Home » Debuts » For Your Consideration: April 2018 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: April 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the April 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due February 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

AFTER ANNA by Lisa Scottoline
Anna is a drop-dead gorgeous sixteen-year-old with a secret dark side and when she turns up dead, all fingers point to her stepfather. “[A] nail-biting domestic thriller…. Filled with plenty of twists and complex characters, this entertaining story builds to a satisfying conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “After Anna.”*

LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE by Sloane Crosley
THREE starred reviews! The New York Times–bestselling author’s brand-new collection of essays is filled with her characteristic heart and punch-packing observations, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. “Crosley is exceedingly clever and has a witticism for all occasions, but it is her willingness to confront some of life’s darker corners with honesty and vulnerability that elevates this collection.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE COMEDOWN by Rebekah Frumkin
One of Nylon’s “50 Books We Can’t Wait To Read In 2018!” A dazzling epic that follows two very different families in Cleveland, where a drug deal gone wrong forces them to become irrevocably intertwined. “[F]rom page to page, character to character, this is a powerful debut. Frumkin has talent to burn…” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

WONDERBLOOD by Julia Whicker
A post-apocalyptic fantasy about religious war, a perverse faith, and waiting for the space shuttles to return. “This is an original and well-formed entry into the crowded field of dystopian fiction. For fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s STATION ELEVEN, N.K. Jemisin’s ‘Broken Earth’ series, and George R.R. Martin’s ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ books.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

VOICES FROM THE RUST BELT by Anne Trubek
A timely anthology of distinct voices exploring life in the Rust Belt today, from the Flint water crisis to white flight in Detroit to growing up female in a heavily male, steel mill town. “A good companion piece to J. D. Vance’s HILLBILLY ELEGY.” — Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE by Mariah Fredericks
Two starred reviews! Fredericks’ compelling adult debut novel follows Jane Prescott, a ladies’ maid in an upper-crust 1910 NYC household, after her mistress’s playboy fiancé is gruesomely murdered. “The novel’s voice, plotting, pace, characterization, and historical background are all expertly crafted, while the resolution—which feels both surprising and convincing—will leave readers hungry for more.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

LOST BOOKS AND OLD BONES by Paige Shelton
In the next entry in the Scottish Bookshop mystery series, bookseller and amateur sleuth Delaney Nichols investigates the connection between a murdered medical school student and old scalpels belonging to a long-dead doctor in the bookshop’s warehouse. “Background on the rare-book business and the Burke and Hare case is woven through the story, which boasts an engaging cast and multiple plotlines.” — Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

OUR LITTLE SECRET by Roz Nay
A police interview room is the last place Angela expected to find herself today. Her ex’s wife has gone missing, and anyone who was close to the couple is a suspect. But, if Angela is telling the truth, then who’s lying? “A sneaky-smart, charismatic debut that will win fans among those who enjoy the kind of duplicitous and deliciously complex psychological suspense written by Ruth Ware, Sophie Hannah, and Erin Kelly.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

IN PRIOR’S WOOD by G.M. Malliet
“Malliet continues her top-notch spy-turned-cleric Max Tudor series with a seventh intricately structured mystery. Miss Marple would have the time of her life helping Max unravel a series of deaths involving the village’s elderly matriarch, the newly seated lord of the manor, his wife and her young lover, and the lover’s librarian wife. Perfect for fans of the wickedly funny cozy writers M. C. Beaton and Catriona McPherson, as well as devotees of Louise Penny who appreciate a redemptive ending.” — Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE TRAUMA CLEANER: One Woman’s Extraordinary Life in the Business of Death, Decay, and Disaster by Sarah Krasnostein
An “intriguing” (Publishers Weekly) debut biography of Sandra Pankhurst, a transgender woman who spends her life cleaning up after traumas, such as crime scenes and floods.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

There are even more April 2018 titles in our Edelweiss collection!

New to LibraryReads? Read our FAQ for more information on how to participate.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted for access to Macmillan e-galleys.

*Advance reading material only available to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S. who actively participate in LibraryReads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php