Mac Lib From Home Round-Up (9/17/21)

Welcome to Mac Lib From Home, the fun-sized buzz series from our homes to yours! Two women at midlife rediscover themselves—and perhaps each other—in Asali Solomon’s tender, surprising novel THE DAYS OF AFREKETE. Watch Talia’s full video here. Discover twist after twist, an unspeakable secret, and the most mind-blowing reveal ever in Catriona Ward’s gripping […]

Read More…

Kirkus’ Must-Read Fiction for Fall 2021

Kirkus Reviews has picked their 19 Must-Read Fiction Books for Fall 2021, and we have four titles on the list! BEAUTIFUL WORLD, WHERE ARE YOU by Sally RooneyCROSSROADS by Jonathan FranzenFIGHT NIGHT by Miriam ToewsTODAY A WOMAN WENT MAD IN THE SUPERMARKET: Stories by Hilma Wolitzer […]

Read More…

Edelweiss Bookfest 2021 Great Big Galley Grab

During yesterday’s Edelweiss Bookfest, librarians gathered for the Great Big Galley Grab–an hour of collection development/readers advisory gold, filled with all the Fall 2021 titles they can’t wait to gab about. Check out all the Macmillan titles that were shouted ‘n shared: Adult:NEVER SAY YOU CAN’T SURVIVE by Charlie Jane Anders | 9781250800015 | 8/17/21UNDER […]

Read More…

Short Stories Round-Up (7/28/20)

Today we celebrate the art of the short story with a collection of women on the verge + a glimpse into the debauched kinship of boys and girls straddling adolescence and adulthood behind the doors of a fraternity house. I HOLD A WOLF BY THE EARS: Stories by Laura van den Berg 2 starred reviews […]

Read More…

September 2018 Stars!

September 2018 Stars!

We’re seeing stars for these forthcoming new books: EVENING IN PARADISE: More Stories by Lucia Berlin “Wonderful… Berlin’s writing achieves a dreamy, delightful effect as it provides a look back through time. This collection should further bolster Berlin’s reputation as one of the strongest short story writers of the 20th century.” — Publishers Weekly, starred […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??): MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Literary fiction, romance, and humor—this #BookBday has it all! IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel A July 2018 Indie Next pick! A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: July 2018 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: July 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2018 LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines. BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage Also available in audio THREE starred reviews and Zoje is on the cover of Library Journal’s mystery issue! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT […]

Read More…

Friday Reads: Gerald Murnane

Friday Reads: Gerald Murnane

Happy Friday! We’ve got a double-dose of Gerald Murnane for our #FridayReads: BORDER DISTRICTS by Gerald Murnane A bittersweet farewell to the world and the word by the Australian master. “An old man ruminates on landscapes and houses, authors and religion, colored glass and memory in this drifting quasi-fiction. A fascinating, provocative…read; the stylistic tics […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (11/7/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (11/7/17 Edition)

Today we wish a happy #BookBday to: A SELFIE AS BIG AS THE RITZ by Lara Williams Pushcart Prize-nominated Lara Williams’ debut story collection is a candid, wry, and deeply moving examination of young women navigating the road map to contemporary adulthood and middle age. “A cleverly written, bracing, and so-readable navigation of modern matters […]

Read More…

css.php