#ThrillerThursday (4/11/19)

#ThrillerThursday (4/11/19)

An Agatha Christie adaptation, an NYC historical mystery, and a Munchhausen by proxy thriller… welcome to Thriller Thursday! THEY ALL FALL DOWN by Rachel Howzell Hall “[A] cleverly updated version of Agatha Christie’s AND THEN THERE WERE NONE…. Hall slips from funny to darkly frightening with elegant ease.”–Publishers Weekly DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN by […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Three new adventures in continuing mystery series are our #ThrillerThursday picks: THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson Perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie, this next book in the Dandy Gilver series is set in a seaside fishing town. “This is a grand mystery, full of fishy motives, […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (9/15/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (9/15/16 Edition)

Historical mysteries, a spy thriller, and a tropical debut get our #ThrillerThursday stamp of approval: THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders A September 2016 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in […]

Read More…

Oh My (Mystery) Stars!

Oh My (Mystery) Stars!

The *stars* are piling up for these six outstanding mysteries: BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd — THREE STARS! “Dodd continues her flawless pivoting from romance to suspense with the third book in her riveting series set in the small Washington town of Virtue Falls. Scary, sexy, and smartly written, BECAUSE I’M WATCHING is Dodd at […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday (7/21/16 Edition)

Thriller Thursday (7/21/16 Edition)

Check out these two funny new mysteries with starred reviews: THE BAKER STREET JURORS by Michael Robertson Two starred reviews! “Agatha Christie fans will revel in Robertson’s fifth novel featuring London solicitor Nigel Heath. This is Robertson’s best work yet, a classic fair play whodunit leavened with humor.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review THE BRANSON […]

Read More…

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the September 2016* LibraryReads list! *Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines. HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington […]

Read More…

2016 Macavity Award Nominees

2016 Macavity Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians! First, some awards news: we have 6 nominees for the 2016 Macavity Awards! Best Mystery LITTLE BLACK LIES by Sharon Bolton Best First Mystery THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan Best Critical/Biographical A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett […]

Read More…

Minotaur Stars Roundup

Minotaur Stars Roundup

We’re seeing *stars* for these four excellent mysteries: A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (FOUR STARS) “The lyrical 12th entry in bestseller Penny’s remarkable series, which has won multiple Agatha awards, finds former Chief Insp. Armand Gamache coming out of retirement to clean up the corrupt Süreté Academy du Québec. This complex novel deals with […]

Read More…

A New Podcast for History Fans

A New Podcast for History Fans

Did you hear the one about the guy who survived the sinking of the Titanic by drinking whiskey? Or what about the man who survived the atom bombing of Hiroshima, only to take a train to Nagasaki and survive the bombing of that city as well? In the spirit of storytelling, Quick and Dirty Tips […]

Read More…

Thriller Thursday & Bouchercon 2015 Winners

Thriller Thursday & Bouchercon 2015 Winners

Happy #ThrillerThursday! We’ve got several starred mysteries out this week, but first a #humblebrag on behalf of our Minotaur Books pals. Last weekend during Bouchercon, INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl was the breakout hit, nabbing a Barry AND Macavity Award! The Barry Award Best First Novel: INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl The Macavity Awards Best First Mystery […]

Read More…

css.php