Fiction All-Stars

Fiction All-Stars

We’re seeing lots of stars for these upcoming fiction releases: THE DARK FLOOD RISES by Margaret Drabble – 3 stars! “For women of a certain age, it is a pure pleasure to grow older alongside Drabble. For all others, there’s plenty of joy to be had in this thoughtful meditation on aging and mortality.” — […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: March 2017 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: March 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the March 2017* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due January 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines. NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens In the new novel from the LibraryReads author of THOSE GIRLS, Lindsey Nash escaped an abusive marriage and has successfully started […]

Read More…

Holiday e-Books Sale For Libraries

Holiday e-Books Sale For Libraries

‘Tis the season for saving, so enjoy our holiday e-Books sale! Running now through Thursday, 12/31, nearly 100 backlist adult and children’s titles will be discounted 25% off (with our regular lending terms). Add these goodies to your digital shelf: Holiday titles: VISIONS OF SUGAR PLUMS by Janet Evanovich MISTLETOE AND MURDER by Carola Dunn […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday & Bouchercon 2015 Winners

Thriller Thursday & Bouchercon 2015 Winners

Happy #ThrillerThursday! We’ve got several starred mysteries out this week, but first a #humblebrag on behalf of our Minotaur Books pals. Last weekend during Bouchercon, INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl was the breakout hit, nabbing a Barry AND Macavity Award! The Barry Award Best First Novel: INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl The Macavity Awards Best First Mystery […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday – Anthony Award & CWA Dagger in the Library Nominees

Thriller Thursday – Anthony Award & CWA Dagger in the Library Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday! We’ve got several terrific mysteries, but first here’s the scoop on Anthony Award and CWA Dagger in the Library nominees: The 2015 Anthony Award nominees were announced and they include: Best Novel THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny TRUTH BE TOLD by Hank Phillippi Ryan Best First Novel INVISIBLE CITY by Julia […]

Read More…

The 2015 ITW Thriller Award Finalists

The 2015 ITW Thriller Award Finalists

This week the International Thriller Writers announced their 2015 ThrillerFest Award finalists and they include three Macmillan titles! Best Hardcover Novel: THAT NIGHT by Chevy Stevens Best First Novel: INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl Best Young Adult Novel: WICKED LITTLE SECRETS by Kara Taylor The winners will be announced at the Gala Awards Banquet at […]

Read More…

Minotaur Books Dominates with 7 Edgar Nominations!

Minotaur Books Dominates with 7 Edgar Nominations!

The Edgar Award nominations were announced today and  Minotaur Books had 6 titles nominated in 2 categories! GO BEAST GO! Best First Novel Invisible City by Julia Dahl Bad Country by C.B. McKenzie Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver Mary Higgins Clark A Dark and Twisted Tide by Sharon Bolton The Stranger You Know […]

Read More…

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

FATAL ENQUIRY in NYTBR!

Great news! Tulsa librarian Will Thomas's latest Barker & Llewellyn historical mystery, FATAL ENQUIRY, received a great review in Marilyn Stasio's New York Times Book Review mystery column this past Sunday!

“[A] Classic detective duo…. The best fun in this Big Boys’ Adventure Book is observing [protagonist Cyrus] Barker in action. An autodidact who keeps a French chef in his kitchen and rare penjing trees in his garden, he’s a formidable foe who applies the wits he was born with (and the subversive skills he acquires in Canton) in hand-to-hand combat.” New York Times Book Review (read the full review here)

Additional praise for FATAL ENQUIRY:

“Recommended for historical mysteries enthusiasts, Anglophiles, and Sherlockians. Fans of Alex Grecian, Anthony Horowitz, and Charles Todd should take special note.” Library Journal, starred review

“Readers will relish the appealing characters, clever twists, and colorful vision of late 19th-century London.” — Publishers Weekly

“Well-crafted and immersive, this a great addition to the to-be-read stacks of Thomas’ fans, as well as those of Alex Grecian and Anne Perry’s.” — Booklist

Don't miss Will Thomas at ALA Annual

[...]

Read More...

