Nonfiction Round-Up (11/06/19)

Nonfiction Round-Up (11/06/19)

A graphic memoir + a female Navy pilot + an Ohio Senator’s previous desk occupants + historical cooperation between the US and Russia + Pope Francis + RBG’s life & career + elephants! + a chess grandmaster + a history of Thanksgiving + how to draw & write your own story = today’s nonfiction round-up! […]

Read More…

Starred Review Round-Up (8/2/19)

Starred Review Round-Up (8/2/19)

Surviving childhood trauma, overcoming a hostile medical system, a cultural history of 19th century Europe, 80 years of the American Dream, and German Jewish women on the legacy of racism… All in today’s starred review round-up! GIRL by Edna O’Brien “In a feat of empathy and imagination, the Irish writer O’Brien portrays one girl’s torments […]

Read More…

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??): MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who […]

Read More…

July 2018 All-Stars

July 2018 All-Stars

Whether it’s literary fiction, mystery, poetry, or graphic novels, these books all have the same thing in common: multiple starred reviews! THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling “Kiesling’s intimate, culturally perceptive debut portrays a frazzled mother and a fractious America, both verging on meltdown. But perhaps best of all is her thought-provoking portrait of a […]

Read More…

Books for Teens 2018 + “Day’s YA!”

Books for Teens 2018 + “Day’s YA!”

Welcome to the 2018 Books for Teens post! I am Emily Day, Macmillan’s Library Marketing Assistant / YA Specialist and your host and curator of this post. I recently moved to NYC from Boston, where I worked as a bookseller at Trident Booksellers and Cafe, an intern at Charlesbridge Publishing and the Horn Book, and […]

Read More…

NPR’s 2016 Book Concierge & More “Best of 2016” Picks

NPR’s 2016 Book Concierge & More “Best of 2016” Picks

NPR’s Book Concierge is live! Nearly 40 Macmillan titles are included in the various 2016 recommendation lists: ALL THAT MAN IS by David Szalay (Staff Picks, Realistic Fiction, Tales From Around the World) ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders (It’s All Geek to Me, Love Stories, Science, Science Fiction & Fantasy) […]

Read More…

Teen Talk Tuesday (9/20/16 Edition)

Teen Talk Tuesday (9/20/16 Edition)

It’s a big month for new teen titles! Check out our new YA & YA-OK releases then tune in to Early Word YA Galley Chat later today at 4pm EST (hashtag: #ewgcya), and tell us about the YA books you’ve been reading: THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1984-1985: […]

Read More…

THREE Stars for ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2

THREE Stars for ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2

Last year, Riad Sattouf‘s graphic memoir, THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1978-1984, made a huge splash in the literary world—it won the L.A. Times Book Prize for Graphic Novel/Comic and was a Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015. Now the sequel, THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE 2: A Childhood […]

Read More…

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016

Drawn from the 14,000+ titles in Publishers Weekly‘s Fall Announcements issue (available in full here), these Macmillan titles are PW‘s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016: Fiction HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer Unfolding over four tumultuous weeks in present-day Washington, D.C., Foer’s first novel in 11 years is the story of a fracturing family […]

Read More…

The Giant 2016 Graphic Novel Roundup!

The Giant 2016 Graphic Novel Roundup!

The saying goes, “A picture is worth a thousand words” and that’s certainly true of graphic novels. Thanks to comic book characters dominating pop culture, the format has been enjoying a boom and readers are coming to the medium in droves. Publishers Weekly recently profiled graphic novel publisher Papercutz, which publishes between 50 and 60 […]

Read More…

css.php