Nonfiction Round-Up (3/4/20)

An investigation of the Religious Right’s rise to political power + a memoir of a woman earning a living in an Ohio steel mill + an intimate and expansive collection of essays about American life + the seven key principles of commanding a team of elite individuals from a Navy SEAL = this nonfiction round-up. […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/5/20)

The making of a modern American cinematic masterpiece, the electrifying works of literature that shaped a beloved writer’s life, research into the root causes of illness, and a funny and honest guide with a celebrity OB-GYN–all in today’s nonfiction round-up. THE BIG GOODBYE: Chinatown and the Last Years of Hollywood by Sam Wasson 2 starred […]

Read More…

2020 PEN America Literary Award Longlist

Congrats to Macmillan’s PEN America Literary Award longlisters! PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel STAY AND FIGHT by Madeline ffitch PEN Open Book Award MY TIME AMONG THE WHITES: Notes from an Unfinished Education by Jennine Capó Crucet BE RECORDER: Poems by Carmen Giménez Smith PEN/Diamondstein-Spielvodel Award for the Art of the Essay ESSAYS ONE by […]

Read More…

Kirkus Best of 2019–Nonfiction

Kirkus Reviews continues their Best of 2019 round-up with their Nonfiction picks, including these 16 Macmillan titles! THE BRITISH ARE COMING: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 by Rick Atkinson THE UNDYING: Pain, vulnerability, mortality, medicine, art, time, dreams, data, exhaustion, cancer, and care by Anne Boyer COVENTRY: Essays by Rachel Cusk THE […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/23/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/23/19)

Essays that’ll make you laugh out loud, a beautiful friendship between Carly Simon and Jackie O, the best questions received by librarians, and the buildings that have transformed New York…check it all out in today’s nonfiction round-up. DO YOU MIND IF I CANCEL?: Things That Still Annoy Me by Gary Janetti “A TV veteran’s memories […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree! DOMINICANA by Angie CruzIn the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother. “YAs […]

Read More…

July Nonfiction E-Book Sale for Libraries

July Nonfiction E-Book Sale for Libraries

Expand your e-book collection with these nonfiction essentials! From 7/17 through 7/31, twenty-nine e-Books will be discounted 25% off (with our regular lending terms), including these bestsellers and award-winners: LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE: Essays by Sloane CrosleyTHE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I […]

Read More…

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

A Meteor Shower of Stars for Macmillan!

These forthcoming titles all received multiple starred reviews! Fiction NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo “With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “This atmospheric contemporary novel steeped in the spirit of a mystical New Haven is part mystery, part story […]

Read More…

Meet the Author, er, Raconteur: John Waters

Meet the Author, er, Raconteur: John Waters

Acclaimed spinner-of -yarns and overall cool dude John Waters shares more of himself in MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder. No one knows more about everything—especially everything rude, clever, and offensively compelling—than John Waters. The man in the pencil-thin mustache, auteur of the transgressive movie classics Pink Flamingos, Polyester, the original Hairspray, […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (3/13/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (3/13/19)

A D-Day story from those who were there, an evocative essay collection, defense of the First Amendment, and a guidebook to a better life… Welcome to this week’s Nonfiction Round-Up! SOLDIER, SAILOR, FROGMAN, SPY, AIRMAN, GANGSTER, KILL OR DIE: How the Allies Won on D-Day by Giles Milton “Cornelius Ryan and Stephen Ambrose have set […]

Read More…

css.php