Author Spotlight: Brandon Sanderson (11/20/20)

Bestselling author and Hugo Award winner Brandon Sanderson returns with the next eagerly awaited installment in The Stormlight Archive epic fantasy series, RHYTHM OF WAR. This continuation of The Stormlight Archive saga finds Dalinar Kholin and his Knights Radiant a year into their war when a new technological discovery could change everything. RHYTHM OF WAR […]

Read More…

The Stormlight Archive #4 Coming Fall 2020

Brandon Sanderson fans and epic fantasy readers around the world, rejoice! The fourth book in Sanderson’s bestselling Stormlight Archive series will hit shelves near you on November 17, 2020. After forming a coalition of human resistance against the enemy invasion, Dalinar Kholin and his Knights Radiant have spent a year fighting a protracted, brutal war. […]

Read More…

June is Audiobook Month & Audie Award Winners

June is Audiobook Month & Audie Award Winners

Listen up: June is Audiobook Month! And what better way to kick it off than by celebrating Macmillan Audio’s recent Audie Award winners! Personal Development WHAT I KNOW FOR SURE by Oprah Winfrey (narrated by the author) Short Stories/Collections THE ASSASSINATION OF MARGARET THATCHER by Hilary Mantel (narrated by Jane Carr) Fantasy WORDS OF RADIANCE […]

Read More…

2015 Audie Awards Finalists

2015 Audie Awards Finalists

Terrific news: our friends at Macmillan Audio have 22 finalists in the 2015 Audie Awards! Business/Educational TALK LIKE TED by Carmine Gallo, read by Carmine Gallo Classic THE ODYSSEY by Homer, translated by Robert Fitzgerald, read by Dan Stevens Fantasy WORDS OF RADIANCE by Brandon Sanderson, read by Michael Kramer and Kate Reading History/Biography ENDURING […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (3/4/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (3/4/14 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we're celebrating:

SHOTGUN LOVESONGS by Nickolas Butler
Butler's debut novel about the relationship between four friends in a small Midwest town is the #1 March Indie Next pick, and is receiving rave reviews from Kirkus, Booklist, Shelf Awareness, and more. Don't miss the chance to meet him at PLA next week!

NOTES FROM THE INTERNET APOCALYPSE by Wayne Gladstone
Perfect for fans of David Wong, Chad Kultgen, and Chuck Palahniuk, Cracked.com columnist Wayne Gladstone’s novel about what happens when the world suddenly loses all Internet access is a hilarious look at life unplugged. “...the punchlines are pitch-perfect. Anyone who spends time sharing jokes in web communities will find this satire irresistible.” — Booklist

BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU WISH FOR by Jeffrey Archer
The fourth volume in Jeffrey Archer's New York Times bestselling Clifton Chronicles series opens with Harry Clifton and his wife Emma rushing to learn the fate of their son Sebastian, who has been in a fatal car accident. But who died, Sebastian or his best friend? “Archer’s...tight plotting make for a page-turning rich man’s soap opera. Lightweight, entertaining beach reading.” — Kirkus Reviews

WORDS OF RADIANCE by Brandon Sanderson
“Sanderson’s skill at world building is unmatched, and in the 'Stormlight Archive' series he has developed an innovative magical system and combined it with rich, complex characters to create a compelling story. His eagerly awaited sequel to THE WAY OF KINGS exceeds expectations. This developing epic series is a must-read for all fantasy fans.” – Library Journal, starred review

[...]

Read More...

Calling all Sci-Fi/ Fantasy Readers!

Calling all Sci-Fi/ Fantasy Readers!

Pillar to the Sky jacketLike a Mighty Army jacketGoblin Emperor jacketWords of Radiance jacketMy Real Children jacketLock In jacket
Here's the scoop on the latest greatest and soon-to-come SF & Fantasy from Tor Books:

PILLAR TO THE SKY by William Forstchen
PILLAR TO THE SKY is part of NASA-inspired Works of Fiction–a partnership between NASA and Tor/Forge aimed at raising awareness of science, technology, engineering, and math, and attracting students to those fields. The titular pillar is a controversial supertower developed by a visionary rocket scientist intent on finding a new energy source. "Forstchen’s work is as convincingly told as it is diverting." – Kirkus Reviews

LIKE A MIGHTY ARMY by David Weber
In the seventh entry in Weber's popular Safehold series, Merlyn Athrawes, the cybernetic avatar of a thousand-year-old warrior, has one purpose: to restart the history of the too-long-hidden human race. "Weber’s seventh far-future Safehold novel is a complex and fascinating epic about change, identity, and the nature of faith." – Publishers Weekly 

THE GOBLIN EMPEROR by Katherine Addison
A half-goblin named Maia unwittingly inherits the throne to the Imperial Court and struggles to navigate the politics of being Emperor. "Addison patiently and tellingly paints in the backdrop, mingling steampunk elements and low-key magic with imperial intricacies. The result is a spellbinding and genuinely affecting drama. Unreservedly recommended." – Kirkus Reviews, starred review

WORDS OF RADIANCE by Brandon Sanderson
In the second volume of New York Times bestseller Sanderson's Stormlight Archive (after THE WAY OF KINGS), the war with the Parshendi will move into a new, dangerous phase, Jasnah and Shallan search for the legendary city of Urithiru, and Kaladin is learning how to fulfill his new role as leader of the restored Knights Radiant. "... the novel is weighty without being ponderous, and delivers a satisfactory story despite being part of an episodic secondary world fantasy series." – Publishers Weekly 

[...]

Read More...

css.php