For Your Consideration: April 2017 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: April 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the April 2017* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due February 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines. WALKAWAY by Cory Doctorow Two starred reviews! Cory Doctorow’s first adult novel in eight years: a “sweeping epic” (Booklist, starred review) of revolution, love, post-scarcity, and the end […]

Read More…

Friday Reads: Writers

Friday Reads: Writers

TGIF, lovely librarians! Today’s #FridayReads are new and forthcoming books about writers: EVELYN WAUGH: A Life Revisited by Philip Eade On the fiftieth anniversary of Evelyn Waugh’s death, here is a completely fresh view of one of the most gifted—and fascinating—writers of our time. “A biography both thoughtful and intimate… Drawing on previously unavailable letters, […]

Read More…

SMP Winter 2017 E-Samplers

SMP Winter 2017 E-Samplers

Happy Labor Day weekend! We hope you’ve got a three day weekend ahead of you with plenty of reading time. May we suggest downloading two excellent free Winter 2017 chapter samplers from our friends at St. Martin’s Press? Discover debut talent in the St. Martin’s First e-sampler and pay tribute to history’s greatest writers with […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (7/7/15 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (7/7/15 Edition)

It’s a big day for brand new books! BELL WEATHER by Dennis Mahoney A July 2015 Indie Next pick! An otherworldly and kinetic story set in a fantastical 18th century starring a young woman who must uncover the secrets of her past while confronting the present dangers of a magical wilderness. “The real strength of […]

Read More…

2015 Audie Awards Finalists

2015 Audie Awards Finalists

Terrific news: our friends at Macmillan Audio have 22 finalists in the 2015 Audie Awards! Business/Educational TALK LIKE TED by Carmine Gallo, read by Carmine Gallo Classic THE ODYSSEY by Homer, translated by Robert Fitzgerald, read by Dan Stevens Fantasy WORDS OF RADIANCE by Brandon Sanderson, read by Michael Kramer and Kate Reading History/Biography ENDURING […]

Read More…

Macmillan Publishers Broadens E-lending Pilot Program to Library Consortia

Macmillan Publishers Broadens E-lending Pilot Program to Library Consortia

Fantastic news! We are pleased to announce that Macmillan has expanded its eBook lending pilot program to include library consortia, effective immediately! The pilot program has been in place since March 2013 and recently expanded to include all frontlist Macmillan eBooks. Macmillan has approximately 15,000 books available in the library e-lending program from bestselling authors […]

Read More…

Friday Reads: May 2014 Indie Next Edition

Friday Reads: May 2014 Indie Next Edition

Happy Friday, friends! Today's #FridayReads are May 2014 Indie Next picks:

Talia is reading CAN'T WE TALK ABOUT SOMETHING MORE PLEASANT? by Roz Chast
New Yorker cartoonist Chast's graphic memoir walks the line between poignancy and humor as she tells the personal story of her parents’ final years. “A top-notch graphic memoir that adds a whole new dimension to readers’ appreciation of Chast and her work.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Anne is reading THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay
The internationally bestselling author of SARAH'S KEY returns with another absorbing novel about a young writer who, while digging into his family’s deeply buried secrets, finds the key to his future. “...de Rosnay's fans and readers who enjoy contemporary interior novels will not be disappointed.” — Library Journal

What are you reading today? Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib

[...]

Read More...

Belated #BookBday (4/15/14 Edition)

Belated #BookBday (4/15/14 Edition)

We're a day late in wishing these books a Happy #BookBday, but it's only to keep the party going!

THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay
The internationally bestselling author of SARAH'S KEY returns with another absorbing novel about a young writer who, while digging into his family’s deeply buried secrets, finds the key to his future. A May 2014 Indie Next selection!
“...de Rosnay's fans and readers who enjoy contemporary interior novels will not be disappointed.” — Library Journal
 

A PARIS APARTMENT by Michelle Gable
An antique furniture appraiser finds a treasure trove—and secrets of its courtesan owner—in a Paris apartment in the ninth arrondissement. “With its well-developed, memorable characters and the author's skillful transitioning between story lines...this stunning and fascinating debut will capture the interest of a wide audience but particularly those interested in stories about women behind famous men like Melanie Benjamin's THE AVIATOR'S WIFE or Nancy Horan's UNDER THE WIDE AND STARRY SKY. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE SEA HOUSE by Elisabeth Gifford
Set in Scotland's remote Outer Hebrides, THE SEA HOUSE is a beguiling tale of love and loss, a meditation on motherhood, and how we find our identity through the stories we tell. “Hints of magic abound in Gifford’s haunting fiction debut, which follows two story lines... Gifford has an ability to bring depth to her characters, whether they live in the 19th century or the 20th, and this helps hold together her sweeping tale.” — Publishers Weekly

'TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY by Lauren Francis-Sharma
This buzzed about debut novel is a glorious and moving multi-generational, multicultural saga that begins in the 1940s and sweeps through the 1960s in Trinidad and the United States. “Francis-Sharma’s spellbinding, intimately detailed, psychologically lush, and suspenseful tale of racial and sexual trauma, hard work, love, and family devotion makes personal the injustice people endured in the years leading up to the civil rights movement in both multicultural Trinidad and segregated America.” — Booklist, starred review

[...]

