For Your Consideration: May 2016 LibraryReads Titles

May16LRcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart
In New York Times bestselling author Hart’s highly anticipated Southern gothic thriller, a troubled detective must confront her past in the aftermath of a brutal shooting. Meanwhile, a former cop walks free after 13 years in prison—is he responsible for what happened at the abandoned church deep in the forest? “[Calling it a] thriller doesn’t do full justice to the book at all. Great for literary and thriller lovers alike.” — Kellie Currie, Delphi Public Library, Delphi IN

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


CITY OF THE LOST
by Kelley Armstrong

Casey Duncan is a homicide detective with a secret: when she was in college, she killed a man. She was never caught, but he was the grandson of a mobster and she knows this crime will catch up to her. On the run now, Casey finds refuge in an off-the-grid town harboring those wishing to disappear, but the town has its own dark secrets. “At heart this is a blood-soaked, locked-room mystery on steroids; readers should prepare for an all-nighter to finish it.” — Booklist

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley or request a print galley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “City of the Lost.”*

THE CHILDREN by Ann Leary
From New York Times bestselling author Leary comes the captivating story of a wealthy, but unconventional New England family, told from the perspective of a reclusive 29-year-old who has a secret (and famous) life on the Internet.

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


BOAR ISLAND
by Nevada Barr

In her 19th adventure, Anna Pigeon has taken over as acting chief ranger at Acadia National Park in Maine, where she must help her friend’s daughter, who is an unfortunate victim of cyber-bullying and stalking. “As in the previous mysteries, a dramatic landscape is a major presence. An aging Anna is becoming less of a superwoman, and making room for other characters. The book’s release is well timed for this year’s National Park Service centennial celebration.” — Library Journal, starred review

To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Boar Island.”*


IN THE COUNTRY WE LOVE: My Family Divided
by Diane Guerrero

The star of Orange is the New Black and Jane the Virgin presents her personal story of the real plight of undocumented immigrants in this country. Diane’s memoir also casts a much-needed light on the fears that haunt the daily existence of families like hers and on a system that fails them over and over.

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE TRUE TAILS OF BAKER & TAYLOR: The Library Cats Who Left Their Pawprints on a Small Town… and the World
by Jan Louch & Lisa Rogak

LIBRARY CATS!!! Need we say more? OK, this is librarian Louch’s memoir about her pair of Scottish Fold cats who became the most famous library cats in the world. “Louch’s sweet memoir honors Baker and Taylor and all the people who connected because of them. Such cute kitties!” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


KEEP YOU CLOSE
by Lucie Whitehouse

The day Marianne Glass falls to her death, Rowan Winter hasn’t spoken to her in ten years. Yet Rowan knows it couldn’t have been an accident, as everyone insists. The author of BEFORE WE MET returns with another brilliantly twisting psychological thriller that asks, How far would you go to protect the people you love?

To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Keep You Close.”*


THE SPORT OF KINGS
by C.E. Morgan

This epic novel steeped in American history charts the course of a Kentucky horse breeder, his daughter, and a black man fresh from prison working in the stables, as they try to mold a fiery thoroughbred filly named Hellsmouth into a Triple Crown champion. “Vaultingly ambitious, thrillingly well-written, charged with moral fervor and rueful compassion. How will this dazzling writer astonish us next time?”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Been waiting for a big juicy book set in horse country. THIS is where readers go after they’ve gone through all the Dick Francis and Seabiscuit books.” — Kaite Stover, Kansas City Public Library, Kansas City MO

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


MISSION HILL
by Pamela Wechsler

In Wechsler’s gripping debut, upper crust Boston DA Abby Endicott is assigned a murder case both politically charged and intensely personal. “Though the swiftly moving plot offers plenty of surprises, it’s the realism with which the author, a seasoned Boston criminal prosecutor who’s now a legal consultant for TV shows, depicts varied worlds from Brahmin glitzy to Roxbury gritty that will make readers eager for Abby’s next adventure.” — Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


THE 100 YEAR MIRACLE
by Ashley Ream

Once a century, for only six days, the bay around a small Washington island glows like a water-bound aurora. Dr. Rachel Bell, a scientist studying The 100 Year Miracle and the tiny sea creatures that create it, knows a secret about the phenomenon: it may contain a power that could save Rachel’s own life (and change the world). “Already one of my favorite novels of 2016.” — Gillian Flynn

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


DESERT BOYS
by Chris McCormick

In the tradition of WE, THE ANIMALS by Justin Torres, DESERT BOYS follows the life of Daley Kushner, growing up, coming out, and grappling with the remnants of his childhood in California’s Mojave Desert through a series of linked stories.

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Desert Boys” and your mailing address.*

There are even more May 2016 titles in our Edelweiss collection!

New to LibraryReads? Read our FAQ for more information on how to participate.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted for access to Macmillan e-galleys.

*Only available to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S. Limited quantity of print ARCs available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.