Maximum Shelf: THE SECOND HOME (1/6/20)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Christina Clancy’s debut novel of family, nostalgia, and second chances, THE SECOND HOME. After a disastrous summer spent at her family summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen-year-old Ann Gordon was left with a secret that changed her life forever, and created a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY (12/16/19)

Maximum Shelf: THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY (12/16/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Natalie Jenner’s THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY, in which an unusual but like-minded group of individuals band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England’s finest novelists. Now it’s home to a few distant relatives and their […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: SAINT X (11/6/19)

Maximum Shelf: SAINT X (11/6/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Alexis Schaitkin’s debut, SAINT X–a haunting portrait of grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters. Claire is only seven years old when her college-age sister, Alison, disappears on the last night of their family vacation at a resort on the Caribbean island of Saint X. Several days later, Alison’s […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS (10/17/19)

Maximum Shelf: THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS (10/17/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Jennifer Rosner’s breathtaking WWII mother/daughter story, THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS. As Nazi soldiers round up the Jews in their town, Róza and her 5-year-old daughter, Shira, flee, seeking shelter in a neighbor’s barn. Hidden in the hayloft day and night, Shira struggles to stay still and quiet, as music pulses […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: UNCANNY VALLEY (9/4/19)

Maximum Shelf: UNCANNY VALLEY (9/4/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Anna Wiener’s page-turning account of her time in Silicon Valley, UNCANNY VALLEY: A Memoir. In her mid-twenties, at the height of tech industry idealism, Anna Wiener—stuck, broke, and looking for meaning in her work, like any good millennial—left a job in book publishing for the promise of the new digital […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: AMERICAN DIRT (8/21/19)

Maximum Shelf: AMERICAN DIRT (8/21/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Jeanine Cummins’ AMERICAN DIRT–a rare exploration into the inner hearts of people willing to sacrifice everything for a glimmer of hope. Lydia Quixano Perez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: THE FURIES

Maximum Shelf: THE FURIES

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Katie Lowe’s debut novel, THE FURIES, a page-turning, harrowing story of a girl trying to fit in, whose obsessive new friends and desperation to belong leads her to places she’d never imagined…dark, dangerous, and possibly even violent. In 1998, a sixteen-year-old girl is found dead. She’s posed on a swing […]

Read More…

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Maximum Shelf: A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Therese Anne Fowler’s exploration of class, race, and heartrending star-crossed love, A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD. For fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult comes a stunning page-turner about two very different families living side by side in an idyllic neighborhood–and the summer that changes their lives forever. In Oak Knoll, a […]

Read More…

A Pulitzer Winner + A Pulitzer Finalist = AUTHORS YOU NEED TO KNOW!

A Pulitzer Winner + A Pulitzer Finalist = AUTHORS YOU NEED TO KNOW!

GRACE WILL LEAD US HOME: The Charleston Church Massacre and the Hard, Inspiring Journey to Forgiveness by Jennifer Berry Hawes Exclusive author interview + 3 starred reviews! “With empathy and kindness, Hawes bears witness to one of the most horrific incidents in recent American history.”–Booklist, starred review “A groundbreaking, accessible work of investigative reporting that […]

Read More…

Nancy Pearl Interviews Erica Bauermeister

Nancy Pearl Interviews Erica Bauermeister

The library world’s very own super hero, Nancy Pearl, sat down with THE SCENT KEEPER author Erica Bauermeister to discuss the inspiration behind her new novel! Watch the full interview here! THE SCENT KEEPER A June 2019 Indie Next Pick! Emmeline lives an enchanted childhood on a remote island with her father, who teaches her […]

Read More…

css.php