2019 In the Margins Book Awards

2019 In the Margins Book Awards

Congrats to all FIVE Macmillan titles named to the 2019 In the Margins book lists! Recommended Fiction Book List:THE CARTEL 7: Illuminati: Roundtable of Bosses by Ashley & JaQuavis ColemanTHE DIAMOND EMPIRE by K’wan Recommended Nonfiction Book List:RAW: My Journey into the Wu-Tang by Lamont “U-God” Hawkins (Top 10!)WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A […]

Read More…

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books: A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color […]

Read More…

Required Friday Reading (8/10/18)

Required Friday Reading (8/10/18)

It’s important, now more than ever, to continue reading, reflecting, and engaging in open dialogue about the issues facing us all as a nation. Here are our picks to help you do just that: A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA: One Refugee’s Incredible Story of Love, Loss, and Survival by Melissa Fleming 2018 Alex […]

Read More…

Happy Women’s History Month/International Women’s Day 2018!

Happy Women’s History Month/International Women’s Day 2018!

March is Women’s History Month and today we celebrate International Women’s Day! Get inspired by our 2018 ALA Amelia Bloomer Project Book List titles (best feminist books): GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA by Melissa Fleming […]

Read More…

ALA Midwinter 2018 – Friday Events

ALA Midwinter 2018 – Friday Events

It’s the opening day of ALA Midwinter! We can’t wait to see you in the Macmillan (adult) booth #1741 and at all of our great events today: Opening Keynote with Patrisse Khan-Cullors 4:00-5:30pm Colorado Convention Center | Mile High Ballroom 2 & 3 Add to your schedule Co-founder of the Black Lives Matter movement Patrisse […]

Read More…

February is Black History Month!

February is Black History Month!

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books: WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & asha bandele, with a foreword by Angela Davis Also available in audio A Most Anticipated Book of 2018 with three starred reviews! The emotional and powerful story about the founding […]

Read More…

Most Anticipated Books of 2018

Most Anticipated Books of 2018

Best of 2017 has come and gone, now here are the most anticipated books of 2018, according to major media: Entertainment Weekly — 50 books we can’t wait to read in 2018 THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert One of the most anticipated debuts of the year — having set off an auction frenzy — […]

Read More…

Macmillan Library @ ALA Midwinter 2018 (Booth #1741)

Macmillan Library @ ALA Midwinter 2018 (Booth #1741)

We can’t wait to see you in the Macmillan (adult) booth #1741 and at all of our great events at ALA Midwinter in Denver. Check out our schedule below and RSVP ASAP! Friday, February 9 Opening Keynote with Patrisse Khan-Cullors 4:00-5:30pm Colorado Convention Center | Mile High Ballroom 2 & 3 Add to your schedule […]

Read More…

2018 Community Reads Recommendations

2018 Community Reads Recommendations

Although our Academic Marketing division created the “Books for the First-Year Experience” for colleges and universities, we strongly believe that the titles featured in this catalog foster the sort of discussion and self-reflection that make library-led, city-wide reading programs so memorable. The updated catalog for 2018 is now available and features titles such as: WHEN […]

Read More…

Stars for WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST

Stars for WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST

In a time of constant protests, it’s easy to forget it all starts with a few voices. WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele is the emotional and powerful story about the founding of the Black Lives Matter movement. Both a poetic memoir and empowering account […]

Read More…

css.php