Thriller Thursday (4/27/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (4/27/17 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to new, mysteries, thrillers & true crime! A SINGLE SPY by William Christie Two starred reviews! During WWII, young Russian spy with divided loyalties, under deep cover in Nazi Germany, uncovers an assassination plot that could change the course of history. “With detailed historical events, compelling characters, and plenty of heart-grabbing moments, this […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/30/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/30/17 Edition)

Crime & cat cozies, oh my! Read on for our #ThrillerThursday picks: CONVICTION by Julia Dahl Three starred reviews! In Dahl’s third powerful novel, Rebekah Roberts investigates a murder that occurred in Brooklyn after the Crown Heights riots of 1991, for which the wrong man may have been convicted. “CONVICTION is a cleverly named compelling […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (2/16/17 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (2/16/17 Edition)

Spies and detectives and murderers, oh my! A DIVIDED SPY by Charles Cumming Two starred reviews! A former MI6 officer, Thomas Kell devoted his life to the Service, but it has left him with nothing but grief and a simmering anger against the Kremlin. Then Kell is offered an unexpected chance at revenge. Taking the […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (12/1/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (12/1/16 Edition)

It’s December! That chill in the air might have something to do with these two new mysteries: GLOW OF DEATH by Jane Cleland When amateur sleuth and antiques expert Josie Prescott appraises a real Tiffany lamp she is thrilled—until the owner is murdered in the eleventh mystery in this cozy series set in New Hampshire […]

Read More…

LJ Genre Spotlight: Mystery

LJ Genre Spotlight: Mystery

Happy Monday, friends! Our pal and Library Journal Mover & Shaker Kristi Chadwick recently wrote a genre spotlight column on mysteries for LJ and we’re thrilled (pun intended) that it includes so many Macmillan titles: Breaking the Color Barrier SKIES OF ASH by Rachel Howzell Hall (Detective Elouise Norton series) On sale May 19, 2015 […]

Read More…

Queens Library Mystery Book Buzz 2014

Queens Library Mystery Book Buzz 2014

Today Anne presented all the latest and greatest Mystery titles at the Queens Library “Mystery in the Stacks” Book Buzz. We don’t want anyone to feel left out, so here are the books she talked about: LibraryReads MALICE by Keigo Higashino MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

[...]

Read More...

css.php