Thriller Thursday (11/14/19)

Thriller Thursday (11/14/19)

A deadly secret document in 1882 London + a homicide detective questioning her past and future = today’s Thriller Thursday! LETHAL PURSUIT: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel by Will Thomas “He weaves in history—London especially comes alive—without it seeming like clumps of a school lesson and gives just enough background so that new readers aren’t […]

Read More…

#ThrillerThursday (11/15/18 Edition)

#ThrillerThursday (11/15/18 Edition)

From the streets of Toyko, to 19th-century London, to Prohibition-Era Vermont, to Provence in the summertime, join us for today’s international edition of #ThrillerThursday! BLOOD IS BLOOD: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel by Will Thomas  A bombing injures private enquiry agent Cyrus Barker, leaving it up to his soon-to-be-married junior partner Thomas Llewelyn to find […]

Read More…

ALA Annual 2018 Adult Book Buzz Titles

ALA Annual 2018 Adult Book Buzz Titles

We hope you enjoyed our Booze + Book Buzz at ALA Annual! For those who were #alaleftbehind, here’s everything we buzzed about: NINE PERFECT STRANGERS* by Liane Moriarty | November 6, 2018 | 9781250069825 KINGDOM OF THE BLIND* by Louise Penny | November 27, 2018 | 9781250066206 FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS* by […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (10/5/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (10/5/17 Edition)

Cosmic horror! Agatha Raisin! Murder in a brewery! Here’s what we’re reading this #ThrillerThursday: WHAT THE HELL DID I JUST READ by David Wong “Wong’s wildly mind-bending third installment (after THIS BOOK IS FULL OF SPIDERS) of the adventures of protagonist David Wong is filled with the humorous horror readers have come to expect. While […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (10/27/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (10/27/16 Edition)

Three detectives across the centuries must solve the case in today’s #ThrillerThursday picks: HELL BAY by Will Thomas When two people are murdered during a secret government conference on a secluded island estate, private enquiry agent Cyrus Barker must find the killer among the guests before it’s too late. “Thomas supplies plenty of suspects and […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday – Anthony Award & CWA Dagger in the Library Nominees

Thriller Thursday – Anthony Award & CWA Dagger in the Library Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday! We’ve got several terrific mysteries, but first here’s the scoop on Anthony Award and CWA Dagger in the Library nominees: The 2015 Anthony Award nominees were announced and they include: Best Novel THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny TRUTH BE TOLD by Hank Phillippi Ryan Best First Novel INVISIBLE CITY by Julia […]

Read More…

ALA Annual – Sunday events

ALA Annual – Sunday events

It’s ah-MAY-zing how much good stuff we’ve got happening today! Come by the Macmillan (adult) booth #528 for signings & giveaways, sign our birthday card and/or write us a special birthday wish, get your badge catified, and attend our many events! Read on for the full scoop: First Author, First Book: Veterans & Rookies 8:30-10:00am […]

Read More…

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

Great news! Tulsa librarian Will Thomas's latest Barker & Llewellyn historical mystery, FATAL ENQUIRY, received a great review in Marilyn Stasio's New York Times Book Review mystery column this past Sunday!

“[A] Classic detective duo…. The best fun in this Big Boys’ Adventure Book is observing [protagonist Cyrus] Barker in action. An autodidact who keeps a French chef in his kitchen and rare penjing trees in his garden, he’s a formidable foe who applies the wits he was born with (and the subversive skills he acquires in Canton) in hand-to-hand combat.” New York Times Book Review (read the full review here)

Additional praise for FATAL ENQUIRY:

“Recommended for historical mysteries enthusiasts, Anglophiles, and Sherlockians. Fans of Alex Grecian, Anthony Horowitz, and Charles Todd should take special note.” Library Journal, starred review

“Readers will relish the appealing characters, clever twists, and colorful vision of late 19th-century London.” — Publishers Weekly

“Well-crafted and immersive, this a great addition to the to-be-read stacks of Thomas’ fans, as well as those of Alex Grecian and Anne Perry’s.” — Booklist

Don't miss Will Thomas at ALA Annual

[...]

Read More...

