Thriller Thursday (10/24/13 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (10/24/13 Edition)

Our #ThrillerThursday picks are a bit cozier this week (it's getting cold out!), but enjoyable all the same:

ACCUSED by Lisa Scottoline
The ladies from the Rosato & Associates law firm are back! Mary DiNunzio is now a partner(!) and engaged(!!) and has an unexpected new client: thirteen-year-old Allegra Gardner, who believes the man accused of her sister's murder is innocent. "This is a long-awaited, solid entry into a terrific series that should appeal to fans of Sheldon Siegel, Rose Connors, and Steve Martini." — Booklist

Darth Cat

OUTLAW by Mark Sullivan
This high-stakes thriller continues the adventures of former CIA operative and master thief Robin Monarch (after ROGUE), who must rescue the U.S. Secretary of State and foreign ministers from China and India, who have been kidnapped. "Sullivan has created a fine adventure-thriller hero in Monarch, who fits perfectly into the Ludlum or Vince Flynn mode. The action and the surprises are nonstop. Readers will demand the next one in the series, pronto." — Booklist 

NEVER LAUGH AS A HEARSE GOES BY by Elizabeth Duncan
Who can resist a mystery involving libraries?!! Duncan's fifth book in the Penny Brannigan series "is a pleasing update of the 'body in the library' standard. In the time-honored tradition of village cozies, Duncan provides structure, subtle clues, rampant gossip, and a satisfying conclusion." — Library Journal, starred review

DUCK THE HALLS by Donna Andrews
In Meg Langslow's 16th mystery, she's tasked with finding an alternate venue for her church's holiday events while simultaneously finding a killer after a series of escalating pranks leaves another church member dead. "Andrews leavens the action with her trademark humor, including dueling Christmas dinners and an extravagant—and extravagantly funny—live nativity scene." —Publishers Weekly

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib. [...]

Read More...

Barbara’s Mystery Preview for LJ!

Barbara’s Mystery Preview for LJ!

Barbara Hoffert posted an extensive Mystery Preview for May 2012-August 2012 on Library Journal's website with some great upcoming titles that you'll want to take a peek at.

Barbara listed quite a few hawk... ehem, excuse me... hot titles coming from Minotaur later this year:

"Winner of the Agatha, Anthony, and Barry awards, plus multiple Lefty and Bromberg awards for best funny mysteries, Donna Andrews sets out to prove herself again with SOME LIKE IT HAWK." (July)

"Linda Castillo, winner of a Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense, gets appropriately atmospheric in GONE MISSING." (June)

"Sara Foster’s BENEATH THE SHADOWS is set in North Yorkshire, where Grace and Adam move to escape London. And then Adam vanishes." (June)

"Paul Doiron’s BAD LITTLE FALLS puts registered Maine guide Mike Bowditch on remote Canadian border, where a drug dealer has apparently been murdered in the midst of a blizzard." (August)

"Finally, librarian Eleanor Kuhns has won 2011’s Mystery Writers of America/Minotaur Books First Crime Novel Competition. Set in 1796 Maine, A SIMPLE MURDER features soldier turned traveling weaver Will Rees, accused of murdering a Shaker woman." (May)

She also included three excellent titles coming from Forge:

"Bill Pronzini, winner of the Edgar, Macavity, and inaugural Shamus awards, brings back the Nameless Detective, whose wife goes missing in the Sierra foothills [in] HELLBOX." (July)

"In Macavity Award winner Rebecca Cantrell’s A CITY OF BROKEN GLASS, journalist Hannah Vogel, in 1938 Poland for a festival, rushes to cover the story when she learns that 12,000 Polish Jews have been deported from Germany." (July)

"Loren D. Estleman, winner of a Shamus Award for his debut novel, SUGARTOWN, and several for his short stories, returns with BURNING MIDNIGHT, another Amos Walker mystery set in Detroit." (June)

She mentions a great crime title from Bloomsbury USA:

"In contemporary Milan, as seen in Conor Fitzgerald’s THE NAMESAKE, magistrate Matteo Arconti’s namesake is found dead near a court building in what turns out to be a threatening message to Rome." (June)

Oh yes, and finally a winner from Holt:

"Finally, don’t forget VENGEANCE. [...] Author Benjamin Black, whose Quirke novels have been big hits, is of course the Man Book prize winner John Banville." (June)

Great picks, Barbara!

[...]

Read More...

Our 2011 Agatha Award Nominees!

Our 2011 Agatha Award Nominees!

Malice Domestic has nominated quite a few excellent traditional mysteries for the Agatha Awards this year. We are especially excited about all of the fantastic Minotaur titles!

Best Novel:

md logoTHE REAL MACAW
Donna Andrews (author of the 2002 Best Novel and the 1999 Best First Novel)

WICKED AUTUMN
G. M. Malliet (author of the 2008 Best First Novel)

A TRICK OF THE LIGHT
Louise Penny (author of the 2007, 2008, 2009, and 2010 Best Novel)

Best Historical Novel:

TROUBLED BONES
Jeri Westerson

The winners will be announced at the 2011 Agatha Awards banquet to be held on April 28, 2012. We'll have our fingers crossed until then!

[...]

Read More...

Agatha Award Nominees!

Agatha Award Nominees!

The qualifications for the annual Agatha Awards are fairly simple: nothing too naughty, nothing too blood-spattered, just traditional sleuthing at its best.

In 2010, three(!) of our amazing novelists kept it classy and earned their mysteries nominations for Best Novel in this year's ceremony! 

Nominated for 2010 Best Novel:

STORK RAVING MAD by Donna Andrews

BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny

TRULY, MADLY by Heather Webber

[...]

Read More...

css.php