Thriller Thursday (12/14/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (12/14/17 Edition)

Cozy up with some cozies (and a psychological thriller) this December: BLOODSTAINS WITH BRONTE by Katherine Bolger Hyde The second book in a delightful new cozy mystery series in which an English teacher becomes involved in murder cases that reflect elements of her favorite books. “The writers’-retreat theme opens the story to plenty of literary […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Three new adventures in continuing mystery series are our #ThrillerThursday picks: THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson Perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie, this next book in the Dandy Gilver series is set in a seaside fishing town. “This is a grand mystery, full of fishy motives, […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (12/10/15 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (12/10/15 Edition)

We hope you’ve been following all the great mystery & thriller recommendations on Twitter from your fellow librarians (hashtag #libfaves15). Today we celebrate five new spine-tingling books out this week and next: DESPERATE MEASURES by Jo Bannister Bannister’s third series outing finds police officer Hazel Best helping her friend Gabriel Ash rescue his family from […]

Read More…

Labor Day 2015 Reads

Labor Day 2015 Reads

The long Labor Day weekend is here! To celebrate an extra day of reading time, here’s a list of great Fall 2015 and Winter 2016 reads you can download on Edelweiss NOW!* Don’t forget to nominate your favorite for LibraryReads! Highly Anticipated!! LUST & WONDER by Augusten Burroughs A WILD SWAN by Michael Cunningham THE GIVENNESS […]

Read More…

Queens Library Mystery Book Buzz 2014

Queens Library Mystery Book Buzz 2014

Today Anne presented all the latest and greatest Mystery titles at the Queens Library “Mystery in the Stacks” Book Buzz. We don’t want anyone to feel left out, so here are the books she talked about: LibraryReads MALICE by Keigo Higashino MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny […]

Read More…

It’s a COZY Thursday (12/19/13)

It’s a COZY Thursday (12/19/13)

Thursdays are usually reserved for hearty and heaping dishes of thrillers...  And our policy has always been, the bloodier the better! But we’re feeling festive and just generally smiley—or in Anne the “Sweet Teeth” Spieth’s case, coated in flour and sugar thanks to her baking adventures—so, we’ve decided to swap our gruesome reads for a few picks from Macmillan’s cozier shelves: 

HEIRS OF THE BODY by Carola Dunn
In this next book in the Daisy Dalrymple series, one of four potential claimants to the title of Lord Dalrymple dies a sudden, nasty death. Was it murder? It's up to Daisy to find out.

MURDER AND MOONSHINE by Carol Miller
This debut mystery set in the heart of moonshine country brims with Southern charm courtesy of our young heroine, Daisy. Working as a diner waitress, Daisy overhears lots of secrets, but not one as dangerous as the one old man Dickerson spills before he drops dead in the diner.

ROSEMARY AND CRIME by Gail Oust
Recently divorced, Piper Prescott has got a new lease on life. She's moved down to Georgia from the north and fulfilled a life long dream by opening a spice shop. But Piper’s grand opening goes awry when the local chef who’s agreed to do a cooking demo is found stabbed and Piper is suspect #1.

MURDER AS A SECOND LANGUAGE by Joan Hess
In the next Claire Malloy mystery, Claire now finds herself a married woman with free time on her hands. Attempts at volunteering and cooking don't do well, but when her husband Deputy Chief Peter Rosen asks for her help in a murder investigation, Claire finds she's right back where she belongs. 

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib

[...]

Read More...

NYPL Mystery Book Buzz 2013

NYPL Mystery Book Buzz 2013

Today Anne is presenting all the latest and greatest Mystery titles at the New York Public Library Book Buzz (9:30-noon EST). We don't want anyone to feel left out, so here’s what she’ll be talking about:

 
AN OLD BETRAYAL by Charles Finch
The seventh book in Finch’s bestselling Victorian mystery series, starring his intelligent and charming sleuth extraordinaire Charles Lenox.
 