Read More...

For Your Consideration: April LibraryReads titles

For Your Consideration: April LibraryReads titles

The March LibraryReads list may have just been announced (thank you to everyone who voted for PRECIOUS THING!!!), but we're already excited about April's potential picks. With February being such a short month and the Winter Olympics distracting us from reading time, the March 1 deadline to nominate April 2014 publications will be here faster than Shani Davis can break a new speedskating record!

Here's the inside track on our hot April titles: 

KEEP QUIET by Lisa Scottoline
In New York Times bestselling author Scottoline's latest standalone, Jake Whitmore is enjoying a rare bonding moment with his sixteen-year-old son, Ryan, when they get in a terrible car accident that threatens to derail Ryan’s future. Jake makes a split-second decision that saves his son from formal punishment, but plunges them both into a world of guilt, lies, and secrecy. When a malevolent outsider comes forward with the power to expose them, Jake must do anything he can to prevent the further unraveling of his family.

THE PLOVER by Brian Doyle
When Declan O Donnell flees his troubled life on land by setting out on the Pacific Ocean in his boat, the Plover, he discovers something much more interesting than the solitude he sought. "Doyle (editor, Portland Magazine) has written a novel in the adventurous style of Jack London and Robert Louis Stevenson but with a gentle mocking of their valorization of the individual as absolute. Readers will enjoy this bracing and euphoric ode to the vastness of the ocean and the unexpectedness of life." — Library Journal, starred review

SEDITION by Katharine Grant
In this "...witty, dark, and sophisticated tale" (Publishers Weekly, starred review), four nouveau rich fathers make their five marriageable daughters learn to play the piano in an effort to attract men and marry well. However, the girls' lascivious (and French) piano teacher has an education beyond music in his plans. "[A] fun, lascivious gambol through the lives of women and men with decidedly carnal appetites... Suggest to fans of Sarah Dunant and Sarah Waters." — Booklist

DESTROYER ANGEL by Nevada Barr
In the next book in Barr's New York Times bestselling Anna Pigeon series, a camping trip in Minnesota goes harrowingly wrong when Anna's friends are taken hostage by armed thugs. "Once again, Barr lays down a riveting mystery and permeates the pages with scrupulous descriptions of Anna's struggle with the cold, with the night, and with the terror and fear of not rescuing her friends." — Library Journal, starred review 

DON'T EVER LOOK BACK by Daniel Friedman
In this "alternately humorous and moving sequel" (Publishers Weekly) to the Edgar Award-nominated debut DON'T EVER GET OLD, feisty octogenarian Buck Schatz is trying to close the case on some unsolved robberies from his past.

'TIL THE WELL RUNS DRY by Lauren Francis-Sharma
This buzzed about debut novel is a glorious and moving multi-generational, multicultural saga that begins in the 1940s and sweeps through the 1960s in Trinidad and the United States. "Why the buzz: Voice, Voice, Voice! A story that takes you places you have never been and will stay with you forever." — Publishers Weekly, ABA's Winter Institute 9 round-up

MIMI MALLOY AT LAST by Julia MacDonnell
An April 2014 Indie Next pick! "MacDonnell captures perfectly the family dynamics between sisters, mothers, and daughters, as if she were sitting in on their gab sessions, taking copious notes. For readers who enjoy Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher, this is a highly engaging family chronicle, with a healthy dose of Irish history laced in as well." — Booklist 
 

THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay
The internationally bestselling author of SARAH'S KEY returns with another absorbing novel about a young writer who, while digging into his family’s deeply buried secrets, finds the key to his future.

For more April LibraryReads title suggestions, view our collection on Edelweiss. Happy reading and happy nominating!

[...]

Read More...

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2014 nominees

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2014 nominees

We're pleased to announce that Macmillan has 17 books longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, which honors works of fiction with high literary merit. Nominees include:

BRING UP THE BODIES by Hilary Mantel

THE DREAM OF THE CELT by Mario Vargas Llosa

THE FORRESTS by Emily Perkins

HHhH by Laurent Binet

THE HOUSE I LOVED by Tatiana de Rosnay

THE HUNGER ANGEL by Herta Müller

IGNORANCE by Michèle Roberts

JACK HOLMES AND HIS FRIEND by Edmund White

A LADY CYCLIST’S GUIDE TO KASHGAR by Suzanne Joinson

THE LIGHT OF AMSTERDAM by David Park

MEMOIRS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Matthew Dicks

MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

MY STRUGGLE: Book 1 by Karl Ove Knausgaard

PAINTER OF SILENCE by Georgina Harding

A POSSIBLE LIFE by Sebastian Faulks

THE TELEPORTATION ACCIDENT by Ned Beauman

TRAVELER OF THE CENTURY by Andrés Neuman

View the full list of nominees here.  

The shortlist will be announced on April 9, 2014 and the Lord Mayor of Dublin will announce the winner on June, 12 2014. Congratulations!
[...]

Read More...

css.php