Home » Debuts » For Your Consideration: October LibraryReads titles

For Your Consideration: October LibraryReads titles

Download, read, and nominate our favorite titles now for the October 2014* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due September 1

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author “Robinson has created a tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy, LILA. It’s already received two starred reviews and has a major media line-up.

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

FULL MEASURE by T. Jefferson Parker
Parker, a three-time Edgar Award winner, delivers an exceptional, insightful, and contemporary stand-alone literary novel. Fans of the author’s crime novels and Tim O’Brien’s war novels will enjoy this story, which highlights the impact of war on a community. In addition, Steinbeck fans will appreciate the description of the setting and intricate plot.” Library Journal, starred review

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
We love this Golden Age–style debut from librarian Weaver featuring a spunky heiress, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday at an exquisite seaside resort, and a MURDER. Bryant Library’s Janet Schneider loved it too: “Great beach reading. Sort of a Dorothy L Sayers/Downton Abbey combo.”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS by Keith Donohue
If you were at Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog you heard Picador’s publisher Stephen Morrison talk about this creepy horror novel about a young boy whose drawings of monsters take on a life of their own. Dominique Jenkins of Penguin Library Marketing is OBSESSED: “Have you guys read THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS? Holy WOW!”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain
A longtime best-selling author who got even wider attention with last year’s NECESSARY LIES, Chamberlain returns with the story of a sister’s shocking discovery. Riley McPherson had always been told that her sister committed suicide, but when she cleans out her deceased father’s house, she discovers that Lisa is alive and hiding under an assumed identity. What dark events led to Riley’s having ‘a silent sister’?” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

NIGHT BLINDNESS by Susan Strecker
Strecker’s debut novel about a woman who returns home to take care of her ill father but is haunted by a horrible accident from her past will appeal to fans of Joshilyn Jackson and JoJo Moyes. At this year’s BEA Shout ‘n Share, Baltimore County Public Library’s Jamie Watson called out as a favorite pick and said it’s the perfect book for Nicholas Sparks fans.

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron
A repo man’s ordinary life is turned upside down when he starts hearing the voice of a dead realtor in his head. On the upside, his best friend is a low-energy Basset hound named Jake, with whom he shares a simple life of stealing cars. Great for those on Team #Woof.

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss


THE BEST CAT BOOK EVER!
by Kate Funk
OK, OK, we know this one’s a long shot, but we wouldn’t be doing our job if we didn’t ask you to love Kate Funk’s furry sidekick AC and THE BEST CAT BOOK EVER! as much as we do! Darien Library’s Erin Shea is on board. Are YOU?

For more October LibraryReads title suggestions, view our collection on Edelweiss. Happy reading and happy nominating!

New to LibraryReads? Read our FAQ for more information on how to participate.

Don’t see the green button? Then get whitelisted for access to Macmillan e-galleys.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php