT OF ORDER” to request a download widget.

Happy #PubDay (9/10/19)

Snarky necromancers + the rise of the nobodies + romantic pirate adventures + Bengali folklore + debut horror… welcome to our #PubDay celebration!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

A Library Journal Best Debut of Fall 2019 + September Indie Next pick + FOUR starred reviews!

“This extraordinary opening salvo will leave readers dying to know what happens next.“–Booklist, starred review

“An addictive, genre-bending book that will wow readers with its vibrant energy, endearing cast, and emotional gut-punch of a finale.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Readers will discuss this journey for a long time and be clamoring for the next installment.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Suspenseful and snarky, with surprising emotional depths.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer

“Palmer takes the Gen X vs. millennials story to another level in this fun novel.”–Library Journal

AT DEATH’S DOOR: A Deadman’s Cross Novel by Sherrilyn Kenyon

“The final romantic historical fantasy in Kenyon’s Deadman’s Cross trilogy is an over-the-top adventure.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN = August LibraryReads Picks!

You voted, they counted, and THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE + THE WHISPER MAN are officially LibraryReads picks for August 2019!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

2 starred reviews!

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The follow-up to Center’s breakout hit, HOW TO WALK AWAY (2018), in which Cassie had a brief cameo, has all the hallmarks that made readers fall in love with the previous book: an appealing (if guarded, in this case) heroine, a compelling love story, a tear-jerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center.”–Booklist, starred review

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

A PW Best Book of Summer 2019 + 2 starred reviews!

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Sneak Peek: August 2019 Indie Next List

Congrats to Macmillan’s August 2019 Indie Next Listers!

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center

2 starred reviews!

“Center gives readers a sharp and witty exploration of love and forgiveness that is at once insightful, entertaining, and thoroughly addictive.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The follow-up to Center’s breakout hit, HOW TO WALK AWAY (2018), in which Cassie had a brief cameo, has all the hallmarks that made readers fall in love with the previous book: an appealing (if guarded, in this case) heroine, a compelling love story, a tearjerking twist, and a thoroughly absorbing story. Another winner from Center.”–Booklist, starred review

THE ESCAPE ROOM by Megan Goldin

A July 2019 LibraryReads Pick!

“This novel is pure entertainment… cancel all your plans and call in sick; once you start reading, you’ll be caught in your own escape room–the only key to freedom is turning the last page!”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

For Your Consideration: September 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite September 2019 titles for the September 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due August 1!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A moving, sad, and sometimes disarmingly funny take on migration and the forces that propel us into the world.”–Kirkus Reviews

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr

“Thrilling action, madcap humor, and a larger-than-life cast energize this cleverly plotted take on a traditional mystery. Barr surprises and entertains from start to finish.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Stars and Stars and Stars, Oh My!

Our #WeekendReads are all about these multi-star-earning books!

THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

“With redemption for some and none for others, this thriller will satisfy readers of Thomas Harris and Stephen King.”–Booklist, starred review

“Readers will have a tough time putting down this truly unnerving tale, with its seemingly unexplainable elements and glimpses of broken and dangerous minds.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh

2019 CWA Dagger Award Longlist-er + a Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer!

A knockout legal thriller with a doozy of a twist.”–Booklist, starred review

“This tightly plotted page-turner delivers as both a legal thriller and serial killer investigation.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php