For Your Consideration: August 2020 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite August titles for the August 2020 LibraryReads list!

Votes due July 1!

MIGRATIONS by Charlotte McConaghy

For readers of STATION ELEVEN and EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU, a debut novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world’s last birds—and her own final chance for redemption.

HARROW THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

2 starred reviews!

“The masterful second genre-bending tale in Muir’s Locked Tomb trilogy (after GIDEON THE NINTH) ratchets up the horror, hijinks, and gallows humor of the series to a fever pitch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An incredible journey into the chaos of the mind, Muir’s latest doubles down on all the wonderfully queer and pulpy moments, body horror, and macabre humor of her debut—and exceeds it.”–Library Journal, starred review

THE SWITCH by Beth O’Leary

Email amanda.rountree@macmillan.com to request a NetGalley download widget.

“THE SWITCH brilliantly encompasses all the humor and whimsy of THE FLATSHARE while delving into emotional topics like grief and the importance of watching out for neighbors. Charismatic Eileen stands out as the star of this witty, joyful show, illustrating that mature women need love, too.”–Booklist, starred review

LUSTER by Raven Leilani

“Edie’s ability to navigate the complicated relationships with the Walkers exhibits Leilani’s mastery of nuance, and the narration is perceptive, funny, and emotionally charged. Edie’s frank, self-possessed voice will keep a firm grip on readers all the way to the bitter end.”–Publishers Weekly

IMPERFECT WOMEN by Araminta Hall

“The suspense alone is crafted skillfully enough to hold interest, but the dark portrait of the stifling nature of contemporary womanhood makes this story really stick.”–Publishers Weekly

THE EIGHTH DETECTIVE by Alex Pavesi

A thrilling, wildly inventive nesting doll of a mystery, in which a young editor travels to a remote village in the Mediterranean in the hopes of convincing a reclusive writer to republish his collection of detective stories, only to realize that there are greater mysteries beyond the pages of books.

DEAD WEST by Matt Goldman

“Goldman continues to please with interesting twists, great peripheral characters, insights into specific communities, and enough peril to keep readers turning pages past bedtime. Offer this to fans of lone wolves finding their pack, readers who love L.A. settings, and private investigators both amateur and professional.”–Booklist, starred review

THE FIRST TO LIE by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“The breathlessly energetic plot touches on corporate intrigue, journalism ethics, revenge, and the corrosive nature of lies. Ryan could win a sixth Agatha with this one.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CABINETS OF BARNABY MAYNE by Elsa Hart

“The author has a gift for vivid similes (randomly displayed objects are ‘like guests at a poorly planned party who cannot find a common topic of conversation’). Hart is bound to become a household name for readers who love clever and fair whodunits.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

UNDER PRESSURE by Robert Pobi

“Nonstop thrills, especially for readers who want one last glimpse of New York’s landmarks before they’re incinerated.”–Kirkus Reviews

PARIS NEVER LEAVES YOU by Ellen Feldman

“Things are seldom as they seem in this engrossing tale of identity, survival, loyalty, and love. With frequent time shifts and dubious identities, the author adds considerable depth to her well-crafted tale. Recommended with enthusiasm to anyone with an interest in Paris at war and the much broader themes noted above.”–Library Journal, starred review

THE NIGHT SWIM by Megan Goldin

“Goldin’s prose is inviting, at times electrifying, and always sensitive in dealing with the hot-button issues of date rape and slut shaming. This novel is haunting, yet somehow, after tearing at the reader’s heart, it offers a good laugh at the end. Rachel delivers justice for all. Well done.”–Booklist, starred review

OLIVE THE LIONHEART: Lost Love, Imperial Spies, and One Woman’s Journey into the Heart of Africa by Brad Ricca

“MacLeod’s diary, which notes, among other colorful details, the numerous times villagers who’d never seen a white woman begged her to let down her ankle-length red hair, is a remarkable resource, and Ricca makes the most of it, while also enriching the narrative with helpful insights into the era’s political, cultural, and social tensions. Fans of women’s history and adventure stories will cheer this engrossing account.”–Publishers Weekly

THE WRONG MR. DARCY by Evelyn Lozada with Holly Lörincz

“[T]he basketball angle is an inventive spin on a favorite story. This is sure to delight fans of sports romance.”–Publishers Weekly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.