The BIG Book Club Resource Guide

The BIG Book Club Resource Guide

Ready to rev up your library’s book club? Great! We’ve got a TON of resources to help: Reading Group Gold is the destination for reading group news, sweepstakes and giveaways, early copies of upcoming books, and reading guides for select titles from Macmillan. You can also sign up for their newsletter. Our “One Book, One […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (9/21/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (9/21/17 Edition)

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? We’re reading: MURDEROUS MISTRAL by Cay Rademacher Two starred reviews! “Rademacher, short-listed for the Crime Writers’ Association International Dagger Award (for The Murderer in Ruins), has written a carefully plotted police procedural that vividly captures the landscape and scents of Provence while introducing Blanc and a small group of […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (9/8/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (9/8/16 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to series regulars and new mysteries: THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart THREE starred reviews! “Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd THREE starred reviews! “Dodd […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the September 2016* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines. HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (9/17/15 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (9/17/15 Edition)

Cozy treats and big thrills await you this #ThrillerThursday: SHANGHAI REDEMPTION by Qiu Xiaolong THREE stars for the 9th Inspector Chen Cao mystery, where he learns just how difficult it is to be an honest cop in a corrupt police state. “Atmospheric and rich in details about life in communist China, Qiu’s incisive portrait of […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: September 2015 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: September 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the September 2015* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines. BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz & “Shout ‘n Share” selection! “An arresting memoir that personalizes the enduring racial […]

Read More…

Monday Fun Day with ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS

Monday Fun Day with ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS

Happy Monday friends! We've got a treat for you today–it's a success story. Who doesn't love those?

Once We Were Brothers ad

By day Ronald H. Balson is a trial attorney in Chicago, but by night (or the weekend, or whenever he has time), he writes. His practice took him around the globe and seeing villages in Poland inspired his debut novel, ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS, which he self-published. With virtually no marketing or publicity, it steadily built word-of-mouth acclaim (the average Goodreads rating is 4-1/2 stars) until an eagle-eyed editor at St. Martin's Press snapped it up.

ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS is a heart-wrenching story about two boys, as close as can be without blood relation, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust as they struggle to survive in war-torn Poland. Sixty years later, their lives collide in a quest for redemption. The result is an enthralling tale of love, survival, and triumph of the human spirit, perfect for fans of SARAH'S KEY by Tatiana de Rosnay. 

"This novel is uplifting and moving, intelligently written and featuring historically accurate context and an unusual insight into human character and motivations. Highly recommended for all readers." – Library Journal, starred review

"...readers will be riveted by this novel’s central question: Will justice long delayed be denied?" – Kirkus Reviews

"Many will enjoy this gripping novel for its narrative drive and its emotional storytelling." – Booklist

[...]

Read More...

css.php