Books BY Librarians

Books BY Librarians

We love books (duh). And we love librarians (umm, duh!). So that means we double-love these books by librarians (and you should, too):

FATAL ENQUIRY by Will Thomas
Thomas's Barker & Llewellyn series, set in Victoria’s England, have won him a devoted following and his latest has the duo trying to figure out a reluctant ally's real motives. “Recommended for historical mysteries enthusiasts, Anglophiles, and Sherlockians. Fans of Alex Grecian, Anthony Horowitz, and Charles Todd should take special note.” — Library Journal, starred review

Thomas works as a librarian in Tulsa, Oklahoma. 

CRADLE TO GRAVE by Eleanor Kuhns
On sale June 17, 2014
In the “intriguing” (Publishers Weekly) third entry in the late-18th-century historical mystery series, Will Rees is stunned to learn a Shaker friend of his has been accused of kidnapping and murder.

Kuhns is the 2011 winner of the Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel competition. She is currently the Assistant Director at the Goshen Public Library in Orange County, New York.

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

SWAY by Kat Spears
On sale September 16, 2014
In this hilarious and often poignant debut YA, a young man who avoids emotional connection at all costs, is forced to open his heart when he meets the girl of his dreams in this Cyrano De Bergerac story with a modern twist.

Spears works at the Library of Virginia where she organizes author appearances and other literary events.  

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
On sale October 14, 2014
An exquisite seaside resort, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday, and rich 1930s detail lay the setting for this fantastic Golden Age–style debut mystery by young librarian Weaver. “An elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp that will delight fans of Rhys Bowen's Lady Georgie series with its wit, charm, and strong independent heroine. With its dash of romance, Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles.” — New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie

Weaver is the branch manager at Oberlin, the headquarters branch of the Allen Parish Libraries in Louisiana.

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

 

If you're going to ALA Annual, don't miss Will Thomas, Kat Spears, and Ashley Weaver on the “I’m a Librarian! NO! I’m an Author! NO! I’m a Librarian AND an Author” panel!

[...]

Read More...

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2014 (Booth #528)

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2014 (Booth #528)

ALA14 headerVIVA LAS VEGAS! We're ridiculously excited to see your happy little faces in the Macmillan (adult) booth #528 and at all of our great events at ALA Annual next month. Check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP! 
Friday, June 27

In-booth signing with Jane Cleland & Hannah Dennison
5:30-7:00pm
Las Vegas Convention Center | Booth #528

Jane Cleland and Hannah Dennison will be signing complimentary copies of BLOOD RUBIES and MURDER AT HONEYCHURCH HALL.

The Michael L. Printz Program & Reception
8:00-10:00pm
Paris Las Vegas | Versailles Ballroom
Ticketed event, space is limited

Come listen to the 2014 Michael L. Printz honor award-winning authors including Rainbow Rowell (ELEANOR & PARK) as they're interviewed by a panel of teens at this YALSA & Booklist-sponsored event. 

Tickets are $34-40. Details and purchasing information available here.

Saturday, June 28

The AAP’s Book-A-Licious Breakfast
8:30-10:00am
Las Vegas Hotel | Pavilion 10
RSVP required, space is limited

Join New York Times bestselling author Linda Castillo (THE DEAD WILL TELL) for breakfast and book-talk!  

Details and RSVP here.

Edelweiss button E-galley available on Edelweiss

Isn't it Romantic?
8:30-10:00am
Las Vegas Convention Center | Room N263

Meet Deborah Coonts (LUCKY BASTARD) and pick up a complimentary copy of her latest Lucky O'Toole, Las Vegas Adventure novel. 


In-booth signing with Jessica Love and Catherine Linka

9:00-10:00am
Las Vegas Convention Center | Booth #528

Jessica Love and Catherine Linka will be signing complimentary copies of PUSH GIRL and A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS.

Edelweiss button  PUSH GIRL E-galley available on Edelweiss

DRC button - girl called fearless A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS E-galley available on Edelweiss

Speed Dating with Kat Spears and Catherine Linka
10:30-11:30am
Las Vegas Convention Center | Room N112
RSVP required, space is limited

Meet YA authors Kat Spears (SWAY) and Catherine Linka (A GIRL CALLED FEARLESS) and receive complimentary copies of their debut novels!  

Details and RSVP here

Edelweiss button SWAY E-galley available on Edelweiss

 

[...]

Read More...

css.php