For Your Consideration: September 2022 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite September titles for the September 2022 LibraryReads list!

Votes due August 1!

THE BEST FRIEND by Jessica Fellowes
9781250831804 | 9/13/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Set in England and spanning 76 years, this searing domestic noir from bestseller Fellowes (the Mitford Murders series) chronicles shy protagonist Bella’s toxic relationship with narcissistic, charismatic Kate… The tragic tale unfolds largely via revelatory snippets of conversation between the keenly drawn characters, lending a voyeuristic air. Fellowes paints an unflinching portrait of female friendship that should appeal to fans of Julie Mayhew and Leïla Slimani.”–Publishers Weekly

THE BOOK OF GOOSE by Yiyun Li
9780374606343 | 9/20/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Li’s measured and exquisite delivery of Agnès’ revelations conveys the balance and rebalance of the girls’ relationship over time but also illuminates the motivations of writers (fame, revenge, escape) and how power within a relationship mutates and exploits.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE DARK KING by Gina L. Maxwell
9781649373274 | 9/27/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

New York Times bestselling author Gina L. Maxwell is back with the first in the Deviant Kings series set in a modern world but with a dark, erotic fantasy twist perfect for fans of NEON GODS.

THE GENESIS OF MISERY by Neon Yang
9781250788979 | 9/27/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Themes of faith, suffering, queerness, and duty are given plenty of room to breathe as Misery and their ragtag gang of friends struggle to navigate a universe as complex and gorgeously rendered as it is hostile to those on its margins. This is a triumph.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

HOW NOT TO DROWN IN A GLASS OF WATER by Angie Cruz
9781250208453 | 9/13/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“A Dominican woman in her mid-50s living in Washington Heights must find a job while facing the forces of gentrification, globalization, and the Great Recession… A poignant portrait of one fallible, wise woman and a corner of one of New York’s most vibrant immigrant communities.”–Kirkus Reviews

IF I SURVIVE YOU by Jonathan Escoffery
9780374605988 | 9/6/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“A collection of linked stories focused on one family’s tempest-tossed journeys in Jamaica and Florida… A fine debut that looks at the complexities of cultural identity with humor, savvy, and a rich sense of place.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE LAST DREAMWALKER by Rita Woods
9781250805614 | 9/20/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Vivid descriptions and well-developed characters enhance the mounting tension as Layla contends with her family’s past and charts her future.”–Booklist

LEECH by Hiron Ennes
9781250811189 | 9/27/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“The plot twists and turns are both familiar and yet full of surprises at the same time. Readers who appreciate medical gross-outs as well as psychological terror in their fiction will adore LEECH. Fans of gothic horror will devour it.”–Booklist, starred review

LIZZIE BLAKE’S BEST MISTAKE by Mazey Eddings
9781250806000 | 9/6/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“A delightfully scatterbrained baker prefers one-night stands to relationships—until a sexy Australian marketing executive visits her city and turns her life upside down… This is a funny, tumultuous novel that will inspire readers to think about how different kinds of brains shape our human need for love and sex. A quirky and engaging second novel from an up-and-coming author.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE MAKE-UP TEST by Jenny L. Howe
9781250837868 | 9/13/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Howe debuts with a cute… second-chance romance between rival teachers’ assistants… The rivals-to-lovers dynamic is good fun… and their present-day romance entertains.”–Publishers Weekly

THE MATCHMAKER’S GIFT by Lynda Cohen Loigman
9781250278098 | 9/20/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

A heartwarming story of two extraordinary women from two different eras who defy expectations to realize their unique gift of seeing soulmates in the most unexpected places.

THE NET BENEATH US by Carol Dunbar
9781250826855 | 9/13/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

A timely story of one woman persevering in the natural world that will resonate with the millions of readers of THE GREAT ALONE, WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING, and Cheryl Strayed’s WILD.

NONA THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
9781250854117 | 9/13/22
Request on NetGalley

“Nona’s lovely, simple, and occasionally silly voice works especially well in juxtaposition with the dark, dense backdrop of the series so far, creating a riveting contrast. Readers will be on the edges of their seats.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE RISING TIDE by Ann Cleeves
9781250204530 | 9/6/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“Flawed characters take center stage in an intense novel with a shocking conclusion.”–Library Journal, starred review

SOMETHING IN THE HEIR by Suzanne Enoch
9781250842527 | 9/20/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“This sparkling Regency romance from Enoch (HIT ME WITH YOUR BEST SCOT) goes all out on madcap hijinks… This adorable makeshift family is sure to win hearts.”–Publishers Weekly

TREASURE STATE by C.J. Box
9781250766960 | 9/27/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“The criminal conspirators are both inventively corrupt and chilling, and the cleverly constructed mystery is leavened with generous doses of Montana history, along with the welcome appearances of characters from earlier Cassie novels. The story culminates with one of Box’s most satisfying payoffs.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

VANESSA JARED’S GOT A MAN by LaQuette
9781250773395 | 9/20/22
Download on Edelweiss and NetGalley

“This romantic comedy from LaQuette is a sexy and hilarious gem, recommended for all general romance collections.”–Library Journal, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.