National Parks Centennial

National Parks Centennial

The National Park Service turns 100 on August 25, 2016! To celebrate, we recommend these fine nature books: THE HOUR OF LAND: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks by Terry Tempest Williams A June 2016 Indie Next list pick & an O Magazine Summer 2016 Reading selection! “Williams, an ardent, often rhapsodic, always scrupulous […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (5/19/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (5/19/16 Edition)

These new #ThrillerThursday mysteries will have you raving (in a good way): BOAR ISLAND by Nevada Barr In her 19th adventure, Anna Pigeon has taken over as acting chief ranger at Acadia National Park in Maine, where she must help her friend’s daughter, who is an unfortunate victim of cyber-bullying and stalking. “As in the […]

Read More…

Booklist Mystery Month 2016!

Booklist Mystery Month 2016!

May is Mystery Month at Booklist! We’ve got all new Murder & Mayhem for you (plus Talia’s “Mysteries to Die For”) but we love seeing which Macmillan titles made Booklist‘s “Best of” reading lists for 2016. The Year’s Best Crime Novels: 2016 — Best Crime Fiction Debuts ALL THAT FOLLOWED by Gabriel Urza It’s five years after […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: May 2016 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: May 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2016* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines. REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart In New York Times bestselling author Hart’s highly anticipated Southern gothic thriller, a troubled detective must confront her past in the aftermath of […]

Read More…

Booklist’s Best Crime 2015

Booklist’s Best Crime 2015

  May is Mystery Month over at Booklist and to celebrate they’ve put together “Best of” reading lists with loads of Macmillan titles! Plus, Booklist Reader has a special feature on one of our favorite mystery authors… The Year’s Best Crime Novels: 2015 THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny With her beloved series hero, […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (9/11/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (9/11/14 Edition)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday features two debut mysteries and two new thrillers from prolific veteran writers: NIGHT OF THE JAGUAR by Joe Gannon Former Nicaraguan Sandinista guerrilla comandante-turned-cop Ajax Montoya investigates a series of murders that appear to be political executions in this “impressive”* debut novel with “beautiful, emotion-drenched prose… The novel’s considerable power is in the […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (Stars Edition)

Thriller Thursday (Stars Edition)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday picks are superSTARS! THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny Penny’s highly anticipated tenth Chief Inspector Gamache novel is here! Booklist and Library Journal loved it with the latter warning, “The heartbreaking conclusion will leave series readers blinking back tears.” Keep an eye out for upcoming major media for THE LONG WAY HOME, […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (4/3/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (4/3/14 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! Today we're celebrating two new books from New York Times bestselling writers:

KEEP QUIET by Lisa Scottoline
Jake Whitmore is enjoying a rare bonding moment with his sixteen-year-old son, Ryan, when they get in a terrible car accident that threatens to derail Ryan’s future. Jake makes a split-second decision that plunges them both into a world of guilt, lies, and secrecy. When a malevolent outsider comes forward with the power to expose them, Jake must do anything he can to prevent the further unraveling of his family. “Scottoline keeps the tension high while portraying a family in turmoil. A heck of a twist ending wraps everything up neatly...and caps a satisfying, suspenseful read. This blend of domestic drama and criminal suspense from bestselling Scottoline is sure to hit the holds lists and may even find her a new audience among fans of issue-driven women’s fiction.” — Booklist

DESTROYER ANGEL by Nevada Barr
In the next book in Barr's Anna Pigeon series, a camping trip in Minnesota goes harrowingly wrong when Anna's friends are taken hostage by armed thugs. “Once again, Barr lays down a riveting mystery and permeates the pages with scrupulous descriptions of Anna's struggle with the cold, with the night, and with the terror and fear of not rescuing her friends.”
Library Journal, starred review

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib
[...]

Read More...

Friday Reads – Minotaur Stars Edition

Friday Reads – Minotaur Stars Edition

TGIF! Today's #FridayReads are two Minotaur mysteries that are raking in the starred pre-publication reviews! 

Talia is avoiding the wilderness after reading

Destroyer Angel

DESTROYER ANGEL by Nevada Barr
In the next book in Barr's New York Times bestselling Anna Pigeon series, a camping trip in Minnesota goes harrowingly wrong when Anna's friends are taken hostage by armed thugs. 

