BEA 2016 – Friday Events

BEA 2016 – Friday Events

It’s the last day of BEA! Come to all of our excellent programs and stop by the Macmillan booth (#1958-1959) for our final ​giveaways and signings.​ “Mac Snack Book Attack” — #LibrariansOnly! 9:30-10:30am McCormick Place | Macmillan Booth #1958 A special librarian-only event! Come to the Macmillan booth (#1958) for free ARCs, a breakfast snack, and personalized […]

Read More…

Macmillan Library @ LJ/SLJ Day of Dialog & BEA 2016!

Macmillan Library @ LJ/SLJ Day of Dialog & BEA 2016!

BookExpo America ​is just around the corner and we ​can’t wait to see you in Chicago at L​ibrary ​J​ournal​ & S​chool ​L​ibrary ​J​ournal​’s Day of Dialog, at BEA in the Macmillan booth (#1958-1959), and at these great ​events.​ *As always, our schedule is subject to change.  Please check back often! Wednesday, May 11 Library Journal‘s […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: September 2015 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: September 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the September 2015* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines. BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz & “Shout ‘n Share” selection! “An arresting memoir that personalizes the enduring racial […]

Read More…

Monday Fun Day with ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS

Monday Fun Day with ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS

Happy Monday friends! We've got a treat for you today–it's a success story. Who doesn't love those?

Once We Were Brothers ad

By day Ronald H. Balson is a trial attorney in Chicago, but by night (or the weekend, or whenever he has time), he writes. His practice took him around the globe and seeing villages in Poland inspired his debut novel, ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS, which he self-published. With virtually no marketing or publicity, it steadily built word-of-mouth acclaim (the average Goodreads rating is 4-1/2 stars) until an eagle-eyed editor at St. Martin's Press snapped it up.

ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS is a heart-wrenching story about two boys, as close as can be without blood relation, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust as they struggle to survive in war-torn Poland. Sixty years later, their lives collide in a quest for redemption. The result is an enthralling tale of love, survival, and triumph of the human spirit, perfect for fans of SARAH'S KEY by Tatiana de Rosnay. 

"This novel is uplifting and moving, intelligently written and featuring historically accurate context and an unusual insight into human character and motivations. Highly recommended for all readers." – Library Journal, starred review

"...readers will be riveted by this novel’s central question: Will justice long delayed be denied?" – Kirkus Reviews

"Many will enjoy this gripping novel for its narrative drive and its emotional storytelling." – Booklist

[...]

Read More...

css.php