For Your Consideration: July 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July titles for the July 2020 LibraryReads list! Votes due May 1! THE SHADOWS by Alex North “The complex plot shifts smoothly between past and present with numerous unexpected twists. An overwhelming atmosphere of doom and disaster hovers over the perennial darkness of the nearby woods. This heart-pounding […]

Read More…

Extra! Extra!: February Book News

Here are the headlines you may have missed this month. C.J. Box’s Cassie Dewell novels are set to become a television series on ABC, with David Kelley of Ally McBeal, Boston Legal, and Goliath fame creating and producing. Variety reports that MISS AUSTEN has been optioned for TV by Steve Coogan’s production company, Baby Cow […]

Read More…

Starred Review Round-Up (2/20/20)

We’re seeing stars! These titles all received multiple starred reviews: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn “Striking style, memorable characters, and a believably miraculous premise add up to a beautifully crafted first novel.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “A more than noteworthy first foray into contemporary fiction by Hawaiian native Washburn.”–Library Journal, starred […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??): MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who […]

Read More…

NPR’s 2017 Book Concierge Picks

NPR’s 2017 Book Concierge Picks

NPR’s Book Concierge is live and it includes nearly 50 Macmillan titles!! 300 ARGUMENTS: Essays by Sarah Manguso 4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster AFFLUENCE WITHOUT ABUNDANCE: The Disappearing World Of The Bushmen by James Suzman AGE OF ANGER: A History Of the Present by Pankaj Mishra THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey AUTONOMOUS by […]

Read More…

People, Time Magazine, HuffPo & More “Best of 2017” Picks

People, Time Magazine, HuffPo & More “Best of 2017” Picks

People Magazine‘s Top 10 Books of 2017 THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel Time Magazine Fiction (full list) THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott TRANSIT by Rachel Cusk Nonfiction (full list) THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown THE MEANING OF MICHELLE: 16 Writers on […]

Read More…

NYTBR’s 10 Best Books of 2017 & Editor’s Picks

NYTBR’s 10 Best Books of 2017 & Editor’s Picks

HOORAY! Two nonfiction titles made the New York Times Book Review‘s “10 Best Books of 2017” list and five more (plus two honorable mentions) are New York Times Critics’ Top Books of 2017! LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in Black America by James Forman Jr. A former public defender in Washington, Forman has […]

Read More…

Kirkus Best Books of 2017 – Fiction

Kirkus Best Books of 2017 – Fiction

Kirkus Reviews announced their Best of 2017 Fiction lists which include 19 Macmillan titles: Best Fiction (full list) 4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster THE FIFTH ELEMENT by Jorgen Brekke MARLENA by Julie Buntin DUKE WITH BENEFITS by Manda Collins WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides A CAST OF VULTURES by […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (6/6/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (6/6/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday, especially when they’re great summer reads! THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder One of Entertainment Weekly‘s Summer’s Must-Read Books and PW‘s Best Books of Summer 2017 with two starred reviews! A bitingly funny, hugely entertaining novel in which a fractured family from the […]

Read More…

Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer”

Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer”

Buzzfeed chose eight excellent books from Macmillan as part of their “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer” feature: THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey Catherine Lacey’s novel THE ANSWERS centers around people looking for the answers to love, to emotions, to ailing bodies. Mary, a young woman in New York City, is desperate […]

Read More…

css.php