"Once again, Barr lays down a riveting mystery and permeates the pages with scrupulous descriptions of Anna's struggle with the cold, with the night, and with the terror and fear of not rescuing her friends." Library Journal, starred review

"Gripping... Barr's gift for depicting breathtaking scenery elevates the story, as does Anna's complex, ever-evolving personality." Publishers Weekly, starred review  

"Anna Pigeon’s eighteenth adventure is equal parts psychological thriller and wilderness-survival tale sure to please series followers with a darker, no-holds-barred look at the emotional impact of Anna’s survival instinct, while beckoning newcomers with top-tier white-knuckle suspense." Booklist  


Anne is reconsidering her vacation plans after reading

Cairo AffairTHE CAIRO AFFAIR by Olen Steinhauer
International politics are at play as an Egyptian agent, an American analyst, a CIA agent, and a bereaved wife all converge on Cairo to find out why a diplomat was assassinated.

"THE CAIRO AFFAIR is an elegant, elaborate clockwork of mystery and deception that should draw readers in and keep them on tenterhooks as they try to figure out what is really making it all tick." Publishers Weekly, boxed signature review

"It has become de rigeur to compare Steinhauer to le Carré, but it’s nearly time to pass the torch: for the next generation, it’s Steinhauer who will become the standard by which others are measured." — Booklist, starred review

"In narrative arcs that vault between a 1991 honeymoon trip to Serbia and a few days in 2011, Steinhauer once again displays his mastery of complex and twisty storytelling. Readers yearning for a fiendishly complex plot, penetrating characterizations, and a new warrior in the ancient struggle between anomie and truth will welcome Sophie and her brash courage." Library Journal

What are you reading this Friday? Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. [...]

Read More...

For Your Consideration: April LibraryReads titles

For Your Consideration: April LibraryReads titles

The March LibraryReads list may have just been announced (thank you to everyone who voted for PRECIOUS THING!!!), but we're already excited about April's potential picks. With February being such a short month and the Winter Olympics distracting us from reading time, the March 1 deadline to nominate April 2014 publications will be here faster than Shani Davis can break a new speedskating record!

Here's the inside track on our hot April titles: 

KEEP QUIET by Lisa Scottoline
In New York Times bestselling author Scottoline's latest standalone, Jake Whitmore is enjoying a rare bonding moment with his sixteen-year-old son, Ryan, when they get in a terrible car accident that threatens to derail Ryan’s future. Jake makes a split-second decision that saves his son from formal punishment, but plunges them both into a world of guilt, lies, and secrecy. When a malevolent outsider comes forward with the power to expose them, Jake must do anything he can to prevent the further unraveling of his family.

THE PLOVER by Brian Doyle
When Declan O Donnell flees his troubled life on land by setting out on the Pacific Ocean in his boat, the Plover, he discovers something much more interesting than the solitude he sought. "Doyle (editor, Portland Magazine) has written a novel in the adventurous style of Jack London and Robert Louis Stevenson but with a gentle mocking of their valorization of the individual as absolute. Readers will enjoy this bracing and euphoric ode to the vastness of the ocean and the unexpectedness of life." — Library Journal, starred review

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. However, the girls' lascivious (and French) piano teacher has an education beyond music in his plans. "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." — Booklist

DESTROYER ANGEL by Nevada Barr
In the next book in Barr's New York Times bestselling Anna Pigeon series, a camping trip in Minnesota goes harrowingly wrong when Anna's friends are taken hostage by armed thugs. "Once again, Barr lays down a riveting mystery and permeates the pages with scrupulous descriptions of Anna's struggle with the cold, with the night, and with the terror and fear of not rescuing her friends." — Library Journal, starred review 

DON'T EVER LOOK BACK by Daniel Friedman
In this "alternately humorous and moving sequel" (Publishers Weekly) to the Edgar Award-nominated debut DON'T EVER GET OLD, feisty octogenarian Buck Schatz is trying to close the case on some unsolved robberies from his past.

'TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY by Lauren Francis-Sharma
This buzzed about debut novel is a glorious and moving multi-generational, multicultural saga that begins in the 1940s and sweeps through the 1960s in Trinidad and the United States. "Why the buzz: Voice, Voice, Voice! A story that takes you places you have never been and will stay with you forever." — Publishers Weekly, ABA's Winter Institute 9 round-up

MIMI MALLOY AT LAST by Julia MacDonnell
An April 2014 Indie Next pick! "MacDonnell captures perfectly the family dynamics between sisters, mothers, and daughters, as if she were sitting in on their gab sessions, taking copious notes. For readers who enjoy Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, this is a highly engaging family chronicle, with a healthy dose of Irish history laced in as well." — Booklist 
 

THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay
The internationally bestselling author of SARAH'S KEY returns with another absorbing novel about a young writer who, while digging into his family’s deeply buried secrets, finds the key to his future.

For more April LibraryReads title suggestions, view our collection on Edelweiss. Happy reading and happy nominating!

[...]

Read More...

css.php