CPL’s 2020 Best of the Best

The excellent folks over at the Chicago Public Library have picked their favorite books of 2020, and 19 Macmillan titles made the list! Top 20 LUSTER by Raven LeilaniTHE MIRROR & THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel Best Adult Books THE ADDRESS BOOK: What Street Addresses Reveal About Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power by Deirdre MaskBLACKTOP […]

Read More…

Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2020

Publishers Weekly‘s Best Books of 2020 are here, and 24 Macmillan titles made the list! Top 10 THE ADDRESS BOOK: A Hidden History of Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power by Deirdre MaskTHE DRAGONS, THE GIANT, THE WOMEN: A Memoir by Wayétu MooreTHE LAST GREAT ROAD BUM by Héctor TobarA SAINT FROM TEXAS by Edmund White […]

Read More…

2021 Andrew Carnegie Medal Longlist

The 2021 Andrew Carnegie Medal longlists have been announced, and 8 Macmillan titles are in the running! Fiction Longlist PARAKEET by Marie-Helene BertinoBRING ME THE HEAD OF QUENTIN TARANTINO: Stories by Julián Herbert; Translated from the Spanish by Christina MacSweeneyPEW by Catherine LaceyLUSTER by Raven LeilaniJACK by Marilynne RobinsonTHE LAST GREAT ROAD BUM by Héctor […]

Read More…

Author Spotlight: Catherine Lacey (7/20/20)

Catherine Lacey is an author who takes literary fiction to the next level. Her third novel, PEW, is a foreboding, provocative, and amorphous fable about the world today: its contradictions, its flimsy morality, and the limits of judging others based on their appearance. Catherine pushes boundaries and keeps you guessing with the story of a […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: July 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite July titles for the July 2020 LibraryReads list! Votes due May 1! THE SHADOWS by Alex North “The complex plot shifts smoothly between past and present with numerous unexpected twists. An overwhelming atmosphere of doom and disaster hovers over the perennial darkness of the nearby woods. This heart-pounding […]

Read More…

Extra! Extra!: February Book News

Here are the headlines you may have missed this month. C.J. Box’s Cassie Dewell novels are set to become a television series on ABC, with David Kelley of Ally McBeal, Boston Legal, and Goliath fame creating and producing. Variety reports that MISS AUSTEN has been optioned for TV by Steve Coogan’s production company, Baby Cow […]

Read More…

Starred Review Round-Up (2/20/20)

We’re seeing stars! These titles all received multiple starred reviews: SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn “Striking style, memorable characters, and a believably miraculous premise add up to a beautifully crafted first novel.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “A more than noteworthy first foray into contemporary fiction by Hawaiian native Washburn.”–Library Journal, starred […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??): MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who […]

Read More…

NPR’s 2017 Book Concierge Picks

NPR’s 2017 Book Concierge Picks

NPR’s Book Concierge is live and it includes nearly 50 Macmillan titles!! 300 ARGUMENTS: Essays by Sarah Manguso 4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster AFFLUENCE WITHOUT ABUNDANCE: The Disappearing World Of The Bushmen by James Suzman AGE OF ANGER: A History Of the Present by Pankaj Mishra THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey AUTONOMOUS by […]

Read More…

People, Time Magazine, HuffPo & More “Best of 2017” Picks

People, Time Magazine, HuffPo & More “Best of 2017” Picks

People Magazine‘s Top 10 Books of 2017 THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel Time Magazine Fiction (full list) THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott TRANSIT by Rachel Cusk Nonfiction (full list) THE VANITY FAIR DIARIES by Tina Brown THE MEANING OF MICHELLE: 16 Writers on […]

Read More…

css.php