Happy Belated #BookBday (1/28/14 Edition)

Happy Belated #BookBday (1/28/14 Edition)

D'oh! We forgot to wish our new books a happy #BookBday on Tuesday! We'll keep the party going with belated best wishes for...

THE LAST ENCHANTMENTS by Charles Finch
Finch's coming-of-age tale about a Yale graduate is getting lots of attention, from People Magazine to USA Today. "In prose that glides effortlessly from scene to scene, Finch captures the fleeting time in people’s lives when their every decision, from career to lover, seems freighted with eternal consequence. Highly recommended for all collections." – Library Journal, starred review

THE QUEEN'S DWARF by Ella March Chase
In this richly imagined novel set in the Stuart court, our unique hero Jeffrey Hudson–who happens to be a dwarf–is tasked with spying on the beautiful but vulnerable queen. "Rich in detail and brimming with intriguing characters, Chase’s novel will please fans of historical fiction..." – Kirkus Reviews

A DARKLING SEA by James Cambias
This debut science fiction novel about alien races has three remarkable starred reviews, such as this one from Kirkus: “An exceptionally thoughtful, searching and intriguing debut.” 

[...]

Read More...

While Anne’s Away…

While Anne’s Away…

In addition to reading recommendations for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday -- here's a reminder on how to get pre-approved on Edelweiss for Macmillan e-galleys:

To get Whitelisted on Edelweiss*:

1. Register for Edelweiss with your library-issued e-mail address.
2. Send Anne an email that includes the e-mail address you registered with, your full name, and your current library (subject: Edelweiss).
3. Wait for Anne to send you a confirmation message, then download to your heart's delight and nominate titles you love for LibraryReads

*Whitelisting is only available to librarians currently employed in the U.S.

Already whitelisted and ready to read? Great! Here are some of Anne’s favorite Spring 2014 titles:

If you were moved by Ishmael Beah’s memoir, A LONG WAY GONE, read his first novel, RADIANCE OF TOMORROW

If you loved “Fatal Attraction” and “Unfaithful,” read APPLE TREE YARD by Louise Doughty

If you dig heartfelt love stories with a dose of Southern charm, read LOST LAKE by Sarah Addison Allen (just have a tissue handy) 

If you’re a fan of Richard Yates’s A GOOD SCHOOL and other literary coming-of-age stories, read THE LAST ENCHANTMENTS by Charles Finch

If you have a need for speed when you read (think Robert Ludlum’s Bourne books), don’t miss RUNNER by Patrick Lee

If you don’t mind gory mysteries with a touch of dark history, check out WHERE MONSTERS DWELL by Jørgen Brekke

If you can’t get enough of Indiana Jones-like capers, read THE BLOOD OF ALEXANDER by Tom Wilde

If you like your mysteries inspired by real-life events, read PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva

If you enjoyed Irène Némirovsky’s SUITE FRANCAISE, check out another posthumously discovered masterwork: EXILES RETURN by Elisabeth de Waal

If you enjoy Elizabeth Strout, Sue Monk Kidd, and Jojo Moyes, read MIMI MALLOY, AT LAST! by Julia MacDonnell

If you’re a fan of Anita Shreve and Richard Russo, read THE HEADMASTER'S WIFE by Thomas Christopher Greene. Fun fact: it already has a starred pre-publication review from Library Journal

If you like stories about everlasting friendship, music, and going home again, read SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler

If you like unreliable narrators, read THE INNOCENT SLEEP by Karen Perry

If you loved Michael Faber’s THE CRIMSON PETAL AND THE WHITE, read SEDITION by Katharine Grant

If you desperately need to know how the Tempest trilogy ends, read TIMESTORM by Julie Cross. It comes highly recommended by Stephanie Wilkes!

If you’re looking for THE next must-read for teens, check out THE HAVEN by librarian favorite, award-winning and critically acclaimed author, Carol Lynch Williams

Anne is now officially outta here and on the road! In the next few days you will find her assisting the academic marketing group at NCTE in Boston. If you’re there too - stop by booth #811-813 and give her a high-five and HUG. Then she'll be off cooking and crafting and hopefully sharing all of her creations with you! (She sees a lot of mug cakes in your future).

[...]

Read More...

For Your Consideration: January LibraryReads titles

For Your Consideration: January LibraryReads titles

With the Thanksgiving holiday fast approaching, many of us are busy making lists. Grocery lists for the big meal, shopping lists for those Black Friday and Small Business Saturday sales, who's been naughty and who's been nice (OK, we didn't write that one)... Here's our list of new books we think are great, just in time for the January LibraryReads nomination deadline of December 1:

RADIANCE OF TOMORROW by Ishmael Beah
From the author of A LONG WAY GONE comes a “formidable and memorable novel” (Publishers Weekly) about a village trying to reclaim peace after war. “Beah, who broke our hearts with the haunting memoir of his life as a boy soldier, will render readers speechless with the radiance of his storytelling in this novel of grace, forgiveness, and a vision of a tomorrow without conflict." – Library Journal, starred review

THE LAST ENCHANTMENTS by Charles Finch
In this contemporary update of BRIDESHEAD REVISITED, William Baker is a recent graduate of Yale who embarks on a life-changing year at Oxford, complete with unexpected friendships and a romance with a beautiful and enigmatic woman. "In prose that glides effortlessly from scene to scene, Finch captures the fleeting time in people’s lives when their every decision, from career to lover, seems freighted with eternal consequence. Highly recommended for all collections." – Library Journal, starred review

THE ORPHAN CHOIR by Sophie Hannah
Sophie Hannah writes taut, psychological suspense novels and her latest takes domestic horror to a new level. Louise Beeston is haunted by choral music only she can hear. Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, Stuart, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled community, but the new home brings her anything but that. Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real, but a warning. But of what? “Absolutely haunting, in every sense of the word.” – Booklist

BEFORE I BURN by Gaute Heivoll
Heivoll's novel is inspired by a real-life arson spree that deeply affected him as he grew up in Norway. It's already received two starred reviews–Publishers Weekly called it, "A compulsively readable novel about identity and the increasingly blurred line between art and reality" and Booklist said, "Fans of IN COLD BLOOD and THE DEVIL IN THE WHITE CITY will appreciate the chilling true-crime angle, while Heivoll’s dazzling prose will quickly enchant those unfamiliar with this Scandinavian writer. An absorbing story of compulsion, obsession, and the power of desire."

For more January LibraryReads title suggestions, view our collection on Edelweiss. Happy reading and happy nominating!

[...]

Read More...

css.php