Home » Books for Teens » Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

Whether young or young at heart, these adult books are great for readers of all ages!

HOUSEGIRL by Michael Donkor
One of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts!
 Three adolescents—two Ghanaian “housegirls” and the daughter of wealthy immigrants—must come to terms with themselves and the secrets they have kept from each other in this powerful debut novel.

“Donkor’s dense descriptions of life in Ghana and London capture the dazzling disorientation of a young village girl on her own. Compelling female characters abound; it’s surprising to discover a young male writer who so successfully inhabits a female point of view.” — Library Journal, starred review

“The 17-year-old protagonist and coming-of-age plot will likely appeal to teens who appreciate character-driven stories.” —Booklist, YA interest

SMOTHERED by Autumn Chiklis
Also available in trade paperback
Told via journal entries, text messages, emails, bills, receipts, tweets, doctor’s prescriptions, job applications and rejections, parking tickets, and pug pictures, SMOTHERED is a humorous debut novel about what happens when entering the “real world” means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis’ real life.

“Perfect for recent grads, mother–daughter duos, and those looking for a fun read . . . All the heart eye emojis!” —Booklist, starred review

THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
In the first full-length account of this epic failure, THE POISONED CITY recounts the gripping story of Flint’s poisoned water through the people who caused it, suffered from it, and exposed it. It is a chronicle of one town, but could also be about any American city. Cities like Flint are set up to fail—and for the people who live and work in them, the consequences may be mortal.

“A potent cautionary tale of urban neglect and indifference. Infuriated readers will be heartened by the determined efforts of protesters and investigative reporters.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Clark’s coverage of the Flint water crisis is critical for any teen studying the environment and an inspiration to budding journalists.” —Booklist, YA interest

MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley
Also available in audio
When midlife woes descend, a long-divorced couple find their paths merging again in this breakout book for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney.

“McCauley delights with intimately, often hilariously observed characters and a winking wit that lets plenty of honest tenderness shine through. Readers will love spending time in these pages.” —Booklist, starred review

“Teens may identify with Mandy, who gets caught up in a dangerous situation, and be curious about the predominating adult characters’ efforts to understand their lives.” —Booklist, YA interest

THE ROYAL ART OF POISON: Filthy Palaces, Fatal Cosmetics, Deadly Medicine, and Murder Most Foul by Eleanor Herman
Hugely entertaining, THE ROYAL ART OF POISON is a work of pop history that traces the use of poison as a political—and cosmetic—tool in the royal courts of Western Europe from the Middle Ages to the Kremlin today.

“Herman’s poisonous history goes down easy, and teens interested in royalty or true crime will be instantly absorbed.” —Booklist, YA interest

THE REMOVES by Tatjana Soli
The New York Times bestselling author’s expansive and transfixing new novel tells the intertwining stories of fifteen-year-old Anne Cummins, frontierswoman Libbie Custer, and Libbie’s husband, the Civil War hero George Armstrong Custer.

“With visceral, vibrant language, Soli paints a stark portrait of the violence, hardship, and struggles that characterized the American West.” —Booklist, starred review

“Though the graphic violence warrants caution, sophisticated readers with an interest in American history will likely find this an absorbing read that brings the Old West to life.” —Booklist, YA interest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php