Booklist “Pulse Pounder” Mystery webinar titles

Booklist “Pulse Pounder” Mystery webinar titles

On Tuesday, Talia “the terror” Sherer presented her favorite new mysteries as part of Booklist’s “Mysteries and Thrillers: Pulse Pounding Picks for your Patrons” webinar:

A DARK AND TWISTED TIDE by Sharon Bolton
In the latest Lacey Flint mystery, the detective—now part of the marine police—finds a shrouded body in the river. And that's just the first one... “Just as readers think they know the killer's identity, there is another shocking twist in this...gripping tale by a master of the genre.” — Library Journal

THAT NIGHT by Chevy Stevens
A woman who was wrongly convicted of her sister's murder and served time in prison must risk everything to find out the truth and clear her name. “Stevens has crafted yet another suspenseful thriller with this tale of heartbreak, the cruelties of fate, and redemption... A compelling, exceptional read.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE DEAD WILL TELL by Linda Castillo
In Castillo’s latest Kate Burkholder mystery, the Amish town of Painter’s Mill is plagued by a series of murders made to look like suicides. “Castillo effectively combines an airtight plot with a revealingly complex look at what can happen when a fissure develops along the fault line separating an insular community from the secular world. Castillo shows again why the phrase 'gritty Amish mystery' is no oxymoron.” — Booklist  

INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl
In Dahl's “impressive”* debut, young journalist Rebekah Roberts finds herself drawn into her mother's tight-knit world when she's assigned to cover the murder of an Hasidic Jew. “Dahl’s convincing dialogue and perfect pacing make for a real page-turner. And her storytelling skills illuminate the intriguing worlds of the tabloid press, Hasidism, the NYPD, and Brooklyn’s 20-somethings—as well as the fragile boundaries of family, religion, and life itself.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

BONE DUST WHITE by Karin Salvalaggio
When a young woman witnesses the murder of her mother who had abandoned her as a child, eight month pregnant Detective Macy Greeley must solve the case and stop a killer. “This complicated, peel-away-layers debut procedural intoxicates from the opening page and has word-of-mouth selling power.” — Library Journal, starred review & Debut of the Month for April

THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
In the new book in the New York Times bestselling Chief Inspector Gamache series, the former Chief Inspector of Homicide is happily retired in Three Pines, but must help his friend Clara Morrow find her estranged husband, Peter. While it's not available yet, the great Gamache re-read is happening now to hold fans over. [...]

Read More...

Library Journal’s 2014 Mystery Preview

Library Journal’s 2014 Mystery Preview

We loooove mysteries (the bloodier the better) and your patrons do, too! Our friend and Library Journal Mover & Shaker Kristi Chadwick recently wrote a mystery preview column for LJ and we're thrilled (pun intended) that it includes so many of our titles:

BAD COUNTRY by CB McKenzie
On sale November 4, 2014
The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, this Arizona-set debut mystery stars a Native American rodeo cowboy–turned–private investigator.

BOOTY BONES by Carolyn Haines
On sale May 20, 2014
In Haines's 14th charming Sarah Booth Delaney mystery, Sarah and her fiance Graf's island vacation goes disastrously awry when she's asked to solve the murder of a treasure-hunter.

BROADCHURCH by Erin Kelly
On sale September 2, 2014
This brilliant novelization of the hit television show Broadchurch follows Detectives Alec Hardy and Ellie Miller as they search for a young boy's killer in a quiet British seaside town.

CRADLE TO GRAVE by Eleanor Kuhns
On sale June 17, 2014
In the next Will Rees mystery from Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America competition winner Kuhns, Rees is stunned to learn a Shaker friend of his has been accused of kidnapping and murder. 

FATAL ENQUIRY by Will Thomas
On sale May 13, 2014
Thomas is an Oklahoma librarian whose Barker & Llewellyn series, set in Victoria’s England, have won him a devoted following. His latest has the duo trying to figure out a reluctant ally's real motives.

FIVE by Ursula Archer
On sale December 9, 2014
Two Austrian detectives must investigate a series of murders committed by a killer who tattoos map coordinates on his victims in a twisted geocaching game. 

FROZEN DEAD by Bernard Minier
On sale August 12, 2014
A suspenseful and chilling murder mystery set in a high-security asylum for the criminally insane and the snowy mountains of the French Pyrénées.  

INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl
On sale May 6, 2014
In Dahl's accomplished debut, young journalist Rebekah Roberts finds herself drawn into her mother's tight-knit world when she's assigned to cover the murder of an Hasidic Jew.

LAND OF SHADOWS by Rachel Howzell Hall
On sale June 10, 2014
Homicide detective Elouise “Lou” Norton tries to connect a teen’s death with her own sister’s disappearance.

MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron
On sale October 28, 2014
A repo man's ordinary life is turned upside down when he starts hearing the voice of a dead realtor in his head.

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
On sale October 14, 2014
An exquisite seaside resort, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday, and rich 1930s detail lay the setting for this fantastic Golden Age–style debut mystery by young librarian Weaver. 

WINK OF AN EYE by Lynn Chandler Willis
On sale November 18, 2014
The first woman to win the Minotaur Books/PWA Best First Private Eye Novel Competition in over 10 years, Willis's debut features PI Gypsy Moran who gets roped into a case of murder and police corruption in Texas.

Some titles are available on Edelweiss now—get whitelisted and start reading!

[...]

Read More...

css.php