YA Spotlight (9/28/20)

Today’s YA Spotlight features a powerful and inspiring memoir and a magical fantasy sequel. WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST (YA Edition): A Story of Black Live Matter and the Power To Change the World by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and ahsa bandele “This book is more than the origin story of BLM and more than Khan-Cullors’s […]

Read More…

MacLib Chats with Patrisse Khan-Cullors

Join the MacLib team as we chat with Patrisse Khan-Cullors, co-founder of the Black Lives Matter Global Network and co-author of the New York Times bestselling WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST and WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST YA Edition. Tuesday, October 6 | 3:00-3:30pm ET Click here to register for the free live […]

Read More…

Mac Lib From Home Round-Up (9/3/20)

Welcome to Mac Lib From Home, our fun-sized buzz series from our homes to yours! Return to the dark and glamorous world of THE GILDED WOLVES as our band of heroes travels to Russia in Roshani Chokshi’s THE SILVERED SERPENTS. Watch Emily’s full video here. An all-girls boarding school is rocked by scandal as nine […]

Read More…

Day’s YA: WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST (YA Edition)

“And for me, too, it started the year I turned twelve. That was the year that I learned that being Black and poor defined me more than being bright and hopeful and ready.” WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST (Young Adult Edition): A Story of Black Lives Matter and the Power to Change the World […]

Read More…

Book Buzzes with ALMA (6/9/20)

All your favorite library marketers have teamed up to bring you Bite-Sized Book Buzzes, straight to your screens. This week, the library marketers are all featuring books by black authors, starting with WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele. WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir […]

Read More…

2019 In the Margins Book Awards

2019 In the Margins Book Awards

Congrats to all FIVE Macmillan titles named to the 2019 In the Margins book lists! Recommended Fiction Book List:THE CARTEL 7: Illuminati: Roundtable of Bosses by Ashley & JaQuavis ColemanTHE DIAMOND EMPIRE by K’wan Recommended Nonfiction Book List:RAW: My Journey into the Wu-Tang by Lamont “U-God” Hawkins (Top 10!)WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A […]

Read More…

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books: A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color […]

Read More…

Required Friday Reading (8/10/18)

Required Friday Reading (8/10/18)

It’s important, now more than ever, to continue reading, reflecting, and engaging in open dialogue about the issues facing us all as a nation. Here are our picks to help you do just that: A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA: One Refugee’s Incredible Story of Love, Loss, and Survival by Melissa Fleming 2018 Alex […]

Read More…

Happy Women’s History Month/International Women’s Day 2018!

Happy Women’s History Month/International Women’s Day 2018!

March is Women’s History Month and today we celebrate International Women’s Day! Get inspired by our 2018 ALA Amelia Bloomer Project Book List titles (best feminist books): GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA by Melissa Fleming […]

Read More…

ALA Midwinter 2018 – Friday Events

ALA Midwinter 2018 – Friday Events

It’s the opening day of ALA Midwinter! We can’t wait to see you in the Macmillan (adult) booth #1741 and at all of our great events today: Opening Keynote with Patrisse Khan-Cullors 4:00-5:30pm Colorado Convention Center | Mile High Ballroom 2 & 3 Add to your schedule Co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement Patrisse […]

Read More…

css.php