Sneak Peek: December 2019 Indie Next List

Sneak Peek: December 2019 Indie Next List

Macmillan rules the December Indie Next list with the #1 spot plus FIVE more titles! #1 Pick: WAKE, SIREN: Ovid Resung by Nina MacLaughlin 2 starred reviews! “Provocative reinterpretations of some very old stories… Vital, vivid, and angry.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review “The free mingling of ancient characters with elements of workaday modern life won’t please […]

Read More…

Booklist’s 2019 Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror Spotlight

Booklist’s 2019 Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror Spotlight

Booklist‘s top Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror reading lists of 2019 include these Macmillan titles! Top 10 MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey An Indie Next Pick + LibraryReads Pick + 2 starred reviews! Top 10 Debuts THE RUIN OF KINGS: A Chorus of Dragons (Volume 1) by Jenn Lyons A Library Journal Best Debut […]

Read More…

Sneak Peek: September 2019 Indie Next List

Sneak Peek: September 2019 Indie Next List

The September 2019 Indie Next List features FIVE Macmillan titles! GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir 4 starred reviews + a Library Journal Best Debut of the Summer! “This extraordinary opening salvo will leave readers dying to know what happens next.“–Booklist, starred review “From the mad science joys of necromantic theory to the deliciously ever-evolving […]

Read More…

Library Journal’s Summer/Fall Bests | Debut Novels 2019

Library Journal’s Summer/Fall Bests | Debut Novels 2019

Ready to discover a new author? The experts at Library Journal made it very easy for you by picking their favorites: THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess A July Indie Next Pick! “Written with fresh confidence and verve, this first novel is a bibliophile’s delight, with plenty of title-dropping and humorous digs at the […]

Read More…

World Fantasy Award Finalists 2019

World Fantasy Award Finalists 2019

Congrats to Macmillan’s 2019 World Fantasy Award finalists! NovelTHE MERE WIFE by Maria Dahvana Headley WITCHMARK by C. L. Polk NovellaTHE ONLY HARMLESS GREAT THING by Brooke Bolander THE BLACK GOD’S DRUMS by P. Djèlí Clark BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire AnthologyWORLDS SEEN IN PASSING: Ten Years of Tor.com Short Fiction, edited by […]

Read More…

Four Stars for GIDEON THE NINTH

Four Stars for GIDEON THE NINTH

Swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers–oh my! Tamsyn Muir’s debut GIDEON THE NINTH now has FOUR starred reviews! “Muir’s debut fuses science fiction, mystery, horror, fantasy, action, adventure, political intrigue, deadly dark humor, and a dash of romance with a healthy serving of skeletons and secrets and the spirit of queer joy. This extraordinary opening […]

Read More…

LOCK IN lands on the August 2014 LibraryReads list!

LOCK IN lands on the August 2014 LibraryReads list!

FANTASTIC NEWS! LOCK IN by John Scalzi is #4 on the August 2014 LibraryReads list! In Hugo Award-winning author Scalzi’s latest sci-fi novel, a meningitis-like virus known as “Haden’s syndrome” has swept the globe, leaving nearly 5 million people “locked in”—fully awake and aware, but unable to move or respond to stimulus. Locked-in Haden’s survivors can […]

Read More…

Starred Reviews for Existence

Starred Reviews for Existence

 

Did Prometheus get your patrons back in the mood for some seriously pulse-pounding alien stories? I figured as much! And if they're looking for an epic alien adventure that's new to the shelves, pass them EXISTENCE by Hugo and Nebula Award-winner David Brin. 

Gerald Livingston is your typical orbital garbage collector. For a hundred years, people have been abandoning things in space and it's his job to clean it up. When Gerald finds an alien communication device orbiting Earth with the message, "JOIN US," he and the rest of mankind are thrown into a maelstrom of fear, hope, violence, joy, and insatiable curiosity.

"Brin’s thoughtful, multilayered story explores a first contact scenario where every twist reveals greater peril. His longtime fans will especially appreciate that this story could be read as a prequel to 1983’s STARTIDE RISING, while those not familiar with his work will find it an impressive introduction to one of SF’s major talents." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Featuring memorable characters and masterly storytelling, Brin’s latest novel provides food for thought and entertainment. Fans of Vernor Vinge and Arthur C. Clarke, as well as Brin’s own sizable fan base, will enjoy this multidimensional story." -Library Journal (starred review)

"Brin's EXISTENCE is bursting with ideas, including near-future tech, first contact with aliens, and the exploration of what it means to be human. It's the sort of novel that runs the risk of being overstuffed — but EXISTENCE pulls it off." -io9

Also GeekWire.com did an interview with David Brin about the state of Science Fiction, new media forms, nonfiction, and EXISTENCE here!

[...]

Read More...

css.php