Poems, Short Stories, and Essays Round-Up (9/3/20)

Today’s spotlight is on bite-sized literary goodness: intimate essays on race, short stories that blend mythic and modern, and poems exploring the female experience. JUST US: An American Conversation by Claudia Rankine 4 starred reviews and an Indie Next pick! “Rankine once again opens a literary window into the Black experience, for those willing to […]

Read More…

Mac Lib From Home Round-Up (8/20/20)

Welcome to Mac Lib From Home, our fun-sized buzz series from our homes to yours! This #MacLibFromHome pick urges us all to participate in the conversation about race and white supremacy: Claudia Rankine’s 4-starred reviewed JUST US: An American Conversation. Watch Talia’s full video here. Jane Eyre X gothic Southern charm X atmospheric domestic suspense […]

Read More…

Sneak Peek: September 2020 Indie Next List

Congrats to the Macmillan titles on the September 2020 Indie Next list! PIRANESI by Susanna ClarkeISBN 9781635575637, on sale 9/15/20 “This superbly told tale is sure to be recognized as one of the year’s most inventive novels.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review “Weird and haunting and excellent.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “Clarke creates an immersive world that readers […]

Read More…

4 Stars for JUST US

First, she changed the conversation with CITIZEN: An American Lyric. Now, Claudia Rankine’s essay collection JUST US: An American Conversation has received FOUR starred reviews! “Touching on Beyoncé, blondness, skin lightening, and the inherent tensions in her own interracial marriage, Rankine once again opens a literary window into the Black experience, for those willing to […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (3/4/20)

An investigation of the Religious Right’s rise to political power + a memoir of a woman earning a living in an Ohio steel mill + an intimate and expansive collection of essays about American life + the seven key principles of commanding a team of elite individuals from a Navy SEAL = this nonfiction round-up. […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (2/5/20)

The making of a modern American cinematic masterpiece, the electrifying works of literature that shaped a beloved writer’s life, research into the root causes of illness, and a funny and honest guide with a celebrity OB-GYN–all in today’s nonfiction round-up. THE BIG GOODBYE: Chinatown and the Last Years of Hollywood by Sam Wasson 2 starred […]

Read More…

2020 PEN America Literary Award Longlist

Congrats to Macmillan’s PEN America Literary Award longlisters! PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel STAY AND FIGHT by Madeline ffitch PEN Open Book Award MY TIME AMONG THE WHITES: Notes from an Unfinished Education by Jennine Capó Crucet BE RECORDER: Poems by Carmen Giménez Smith PEN/Diamondstein-Spielvodel Award for the Art of the Essay ESSAYS ONE by […]

Read More…

Kirkus Best of 2019–Nonfiction

Kirkus Reviews continues their Best of 2019 round-up with their Nonfiction picks, including these 16 Macmillan titles! THE BRITISH ARE COMING: The War for America, Lexington to Princeton, 1775-1777 by Rick Atkinson THE UNDYING: Pain, vulnerability, mortality, medicine, art, time, dreams, data, exhaustion, cancer, and care by Anne Boyer COVENTRY: Essays by Rachel Cusk THE […]

Read More…

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/23/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/23/19)

Essays that’ll make you laugh out loud, a beautiful friendship between Carly Simon and Jackie O, the best questions received by librarians, and the buildings that have transformed New York…check it all out in today’s nonfiction round-up. DO YOU MIND IF I CANCEL?: Things That Still Annoy Me by Gary Janetti “A TV veteran’s memories […]

Read More…

Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree! DOMINICANA by Angie CruzIn the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother. “YAs […]

Read More…

css.php