Short Stories Round-Up (7/28/20)

Today we celebrate the art of the short story with a collection of women on the verge + a glimpse into the debauched kinship of boys and girls straddling adolescence and adulthood behind the doors of a fraternity house. I HOLD A WOLF BY THE EARS: Stories by Laura van den Berg 2 starred reviews […]

Read More…

September 2018 Stars!

September 2018 Stars!

We’re seeing stars for these forthcoming new books: EVENING IN PARADISE: More Stories by Lucia Berlin “Wonderful… Berlin’s writing achieves a dreamy, delightful effect as it provides a look back through time. This collection should further bolster Berlin’s reputation as one of the strongest short story writers of the 20th century.” — Publishers Weekly, starred […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??): MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Literary fiction, romance, and humor—this #BookBday has it all! IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel A July 2018 Indie Next pick! A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: July 2018 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: July 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2018 LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines. BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage Also available in audio THREE starred reviews and Zoje is on the cover of Library Journal’s mystery issue! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT […]

Read More…

Friday Reads: Gerald Murnane

Friday Reads: Gerald Murnane

Happy Friday! We’ve got a double-dose of Gerald Murnane for our #FridayReads: BORDER DISTRICTS by Gerald Murnane A bittersweet farewell to the world and the word by the Australian master. “An old man ruminates on landscapes and houses, authors and religion, colored glass and memory in this drifting quasi-fiction. A fascinating, provocative…read; the stylistic tics […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (11/7/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (11/7/17 Edition)

Today we wish a happy #BookBday to: A SELFIE AS BIG AS THE RITZ by Lara Williams Pushcart Prize-nominated Lara Williams’ debut story collection is a candid, wry, and deeply moving examination of young women navigating the road map to contemporary adulthood and middle age. “A cleverly written, bracing, and so-readable navigation of modern matters […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (10/3/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (10/3/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these outstanding new releases! FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides Longlisted for the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, plus two starred reviews! “These stories skillfully explore the often elusive quest for happiness and self-knowledge, along with the many complexities that attend relationships with family, friends, and lovers. Essential for all […]

Read More…

Stars for Eugenides & Indridason!

Stars for Eugenides & Indridason!

Does your library have copies of these new books from these two bestselling authors? (You should!) FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides “Pulitzer Prize–winning Eugenides’ first story collection, and his first book since THE MARRIAGE PLOT, is gifted with the strong voices and luminous prose his novels are known for. Readers will enjoy lamenting that this […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: October 2017 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: October 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the October 2017* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due August 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines. FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides “Pulitzer Prize winner Eugenides, whose novels have also been runners-up for the National Book Critics Circle Award, the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and […]

Read More…

css.php