ONCE UPON A LIE by Maggie Barbieri
In a dramatic departure from her Murder 101 series, Barbieri has written a riveting mystery about one burnt out mother's desperate determination to protect her family's future by facing down her past.
 
MURDER AND MOONSHINE by Carol Miller
A debut mystery set in the heart of moonshine country and brimming with Southern charm courtesy of our heroine Daisy, a young diner waitress.
 
ROSEMARY AND CRIME by Gail Oust
Murder comes well-seasoned in this charming new cozy series featuring Piper Prescott, a small-town Georgia spice shop owner/spunky amateur sleuth.
 
THE ORPHAN CHOIR by Sophie Hannah
A standalone psychological suspense novel that is “Absolutely haunting, in every sense of the word.” — Booklist, starred review
 
SNOWBLIND by Christopher Golden
Survivors of a blizzard twelve years ago are being haunted by the memories of those who died. Stephen King said, "Throw away all those old ‘it was a dark and stormy night’ novels; this one is the real deal.”
 
APPLE TREE YARD by Louise Doughty
A woman in the wrong place, at the wrong time with the wrong man—evocative of the psychological suspense and dangerous eroticism found in the blockbuster thrillers “Unfaithful” and “Fatal Attraction.”
 
BAD WOLF by Nele Neuhaus
The next book in the internationally bestselling series that began with SNOW WHITE MUST DIE.
 
THE INNOCENT SLEEP by Karen Perry
A couple are restarting their lives five years after their son died in a tragic accident. But is the son really dead?
 
DOING HARM by Kelly Parsons
In this highly anticipated debut thriller from board-certified urologist Parsons, a doctor is about to get his dream job at a Boston hospital when he learns his patient’s mysterious death was caused by a sociopath he knows.
 
WHERE MONSTERS DWELL by Jørgen Brekke
Two gruesome murders take place half a world apart in Virginia and Norway and are somehow connected to The Book of John—a journal bound in human skin written by a sixteenth century serial murderer from Norway.
 
PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
Rachel and Clara are two best friends who drift apart—until Rachel's job as a crime reporter leads her back to Clara, who turns out to be the missing person at the police press conference Rachel is covering.
 
THE REVENANT OF THRAXTON HALL by Vaughn Entwistle
Arthur Conan Doyle and Oscar Wilde team up to investigate the future death of a medium at a manor in the English countryside.
 
NOTORIOUS by Allison Brennan
Brennan launches a new series starring investigative reporter Max Revere, a tough-as-nails lady with with her own TV show and a knack for solving cold cases.
 
RUNNER by Patrick Lee
An explosive new thriller series starring retired special forces operative Sam Dryden. Library Journal called it “a high-tech thriller that’s hard to put down.”
 
DEAD WATER by Ann Cleeves
The eagerly awaited new entry in Ann Cleeves' popular mystery series set in the Shetland Islands, now airing on BBC as the television series Shetland.
 
DON’T EVER LOOK BACK by Daniel Friedman
The sequel to the Edgar Award-nominated debut DON'T EVER GET OLD, starring feisty octogenarian Buck Schatz. This time Buck is trying to finish some unsolved robberies from his past.
 
FROM THE CHARRED REMAINS by Susanna Calkins
In the next charming historical mystery featuring chambermaid Lucy Campion, a dead body is discovered in the wreckage of the Great Fire of London—only the victim didn't perish in the blaze.
 
THE CAIRO AFFAIR by Olen Steinhauer
International politics are at play as an Egyptian agent, an American analyst, a CIA agent, and a bereaved wife all converge on Cairo to find out why a diplomat was assassinated.
 
DESTROYER ANGEL by Nevada Barr
In the next book in the Anna Pigeon series, Anna must rescue her four friends from armed thugs while on a camping trip with no access to the outside world and limited resources.
 
KEEP QUIET by Lisa Scottoline
New York Times bestseller Scottoline's new thriller about a father making a split-second decision to save his son—and the consequences that follow.
 
 
Want a briefer, more adorable version? Click here to download the handout. To those attending, see you soon! [...]

Read More...

css.php