Home » Debuts » Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??):

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg
An August 2018 Indie Next pick! A magical, disconcerting novel set in Havana about a woman reckoning with the death of her husband. “Toying with horror tropes and conventions, and displaying shades of authors such as Julio Cortázar, van den Berg turns Clare’s journey into a dreamlike exploration of grief. This is a potent novel about life, death, and the afterlife.” — Publishers Weekly

ARAB OF THE FUTURE 3: The Circumcision Years: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1985-1987 by Riad Sattouf
Two starred reviews! “An excellent addition to a series that for years to come is sure to engage readers of history as seen through a child’s eyes. ” — Library Journal, starred review

SMOTHERED by Autumn Chiklis
Also available in trade paperback
A humorous debut novel about what happens when entering the “real world” means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis’ real life. “Hilarious… Perfect for recent grads, mother–daughter duos, and those looking for a fun read this summer. All the heart eye emojis!” — Booklist, starred review

ROGUE PROTOCOL by Martha Wells
Who knew being a heartless killing machine would present so many moral dilemmas? In the third book in the Murderbot Diaries, the case against the too-big-to-fail GrayCris Corporation is floundering, and more importantly, authorities are beginning to ask more questions about where Dr. Mensah’s SecUnit is. And Murderbot would rather those questions went away. For good. “As always, the story is fast-paced and action-packed, colored by Murderbot’s acerbic commentary throughout.” — Booklist

THIS MOURNABLE BODY by Tsitsi Dangarembga
One of the most anticipated books of Summer 2018! “A haunting, incisive, and timely glimpse into how misogyny and class strife shape life in post-colonial Zimbabwe. A difficult but ultimately rewarding meditation on the tolls that capitalism and misogyny take on a fledgling nation’s soul.” — Kirkus Reviews

SUMMER ON THE RIVER by Marcia Willett
As summer beckons, Evie’s family gathers once more at the beautiful old riverside house they all adore. But when Evie discovers a secret that threatens their future, a shadow falls over them all: this summer by the river could be their last together… “Willett once again creates an engaging coterie of characters whose feelings are familiar and whose problems readers will gladly adopt as their own.” — Booklist

NOTHING GOOD CAN COME FROM THIS by Kristi Coulter
In her sharp, incisive debut essay collection, Coulter reveals a portrait of a life in transition by a keen-eyed observer no longer numbed into complacency by alcohol. “At turns heartrending and hilarious, Coulter is wonderfully conversational and never preachy as she tells her story of sobriety.” — Booklist

CERTAIN AMERICAN STATES by Catherine Lacey
“In Lacey’s collection of 12 wryly devastating stories, everyone is searching for something, and the cruel truth is that no one ever finds it. On a sentence level, the stories are exquisite: Every line is dry and spare and bracing, without a single syllable out of place.” — Kirkus Reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php